We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shuttle service not accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the location of my wedding reception. The hotel looked very nice and the bar staff was wonderful. But the accommodations when I booked were not true. I needed shuttle service for my guests because the wedding was in the city and there was lack of parking. My guests were not made aware of the shuttle sign up to be able to use it. Some of my guests almost missed my wedding because the service wouldn’t let them get on. The shuttle also appeared empty when the bridal party drove by. The guests were calling me in my limo asking what to do which stressed me out as a bride. I asked very nicely to have my limo driver to go pick up my friends and family at the hotel to get them to drop them off for me. Friends and family knew the shuttle times, but were not aware that if they didn’t sign up they wouldn’t be allowed to get on. I actually had decided to rent a service to take my guest back to the hotel from my wedding that way there wasn’t any concerns for my guests. This mean I had to spend extra money on a service that I was told would be provided and very welcoming to my guests. This was not the case.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Rebekah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Rebekah K,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We are so sorry for all of the inconveniences and assure you that your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members in order to implement corrective action.

Once again, my apologies for the issues experienced with the complimentary shuttle service we offer.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton Garden Inn hotel was clean and well decorated.The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly.It was located near the hospital and they provide a free shuttle to nearby restaurants and attractions.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lenny250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Lenny250,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and also with the service you receive during your visits. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hospitably Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hotel was pretty nice. Front desk staff gave differing directions to University which resulted in me getting lost/arriving late to a meeting. The Keurig in the room was digustingly filthy with caked up coffee grounds in it requiring me to run water through it about 10 times before it ran clear. Beds were ok, but could hear people in the next room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Theresa J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you experienced issues during your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team and as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I assure you that corrective actions will be implemented where necessary,

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice with an excellent location. During events such as football games, graduation or the beginning of school, the rates are increased considerably. The front desk staff is very helpful and the valet parking folk are great. There are plenty of options for food & drink well within walking distance & I would highly recommend the food & drink at those other spots as this hotel bar is very overpriced. They even charged us for ICE in our drinks !!!! You read that correctly.
Overall, its still a solid hotel, located in the heart of the university, but it can be a bit pricey. Breakfast is not included, by the way!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Mike H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your past visit to the HGI Pittsburgh University Place. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and service received from your past stay, but apologize for the other issues you mentioned. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome and also to deliver a memorable experience. Your feedback will be shared with the team to reiterate how important it is to uphold this standard.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My son and myself stayed here during a recent visit to U Pitt. It's location was only a few blocks from U Pitt, which made it a perfect location if you have any business at U Pitt. The hotel is in walking distance of the university and I was able to check out in the morning, and leave my bags and car at the hotel. This made it very easy to visit the university and not worry about finding a parking space at the university.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear John Z,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is location and trusting that you will have a great experience. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit for your soon to be Pitt Alumni.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The staff are anything but helpful. Reservation was messed up. They have an issue that causes the hotel to shake, very well aware of it and act like they aren't. Now have Keurigs, but was told I would be charged for hot chocolate even though I do not drink coffee or Earl Grey tea. Parking is a complete disaster. Over priced and no room. Also you have to go down to get your car. They refuse to bring it when you call so it can be there and warm by the time you get down stairs. Very disappointed in this hotel as a Hilton Honors member.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our Front Desk personnel and also with the Valet department. Unfortunately due to security measures we do ask guests to present the valet voucher prior to retrieving the vehicle. I would also like to mention that based on your comments we have now implemented new procedures in order to better serve our guests.

Hospitably yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location. Great rooms. Restaurant. Bar. You can walk to the "dirty O", Primanti Bros and more. There are so many good bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. We also took a taxi to and from Steelers, Penguins and Pirates. Shuttle is great too. Just too busy on game days if you want to be spoiled and have a flex schedule you need the taxi. Pittsburgh Taxi drivers are too great. There are some good ones, but for some reason, we've run into a lot of bad ones too. Do not try to get a taxi home from The Rivers after a game. It won't happen. Please take an incline ride and party on carson street at the south shore. These are musts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, AGM at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Samuel C,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience here at the hotel and also the insight on our wonderful city and things to do while in town. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location and also with the service you receive during your visits. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hospitably Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
1.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,380 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $104 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing