We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$112
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
$94
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$187
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
$200
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$193
$139
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveler rating
412
351
126
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
351
126
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteelheadthe concierge loungeacross the streetduquesne universitypenguins gamehockey arenaparking garagefront desk staffhotel roomhotel barbusiness tripsized bedfitness centerself parkmini fridgeking roompnc park
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 930 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our stay started rough when we didn't see the Marriott sign when we turned the corner, but we eventually found it. The entry and foyer were clean and well maintained. Don't fault the hotel for the poor performance of the valets--they are contracted by the owners of the building. We were greeted by a professional and gracious man who discounted our parking because of the poor valet service. The room was clean; there were plenty of lights and outlets. Our room on the 17th floor overlooked a green area among all the highrises. I took away one star because the beds and pillows were not as comfortable as we like them. The great advantage of staying here: walking to our concert at Consol Energy Center by just crossing the street. The downstairs was very high energy because people came in for drinks or dinner before the concert. The staff--both at the front desk and who cleaned our room--were kind and thoughtful. Kudos for Marriott for finally making the wi-fi free.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1724 and it was on the quieter side, but they do not go by odd and even sides at this hotel. This is the best hotel for attending events at the Consol Energy Center.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurricaneFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I appreciate the time you took to educate our future guests on our hotel.
I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the issues that you had not only with finding the hotel but especially with the valet associates. Although they are not employed by the Marriott, they still represent us and we will be discussing these events with their management staff.
I am happy to hear that despite these issues you were able to enjoy your time as our guest. I hope that we will see you again soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nothing standout about this Marriott, but no large faults, either. I was met by the manager who escorted me to the elevator as he told me about the facility. Perfectly serviceable Marriott not far from the train station. It is across from the arena so on game nights the place will be crowded with folks who come for the nosh and a parking spot. The concierge lounge gets crowded and does run out of food at least on those game nights. Temperature control in the room works well enough, a significant issue in those large hotels. Can't for the restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet visit, you might want to avoid game nights. If you're there for a game at the Consol Energy Center, this is the place. Near the train station, too.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time from your day to comment on your stay here at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. I am sorry to hear that your time with us was nothing more than a typical stay; we want all of our guests to feel as if we are their home away from home. I hope we will have you as our guest the next time you are in Pittsburgh! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Located an easy 10 minutes from the Pitt campus, this Marriott was great. Of course, room rates will vary, but the down side is the always present $22/day parking ($26/day - valet) and of course the $25/day added taxes. So, even a $180.00 double room ends up at $230.

The pro's are:

Nice, comfortable rooms (small baths).
In room amenities - coffee/tea maker, frig, blow dryer, shampoo
Pool and fitness center
Nice Restaurant and Lounge - with good food, good service and good drinks
Helpful and Friendly Staff
Good Location

The con's were:

Our air conditioner did not work - but they were quick to give us a fan
The hotel is surrounded by roads, so be careful of your room placement if you're a light sleeper;
although we heard no street noise on the 15th floor over the weekend days
It is across from the Consol Center so it can be quite busy at concert/sports time

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I appreciate the detailed information you provided to our future guests. I wanted to take this time to apologize for the issues that you had with the air conditioning but I am glad to hear we were able to resolve this issue while you were here. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest and hope we have you stay with us again soon. Have a great spring and a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three nights here recently. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds. We loved the fitness center and pool. The costs to use the parking deck proved to be the only down-side to our stay: it was expensive at $20 a day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am glad to hear that the hotel was clean, safe, and worked well for your reasons for traveling. I hope that we will see you again soon!!

Have a great day!
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a Thursday night and thought the hotel was pretty nice. I am silver status and was disappointed that I was in a room right next to the elevator. The room was pretty good sized for being downtown. The worst part was the elevator rides themselves. They were slow, packed and stopped on every floor. Other than that, I would probably stay at this hotel again if a comparable Hilton was not available in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am happy to hear that you thought of your stay as nice and that the rooms were a good size for a downtown property. I am sorry though that you had difficulty with the elevators. We did have a large amount of guests in house due to a group arrival, I am sorry about this inconvenience. I hope that the next time you are in the city we will see you again. Have a great day!

Thank You,

Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews