We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Oakland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best hotel in Oakland!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I love this hotel!! The staff, setting and environment is perfect for visiting friends and family in Pittsburgh!! I will definitely be coming back here in the future. From the moment we arrived, the valets were very welcoming, front desk agents were helpful and courteous and really knowledgeable of the area. The housekeeping staff was very warm and kind as well - the staff in the restaurant and bar were great too!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PghTravelGuy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on the wonderful experience you had during your visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. We are pleased that you were very satisfied with the overall experience and service you received. At our hotel as well as Hilton Worldwide we strive for perfection and anything else is unacceptable. I appreciate your time and look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    317
    135
    48
    29
See reviews for
451
121
54
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The only way this hotel could be any better is if they had a pool. Very clean, managers are helpful and the staff goes out of their way to make each trip enjoyable. Parking is only valet but prices run similar to rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your visit. At our hotel as well as Hilton Worldwide we strive to be the best and anything else is unacceptable. I appreciate your time and look forward to servicing you again the next time you are in the Pittsburgh/Oakland, PA area.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Oakland as we were passing through town and wanted to spend time with our daughter who is a student at Pitt. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and staff was friendly but I don't think I would stay here again because of
the noise. The room next to us was booked with way too many girls...must have been a bachelorette party...who promptly came in at 2 am and brought the party with them. Earlier in the day, we could hear their conversation in the room, so you can imagine how loud their party voices were. I called the front desk and they did send security up to calm them down. However. The room on the other side of us had a very "active" couple and we could hear everything....kind of hard to call security on that one! Until they do something to sound proof the rooms, I will have to take my business elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stillerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look, but apologize for the experience you encountered regarding the noise from surrounding rooms. Our goal is to ensure every guest feels welcome and experiences a pleasant and comforatble visit. We take our comments very serriously and I assure you that I will share your feedback with the appropriate managers and team members.
Once again, I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please do feel free to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com if i can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to stay at this specific hotel because it is in the heart of the university area and close to where our grandson (who is a student) lives. The room was only average. The young girls at the check in desk were not at all knowledgable about things we were asking. They both said that they had lived there all of their lives and we have only visited Pittsburgh four times. However, we knew that you could park at Station Square and ride the riverboat over to the game and back for $5 each way. This is the best way to get to and from the game.
The breakfast buffet was $12 so we walked down the street to PandG Diner and got a great breakfast for $5.
We were in our room one day when the people came in to clean. They changed the towels, and made the bed. That is all. Never cleaned the sink, toilet or tub during the four days we were there because the same toothpaste glob was on the sink the whole time. They did not wipe the bathroom floor or vacuum. They did not change the sheets the whole time we were there. I feel this is very substandard for what the housekeeping staff should be doing. They advertise that they had this new adjustable bed that could go from firm to soft. It was the most uncomfortable bed I have every slept on. And every time you turned over or got up or down it made creaking noises.....enough to wake up your partner.
The one perk is that they have a van service that will take you most anywhere within three miles. The drivers are knowledgable about Pittsburg and mentioned some great things to do. However, they told us to take the new subway under the river to the Pitt football game. That was a mistake. There were hundreds of students and others waiting for the train that only ran every 30 minutes. Then it was soooooo crowded we had to squeeze in. To go two stops it took 15 minutes because of slow speed. Then when we got off of the train it was really far to walk to the stadium. You might as well walk over the bridge and down the street to the stadium.
We felt the rooms were very expensive for the quality. We had stayed there last year when it was a Wyndam and it was much better. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of service you received from our staff. We take our comments very sreiously and I ensure you I will review your concerns with the approporate team members and department heads. This is not how we conduct business here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome and ensure your stay is pleasant and comforatble. Once again, I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please do feel free to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com if i can be of any further assistance.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at many Hilton Garden Inn's and have been satisfied, this one being newly updated from a previous chain has beautiful decorated rooms with comfy beds. Was very close to Carnegie Mellon and our daughter's apartment and the check in staff was friendly when we arrived after 11pm tired and ready for sleep. Our room was quiet and had a small fridge and coffee pot in room. Started the next day refreshed and ready for round two of setting up an apartment however the price was rather high. With parking it was well over really what I feel even a city hotel should cost. We had just been in Europe twice the past year staying at some of the most luxurious hotels for the same price per night. So beware the newly appointed rooms come at a cost. However for convenience would recommended this hotel and will probably be back later this fall when we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look and our proximity to CMU's campus. I will be sure to share your comments regarding pricing with the appropriate managers and team members. I am very pleased to hear that you will be visiting again in the near future. Please do feel free to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com if i can be of any further assistance.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked the evolution queen with sofa bed through Expedia but when we checked in at 6 pm were given a room with 2 Queens no sofa. When we asked for a rollaway, as we had been expecting a 3rd bed, we were told it was against fire code. Beds were very uncomfortable, the worst I have ever tried to sleep in. Nice restaurant on premises. We were the only people in it at 7:00 pm on a Sat. Should have taken that as a sign. Poor service, could hear the kitchen trying to figure out how to make our dinner which came to $122 for 4 people. Medium well steak was rare. Took 30 mins to get steak sauce. Remember, we were the only people there! Baked garden Mac and cheese great when it finally came, southwest orzo tasteless. Breakfast buffet would have been free at most other hotels. $13/ person here. No coffee refills. Would not return and would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJComerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look, but apologize for you not receiving the correct room type and also for the lack of service you received from our staff. This is not how we conduct business here at the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome and ensure your stay is pleasant and comforatble. We take our comments very serriously and I assure you that I will share your feedback with the appropriate managers and team members.
Once again, I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please do feel free to contact me at sean.groth@hilton.com if i can be of any further assistance.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hiton Garden Inn are typically high quality hotels - this one, while conforming to the Hilton chain specifications in looks, lacks the staff friendliness of others. The recent renovation has left the hotel looking nice, but all the rooms have an awful smell and the hallways smell like a hospital. Average hotel, but way below average for the Hton Garden Inn brand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela W, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Christina3141,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our new look, but apologize for you not receiving the friendly service that we expect from our staff. Our goal is to go out of our way to make every guest feel welcome. Your feedback will be shared with the team to reiterate how important it is to deliver great service. We would like to hear more about your feedback regarding the scent of the rooms and hallways. Please send an email to Chuck.Heinlein@hilton.com so that we can talk further.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,108 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Address: 3454 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3213 (Formerly Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Oakland, PA hotel is located in Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and tucked in the heart of world-class university campuses like The University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon and Carlo University. Complimentary shuttle services to/from downtown Pittsburgh, shopping districts and Shadyside, PA are included with your stay at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University. Enjoy spacious guest rooms and suites with complimentary WiFi, microwaves, refrigerators and Keurig(R) coffee brewers. We have more than 6,100 sq. ft. of meeting space (for up to 200 people), and a complimentary 24-hour business center for guests. Enjoy amenities like room service, our on-site fitness room, as well as our on-site convenience store, lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn University Place, Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Wyndham
Wyndham Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing