We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
302 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were here for a long holiday weekend. This hotel has a great location with nice views of the river. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit in and around Pittsburgh. Stay here for a very enjoyable visit to this city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest. We hope to see you here again very soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    313
    109
    24
    15
See reviews for
204
173
35
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a very mixed experienced at this hotel in late Aug. 2013 on vacation for two nights. Overall, it was one of the worst full-service Marriott's I stayed in and I'm a Platinum member. The housekeeping was terrible--bathroom wasn't fully cleaned, I had to have them replace sheets because they weren't clean (first time I've ever had to ask for that)--the carpeting made the room look old and drab even though it was just renovated two years ago, the room was small, and they forget my wake-up call, and the bed wasn't up to Marriott snuff. On the positive side, the front desk folks tried their best and were very receptive and apologetic when I raised the above and tried to make up for it. The location is pretty good for downtown but there are certainly closer options, and it wasn't expensive. The management means well but the execution is poor. Marriott needs to improve their quality control. Next time in Pittsburgh I will most likely try another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I wanted to write to apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect and to let you know that we are in the process of investigating all of the issues that you faced while staying as our guest.
I can assure you that these issues are exceptions and absolutely not the rule of service we provide and I am truly sorry you had a poor experience.
I hope that the next time you visit Pittsburgh we can have you as our guest again so we can show you a perfect stay. If there is anything at all that I can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me so I can take care of it for you. I hope you have a fantastic day.

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is located at the downtown core next to the CONSOL Energy Center. Our hotel room on the 10/F was spacious, quiet and clean. The lobby on the ground floor is nice and clean as well.

But what makes this hotel outstanding is not the above but its services! I have been traveling for years now and I think this hotel has one of the best services experience (in N America) so far. All staffs are very friendly and helpful.

On the first evening when we first arrived, I wasn't planning to park right at the front door (because I usually hate the looks of the front door men if you are not going for valet parking). But for this hotel, the parking person was so nice that even I turned down for the valet parking, he would still offer us to park at the front door (so one of my kids can stay in the car with my wife while I check-in quickly). This subtle gesture really makes a very positive difference. And afterward, I tried to talk to different door men, each of them would offer very positive experience, either by providing directions/suggestions patiently or even a simple "good morning/evening".

The front desk was so helpful and polite as well. During check-in, they did offer my son an apple. Once again, this type of services really makes family like us to feel so welcome.

During our stay (3 nights), we were also benefited from their shuttle services a lot. The drivers were also very good and you feel happy to tip them.

In terms of the restaurant, we had a chance to spend a dinner there as well. It was not a busy restaurant but the quality of food was superb! The kids menu provides variety of choices and my kids loved them. The meal was perfect and even the chef would come out and greet you.

The hotel structure and rooms are just a typical Marriott-style. But all I really enjoyed the most during the stay is really its services. All staffs in this hotel are really well trained and we all had a terrific experience in this hotel. Thumbs up for its services and please continue to do well!

Oh one down side about this hotel: parking is $18/day and if you want multiple entries, it would be $22/day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaugaBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. We here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center take great pride in our hotel and our customer service. I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience this and then shared your experience with others.
I hope that we see you again the next time you return to Pittsburgh. Have a wonderful day and a great fall season!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed one night and there was a football game so we knew it woud be busy but you wouldn't have noticed. We were able to check in early and the reception were always very happy to assist with no waiting in line. The hotel had a nice welcoming feel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSaunders_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. It is great to hear that you were able to get into your room early and that the staff was accommodating and friendly. We hope that the next time you are in the city we will have you as our guest. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is right smack in the middle of Pittsburgh with great views of the rivers and skyline. Very friendly staff and very nice room. Only knock is that the bathrooms are kind of small. However, I truly recommend this hotel for both business and families.

Room Tip: High floor facing the rivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpectingtheBest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for writing about your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us! We hope to see you again very soon. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I shopped for a 3.5-4 star through Priceline and got a room at the Marriott City Center. We spent a Friday night at the hotel, taking the train to see the Pirates Friday night and taking in the sights along the waterfront on Saturday. The staff was very friendly, taking time to offer directions and insights. The location was good for a Pirates gm or a Steelers gm, though you will need to ride the T to get there. If you are taking in a Pens gm, it is a great location. The room was clean but the bathroom was pretty small and the bath/shower fixtures were a little dated as well. We also needed to put a shoulder into the door to get it open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeyparent33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the interactions that you had with our staff, we take great pride in our customer service and I am glad you were able to experience this. I am sorry to hear that the room/bathroom was not up to par. We will be taking these comments and using them for improvement for our future, thank you for making them. We hope that when in Pittsburgh again we will have you as our guest. Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 4 who stayed at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott for one evening. It was a convenient location to visit various attractions though you do have to drive to most of them. The only exceptions are the concert arena across the street or Duquense University. The hotel lobby was very pleasant and they served some refreshing fruit infused water that was a really nice touch. The rooms were clean and comfortable. it has coffee service and a refrigerator. The only drawback was the small size of the bathroom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time and commenting on your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us! I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the fruit infused water, this is new for us and we were hoping our guests were enjoying it! Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing