We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed one night for an early meeting at Carnegie Mellon. The room was great - 1 king bed, non-smoking on the top floor. The hotel only had one working elevator, but really had no issues. Ordered room service - which was great! The food was hot and very good. Had breakfast and what I really enjoyed is that even though it was a buffet, you could order an omelet, pancakes, waffles, etc. I decided to order the pancakes, and they were excellent! The wait staff was very attentive and very nice. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for business.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Susie6505,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place on your recent trip to the area. I am pleased to see our team was able to provide the service you deserve during your time with us. Our goal is to exceed expectations each and every time one of our valued guests selects our property. Business travel can be strenuous and impersonal, our property takes pride in delivering first class customer service to make time away from home the best experience possible. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to the Pittsburgh/Oakland area. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next trip extraordinary!

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn has a friendly atmosphere and was in a great location. It was close to the university and also offered a shuttle to the downtown Pittsburgh area, which was very convenient. The rooms were cozy with up to date furnishings, a flat screen TV, mini fridge, complimentary internet access and comfy bedding. The bed was even more comfortable then my bed at home!

There were a ton of nearby attractions including museums, universities and parks. There were a number of nearby dining options as well as an on-site restaurant. The restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner and the lounge/bar stayed open for late night drinks. The breakfast menu was delicious with tons of buffet options and cooked to order service. It was quick, easy and convenient.

The staff was friendly and I was pleasantly surprised at how great the hotel was. It was in a convenient location, offered great accommodations and provided a warm and friendly atmosphere for guests. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for accommodations in Pittsburgh and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin_Franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manger at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I would like to personally thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed all amenities in the hotel throghout your stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff.

Because travel is very important, we try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel lobby provides an inviting atmosphere and is dramatically different than the previous Wyndham hotel. The recently rennovated rooms are smartly decorated and laid out for both leisure or business travel. The breakfast buffet / omelets were close to a resort hotel offering, yet a good value. The staff from the front desk to the bar to the breakfast were very pleasant and helpful and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billtrip_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff. Because travel is very important, we try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great rooms, clean and quiet, nice employees, We had a very nice experience. It was in a good spot to visit Carnegie Mellon University. The valet parking was very good. Good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddesign85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff. Because travel is very important, we try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there to be close to University of Pittsburgh.
Room was nice. Breakfast was very good. A little expensive but can't beat walking down from the room and getting a good breakfast. Buffet is all you can eat and the eggs and bacon are good (which is odd when you go to an all you can eat buffet). Fruit was fresh. Omelet station good.
Service was fast and good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our F&B team and department heads. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the Garden Grill & Bar and that the fresh breakfast was more than you expected. We are very happy to have met your overall expectations and look forward to seeing you in the future.

If there is anything at all I may assist with during any future stays/visits to please do not hesitate to contact me at any time at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel regularly for my job. I stay in tons of hotels every year. All I want out of a hotel is friendly and helpful staff, a clean room, decent room service and good internet connection (as I'm there on business). This hotel provides all of that. It is not a 5-star palace (I've stayed on some of those), but it gives you everything that you need for an enjoyable stay. I like the location because it's close to UPitt/UPMC, and the shuttle bus is helpful for getting to and from local spots. I also like the fitness room at this hotel. The staff is the best thing--they are very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback you provided regarding yours stay. We take our comments very seriously and I assure your positive feedback will be shared with all team members and management staff. Because travel is very important, we try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience. If there is anything at all that I can assist with any future visits please feel free to contact me directly at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here just for a night to move my daughter back to school. The location is convient for us. Room was small, but fine for what we needed. There is a parking garage across the street, this is much more reasonable than parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tweetMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the size of your guest room. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are very happy to have met your overall expectations and look forward to seeing you in the future.

If there is anything at all I may assist with during any future stays/visits to the University of Pittsburgh campus, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time at sean.groth@hilton.com.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,204 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $146 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing