We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very caring staff, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, for our daughter's graduation from Point Park University. Every one of the staff were great! There were loads of great restaurants within walking distance, and it was convenient to the expressway entrances/exits. The price for the 2 nights' stay, including valet parking, was good when compared to several others in the downtown Pittsburgh area. We ate at the restaurant for dinner one night, and the variety and quality of the food was excellent, in addition to the service. I was not a fan of the dial-a-firmness beds, but the rest of my family slept well in them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear mhenry59;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the Garden Sleep System bedding package we offer; however, am very pleased to see that we met your overall expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff at the Pittsburgh Med Ctr Garden Inn hotel has gone all out to make my stay here as comfortable as it could have ever been. The quiet and clean room felt rewarding after a long workday; a varied breakfast menu with some of the healthiest choices, was also refreshing and uplifting. Needless to say, I am coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Olman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your current visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. We strive to be the best at what we do and I am very happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one. We love to hear that you will be returning to our property.. If there is anything at all we can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Yours truly in hospitality,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend in order to visit PITT. The hotel is easy to find and the staff was welcoming and helpful. Beds were firm as mentioned above, but not nearly as bad as indicated by others. Room wasn't overly large but certainly big enough. There was maintenance being done on the one of the elevators which caused a bit of a backup at times, but the hotel had communicated this situation when I made the reservation. Already booked this same hotel for the next 3 visits to the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Karann P;

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. After reading your comments, I am pleased to see that our team was able to provide exceptional service throughout your stay. I see that you visited the area due to a planned visit to the University of Pittsburgh; we hope you enjoyed your visit and we wish your daughter well in their decision to becoming a PITT panther. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience created by the elevator upgrades we were conducting at that time. I am very happy to announce that we have 100% completed the upgrades and are back to regular operation.

Thank you for your time as well as feedback on your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Please stay here. Treated us better than a 5 star Hotel. They cared for our children who were in town for medical reasons, like family. We were so happy to be booked at this hotel and will request them every year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Lisa Ann T:

First and foremost I would like to personally thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place we pride ourselves on delivering a true “Home away from Home” hospitable experience and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Second time I've stayed there - the staff is great, and the rooms are very nice. The location is unbeatable if you are visiting the University if Pittsburgh. The must use valet parking is a little annoying but the staff there do a great job as well even if they do seem to be very busy....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlalotsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Helene R:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. I wanted to personally thank you for sharing feedback on your experience. Our team takes great pride in making sure we offer a wonderful experience to all of our guests. I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your trip and that the location was a great fit. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Sean G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel gave us a remarkably good rate with a US government ID and is just a quick walk to both University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University campuses. The accommodations are lovely and a calm respite from the street below. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Helene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see that you were very pleased with your overall experience, and that our location to many area universities, businesses, restaurants and shops were a convenient amenity during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for your business. I hope to see you again on your next trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed here for over 4 years from when it was a Wyndham. The old hotel was going downhill fast. The new Hilton is much improved, updated, clean and comfortable. Although the adjustable bed does not adjust. Bring back a good mattress please. Location is great and although some complain bout valet parking, we find it very convenient, just leave your car on the ramp. Valet staff is very nice, as is all front desk staff. Of all hotels in the Oakland area this is the choice!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alsaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share information regarding your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Although I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service received from our staff, I must apologize for the issues you encountered with the current Garden Sleep System Bedding package. I am very glad to hear that you have been a loyal guest to our property and are very pleased with the renovations we completed.

Once again, I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered and also to thank you for bringing these items to my attention in order to ensure we can make the necessary changes. If there is anything at all that I can assist with for any future visits please do not hesitate to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com

Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing