We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good for business travel”
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Great location for business travelers in Pittsburgh. I've stayed here several times & have always been pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLLights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    313
    109
    24
    15
See reviews for
205
173
35
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We live in the South Hills of Pittsburgh, but we had a lot going on one night and decided to book a room through Priceline in the city. We ended up at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center for a great rate of $80, and the stay was pretty much exactly what we needed.

The front desk staff, valets, and doormen were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, clean (which is very important to me) and had a beautiful view of the Mellon Arena. The room wasn't extremely modern (CRT TV instead of flat panel, no wireless Internet), but it was good enough for a one-night stay. One big con to this hotel if you're staying longer than a few nights would be the size of the bathroom. It was minuscule! But they made the shower feel bigger with a curved shower rod, and the shower head had great water pressure.

My only complaint about our stay is that we called guest services to set up a wake-up call for the next morning, and somehow that wake-up call never came. We set it for 9:30, and I woke up at 9:45. I am a light sleeper, and my husband was with me, so I am sure one of us would have heard the phone ring had the wake-up call came. A minor snafu for the trip, though.

If you're staying in the city for business or leisure, this hotel would be a great choice. Try booking through Priceline, though, to save some money -- $180 seems like a little much for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crtarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Stayed at this hotel because it was right next door to Mellon Arena where we attended a game.New arena is being built right across the street.Hotel was very nice and lots of fans milling around on game day. Noticed that a lot of fans of hockey stay here for the game as the lobby was crowed after the game and every one waiting for the elevator.Staff was very good,rooms were clean,bed was comfortable.They did make a mention of a free shuttle when we checked in but we had rented a car so did not need its service.You can self park or use valet which we did because it just seemed easier for us,but is more expensive.
One thing good about valet is if you need directions to certain place they have it all on a card for you to take,and they will help you out to get you where you want to go!

The lobby has a computer for you to print out your boarding pass, which is always a plus for me!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrsc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Pros: Great hotel, excellent location, great service (including the shuttle service within the golden triangle), and good value!

Cons: Missed a hot tub and heated pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzFernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

A Junior Suite in the Marriott City Center for one night before meetings the next day was adequate. Of course, there was the Marriott bedding which is consistent and great, but the general condition of the room, while clean, was a bit tattered. Outside of the bedding, which is consistently good at Marriott, the cabinetry, chairs and tables were all a bit tired and worn with drawers that didn't quite fit, and worn edges. Most disappointing was the small old fashioned television that had fuzz on every channel.

The staff were very accomodating and friendly. Bathroom was clean, but for my money, I prefer the newer Courtyard by Marriott just a few blocks away. The fact that there isn't wireless internet in the room and the plugged in internet didn't work didn't help my rating.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed at the Marriott City Center as part of attending a sporting event. I was using Marriott points, so the value was unbeatable. This is a full service hotel, they cater to business travelers, and so they try to do a lot of things. The room was perfectly adequate, clean, with a nice view. Bedding was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was good, though a bit small. On weekends, they cater to a sports crowd and the local ESPN station broadcasts live from the lobby, turning it into a tailgate zone. The hotel bar was also a lot of fun, though the food was "just OK". All in all, this is a better than average hotel, though not top of the line, and I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The service and staff were excellent. The room was comfortable and the fitness center amazing. We went to Pittsburgh when wind chills were -2 and the staff made sure we had a place to plug in our diesel. The shuttle took us around town so we didn't need a taxi. Breakfast was included with our stay so we saved some serious dough! The food was good too! Free earbuds in the fitness center for the treadmills, ellypticals with TVs built in.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocking-mfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing