We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
St. Germain, Wi.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

Stayed here when in town for some baseball at PNC park.....overall the hotel is very nice....staff is very friendly and helpful.....room was comfortable and for the most part clean...top of the toilet had some sticky stuff on it with hair ...should not have been missed by cleaning staff....not impressed..............the location is great.....if you stay in downtown Pittsburgh , you can walk to see hockey, football and baseball....a definate plus for the city............paid $122.00 w/tax ...pricline......3 star hotel....

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Not spotless
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    305
    105
    24
    15
See reviews for
198
168
35
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
338 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

Got this hotel on a Sat night in early April for 60 a night plus tax. They get 17 bucks a day to park. For the discount, this was a great rate. The hotel with within walking distance of PNC Park, bout a mile or so. The pool is small but we had it to ourselves, it is heated but still somewhat chilly. They have saunas but they are in each locker room. No hot tub. The views can be good. It is right next door to Mellon Arena so the location would be great for that too. Compared to other downtown Marriott's i have stayed in, this is below average, but considering the location and the deal that i got, it was well worth the money.

G Man

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

This place is a dump with a big price tag. Nice location, but this hotel was a complete waste of our money. Staff were crude, the room (2nd Floor) had outdated fixtures and smelled. Don't gamble, stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Room, Amenities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We arrived at the hotel an hour earlier than check-in, and having just come from a terrible hotel stay in another city I expected this to continue. However the cutest, smiliest, friendliest man at the front desk let us check in early. I had to tell him how cute he was, because it was a pleasant turn of events. It's nice to feel wanted.
It was your average 3 star hotel room being clean and comfy. The 2 Marriotts we stayed in provided the Bath and Body Works line which was a nice surprise! We liked it so much I bought some in Ohio on our way back to MN.
We ordered room service and had it delivered promptly and with a smile. I've never had a salad that delicious! It's nice to be able to appreciate the simple things.
The whole city was friendly. The people going to the Penguins game, the guys in the parking ramp, the workers at the hotel and around the city....everyone!
We will definitely visit Pittsburgh again. And we will definitely stay at a Marriott.

  • Liked — The friendly, friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKWMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

Won this hotel on priceline ($50 a night) after unsucessfully bidding on a 4 star hotel.

As many other reviews have noted, the hotel's walls are pretty thin. Could hear the people in the next room over and doors slamming at all hours of the night.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stayed there for a night March 5, 08 and March 15, 08. Excellent location if going to the Mellon Arena for a show!!! It's across the street from the Hotel, well lit, tons of people to walk back with. Hotel room was above average, clean, beds were comfortable. Great bar, food pretty good.

Only thing missing is a mini-fridge...Other 'small' issue, after a concert there is a fairly long wait for the elevators - if you can walk a couple floors, do it! I was on the 18th floor tho,and that wasn't an option.

Great views of the city and rivers! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Elevator wait after a concert and lack of Mini-fridge in room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoviFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

We recently stayed at this property for a 2nd time for a Penguins game. You absolutely cannot beat the location with the Mellon Arena being directly across the street.

Parking is expensive at $16.50 for the garage which is not part of the Marriott (cash only and no in/out privledges), or $23.00 for valet.

The rooms are average. The bathroom has the sink and mirror in with the shower so getting ready is a challenge as there is no bathroom fan.

Heating/cooling is a mystery. You do control it in the room but I couldn't tell whether it was heating or cooling. The windows do open a little which is nice for some fresh air.

Our TV was horrible. The picture was fuzzy and the volume went from non-existant to blasting. Had it not been for just one night I would have asked to move.

The beds are very fluffy but the pillows are oddly small and flat. They do have huge square pillows on the bed for sitting up.

The room was very clean.

All in all I was just underwhelmed. I wouldn't pay the full rack rate to stay here and have been lucky enough to get a reduced rate for each stay.

Given the choice, I would most likely choose the Omni over the Marriott just for the simple fact that the room layout is much more user friendly.

  • Liked — Location,Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom ,TV
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguru02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing