We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but the beds were terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel but the beds were terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This should have been just another pleasant stay at a Hilton Garden Inn. And it was except that the beds were incredibly hard...like sleeping on wood planks...and the touted bed adjustment mechanism advertised at check in didn't work. The result was a miserable nights sleep and an overall bad impression. The first rule of hoteling is that the guest must have a good nights sleep or they will hate the hotel. Time to review that adage Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our beds. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    286
    127
    43
    27
See reviews for
396
108
50
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here while looking at colleges with my son. Very clean, comfortable, and convenient. Staff was very helpful. They helped with directions, places to eat. Valet parking was terrific and fast. Beds and especially pillows were quite comfortable. Terrific wifi, too. We were able to stream on Netflix without interruption.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. Our entire team believes in going above and beyond in order to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable experience once they enter the hotel. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the area universities; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your child well in their decision.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East PA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed there several times before. We were staying there to move my daughter in the dorms. When we first got there, we were encountered a large SUV blocking the entrance to tbe parking garage. It appears the SUV could not fit in the garage so he was instructed to park there. The problem was I was trying to get into the garage as well as a few cars behind me. This then placed a car dangerously blocking Forbes Avenue. Although this was an odd event, a serious car accident could have resulted. We got to the room and it was a suite, and very nice. However there were no blankets for the pull out sofa. A call to the desk promised blankets but they never came. Water pressure in the shower sucked so my wife and I resorted to baths. The ice maker on that floor did not work. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerksPADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action. I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our valet department. Unfortunately due to our location and the oversized vehicle that blocked the entrance at that time we did experience a slight dilemma; however, we have now implemented new procedures in order to prevent this from happening again.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Until I took their van they provided excellent service. I was told to call and provide my location when ready to come back to the hotel. While exploring the area on Mt Washington and then going to area by the Point Park I asked a police officer if the hotel was in walking distance. After providing the address of Hilton Garden Inn on my reservation I proceeded to walk. However after walking 1/2 hour it was clear the hotel was not close by and it became increasing desolate and now getting dark. I called the hotel and told the front desk my problem and asked if they could have the van pick me up? They connected me to the van driver who requested I walk to the next corner and provide an intersecting street so he would know where I was. When I told him he said that was not helpful because Forbes Ave was a one way. I told him I felt unsafe being unfamiliar with the area, it was deserted and no taxi or other transportation was in sight. He kept insisting that he could not help me. I asked if he had a GPS and he said he did not and couldn't help me. I called AAA which I am a member and the tow trucks were a short distance away and as they always do came through! The driver from AAA told me there was no transportation in the area. He and his colleagues were as appalled as I was that no one at Hilton Garden Inn would assist me. When I left the next morning I also informed the woman at the front desk who matter of factly said "I sorry"! I am too because it is unlikely I would stay at a Hilton or recommend one again. Fortunately I am safe and AAA goes above and beyond when you don't follow through on a service you claim to offer even in an emergency.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Ann Lorraine B:

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding directions and transportation during your stay, if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident that took place.

Hospitably yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This has been by far one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in. My room was spacious, the bed was big, linens crisp and clean, pillows SO SO SOOO fluffy, and I truely had a great nights sleep.

The bathroom was also very nice, granite countertop, nice pressure on the shower head and overall VERY CLEAN.

I ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, the staff at the bar were extremely nice and personable, and everyone that I encountered from the cooks, to the waitresses, to housekeeping was extremely nice and welcoming.

The only downside for ME was the location, as it's not within walking distance of any Pittsburgh tourist attractions, but if you're dropping a kid off at PITT or Carnigie Melon than this is a good spot because its right there.

Also, I think valet's a little steep at $18/day. Aside from that, I definitely enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOM19840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. One of the most important factors when selecting a hotel is the cleanliness of a property, and our team takes great pride in keeping both our guestrooms and public areas spotless for our valued guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were overall satisfied with your trip.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our daughter is at Pitt and we've stayed at this hotel several times. The location was why we originally picked it. Now we come back because the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. Valet is great. They even accommodated our SUV with a roof box. The manager, Sean, was very helpful. And I have to mention Darryl who saw that I looked thirsty when I returned from a run and offered me a bottle of water. That's great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GNBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to PITT.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friendly efficient staff, good breakfast, clean rooms. A wonderful hotel; my choice always when in the area. Staff is always helpful. The room is comfortable.Valet parking were generally quick and courteous. The breakfast area is well lit with good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
2.0 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
1.5 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing