We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 thumbs up!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms - good shape but not top of the line - wonderful service ( room service, staff), just a walk away from the Convention Center and even a Starbucks on site. Shuttle available within 5 mile radius. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for writing about your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am so happy to hear that your time was enjoyable and that we will see you again the next time you are in Pittsburgh. I hope your day is great!

Thank You,
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    321
    112
    24
    15
See reviews for
209
176
36
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott City Center the week-end of September 14-15, 2013. I booked a reservation through Priceline and got a great rate, but the bargain price didn't affect the accommodations. I was given a room on the top floor that had a queen bed and nice little amenities. It was very clean on arrival and the staff kept it that way. The bathroom was small but ample, and the shower worked fine, even at the 21st floor. The reception staff downstairs was always courteous and provided lots of helpful advice as well.

I would like to say that my stay was perfect, but there unfortunately were a few issues that marred my experience. One is that the hotel is located at an angle at the top of a hill, fronted by criss-crossing main streets which are difficult if not impossible to walk because they are built mainly for auto traffic. Heading toward the downtown in particular is a bit of a challenge. There is a pedestrian bridge over one of the larger thoroughfares which then leads to one of the more walkable streets, but once across it is difficult to get oriented. In fact, trying to figure out how to maneuver setting off from the hotel in any direction is not easy. The map given out at the main desk (which, incidentally, is the same one every other hotel apparently provides) is not much help either. It doesn't label all of the streets, and you have to be Magellan to determine how it matches what actually exists. Pittsburgh can be confusing because of the hills and bending streets, but I did notice that the location of other major hotels in the downtown area was not as confusing as the Marriott's.
The other inconvenience I encountered was that the hotel's restaurant had very limited hours. It was not open for lunch when I arrived at 2 on Saturday afternoon, and it was closed Sunday evening. The staff quickly informed me I could order the same menu in the bar lounge. Well, unfortunately their lounge is small. It's also dimly-lit and people happen to drink and get loud there- hey, it's a bar! So, on Saturday I just got a sandwich to take to my room. On Sunday, I found the closest good restaurant I could- which, as it turned out, was at another hotel.

Overall, I had a mostly comfortable week-end at the Marriott, especially for the rate I obtained. The seemingly minor flaws were enough, however, to make me think that I will try a different 3 1/2 star downtown hotel on my next trip to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand-da-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty maneuvering through the city. I will be looking at the information we give to our guests to see how we can change this to make their time in the city more enjoyable.
I hope that if you are back in Pittsburgh you will give is another chance to make your time with us perfect. Have a great day!!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although this is a typically adequate Marriott property for business travel, the disappointment came in the form of isolation. Spending a weekend here was like visiting a ghost town. Everything in the surrounding neighborhood was closed -- even, on Sunday evenings -- the hotel's one restaurant. Front desk socked it to us on rooms rates because the Steelers opening game was held on Sunday and the hotel was packed with fans sporting team shirts. (Steeler lost.)The bathroom is so small it's difficult to navigate without opening or shutting the door. Ice machines and vending machines are open to the hallways and disturbingly loud. On the other hand, staff is friendly, hotel van takes you or picks you up just about anywhere you need it, wifi is fast and free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very sorry to hear that your time here in Pittsburgh was disappointing but I am glad that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. I am also happy hear that you were able to utilize the hotel shuttle to get around the city.
I hope that you return to our city and when you do you will stay with us again. Have a great day and a wonderful fall season!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great evening at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. Everything was first rate. Room was HUGE...we had a corner...and everything was nicely up to date. Right across the street from the Consol Center, so we would definitely stay here again for any events there. Very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donhuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again when you have an event to attend, or anytime really, at the Energy Center! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very nice guy out front helped us so much check in and get our bags to the room, then gave us good directions for walking to the Pirates stadium. Nice restaurant/bar for late night drinks, and for breakfast in the morning. Starbucks is close by for those who need that particular coffee (or just want coffee and not a real breakfast). The breakfast buffet was very good; omelettes made to order, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your trip to Pittsburgh. I am happy to hear that while staying as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center you were able to enjoy the hotel bar, restaurant, and Starbucks! We hope to see you again soon! Have a great day.

Thank You,

Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our time at the City Center Marriott, Pittsburgh was wonderful - a special touch to our celebration. From the complimentary upgrade to the champagne and strawberries in our room plus the staff, Manny, BJ, Lisa, Diane and Jodine our visit was memorable. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you want the extra benefit of a great breakfast and lite dinner chose the concierge level. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am so happy to hear that we here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center were able to be a part of such a special time for you. Thank you for choosing our hotel when staying in the Pittsburgh area. I really appreciate the time that you have taken to write about our hotel and I am so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay as our guest special. We hope to see you again very soon. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for a few days while hanging with my wife in Pittsburgh. The hotel is situated next to Duquesne University and Console Stadium (Penguins Hockey). Shuttle service available to many hotspots. On site restaurant and bar. Excellent staff and beautiful rooms. Our room was not ready so we got an upgrade to Concierge floor. Nice touch! This was not my first time there and we will return.

Room Tip: Check rates for room + breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you have become a returning guest of ours here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is great to hear that our hotel is your choice when coming to the Pittsburgh area. The information that you have given to our future guests is very much appreciated. We hope to see you soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing