We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean rooms, very pleasant staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean rooms, very pleasant staff.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I was able to set the temperature of the room, a very important detail for me, to the exact level I prefer for sleeping. I like it cold :) The staff was very pleasant and helpful starting with the friendly valet who parked our car to the pleasant girl who checked me in. I noticed the alarm clock radio in my room didn't work and maintenance brought me a new one within ten minutes of my calling the front desk. And at breakfast at the hotel's restaurant when I ordered pancakes out waitress asked what size I wanted them. Never been asked that before :) A good location as this place is within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and bars, and they also provide a shuttle to take you pretty much anywhere in the city. I would definitely reccommend this hotel for anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our entire hotel team devotes each day to our guests, and hearing that one of our guests had an experience like yours, were several team members were able to make a personal impact on your time at our hotel makes our work worthwhile. My hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    309
    133
    47
    28
See reviews for
437
115
54
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I was able to set the temperature of the room, a very important detail for me, to the exact level I prefer for sleeping. I like it cold :) The staff was very pleasant and helpful starting with the friendly valet who parked our car to the pleasant girl who checked me in. I noticed the alarm clock radio in my room didn't work and maintenance brought me a new one within ten minutes of my calling the front desk. Within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and bars as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stanl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that although you encountered a problem with you alram clock our maintanence team was able to resolve this quickly.

Once again, thank you again for your feedback, and for your business.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel room is beautiful. Unfortunately the room I stayed in was not acceptable. The hotel does not allow pets. I can honestly say someone had a animal in the room the day before. The drains were really slow.
I stayed in room 615. You have lights from the gas station on one side and lights from the hotel on the other. Close the shades or you won't sleep

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestandtawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your experience. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers and team members in order to implement corrective action.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay an if there is any way we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com. We hope to have the chance to make this up to you and once again we are very sorry for the incident.

Hospitably yours,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great stay at this Hilton Garden. Clean and convenient, this was a gem of a hotal in a terrific location. Everything within reach, easy valet and user friendly for the business traveler. A stand out for me as a frequent busines traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assitant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I am happy to see that you were very pleased with the amenities we offer here at the hotel. Meeting our guests expectations is what we strive to do; and to hear that we were able to offer an efficient business atmosphere is quite pleasing. I hope is we will have the opportunity to have you join us again in the near future.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, for our daughter's graduation from Point Park University. Every one of the staff were great! There were loads of great restaurants within walking distance, and it was convenient to the expressway entrances/exits. The price for the 2 nights' stay, including valet parking, was good when compared to several others in the downtown Pittsburgh area. We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night, and the variety and quality of the food was excellent, in addition to the service. I was not a fan of the dial-a-firmness beds, but the rest of my family slept well in them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear mhenry59;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the Garden Sleep System bedding package we offer; however, am very pleased to see that we met your overall expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff at the Pittsburgh Med Ctr Garden Inn hotel has gone all out to make my stay here as comfortable as it could have ever been. The quiet and clean room felt rewarding after a long workday; a varied breakfast menu with some of the healthiest choices, was also refreshing and uplifting. Needless to say, I am coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Olman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your current visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. We strive to be the best at what we do and I am very happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one. We love to hear that you will be returning to our property.. If there is anything at all we can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend in order to visit PITT. The hotel is easy to find and the staff was welcoming and helpful. Beds were firm as mentioned above, but not nearly as bad as indicated by others. Room wasn't overly large but certainly big enough. There was maintenance being done on the one of the elevators which caused a bit of a backup at times, but the hotel had communicated this situation when I made the reservation. Already booked this same hotel for the next 3 visits to the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Karann P;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the University of Pittsburgh; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your daughter well in their decision to becoming a PITT panther. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience created by the elevator upgrades we were conducting at that time. I am very happy to announce that we have 100% completed the upgrades and are back to regular operation.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Sean G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,026 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing