We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Beautiful Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Welcome”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Quick one night stay on Saturday March 23rd. Checked in a 12:15 am was greeted by a very friendly front desk who was very attentive and was in my room by 12:20 am.
Room was extremely clean and well appointed and slept like a baby on there very comfortable bed with big soft pillows. Check out was quick, and again all staff member very open, friendly,and helpful.

Room Tip: Consol Energy Center directly across street. Duquense University easy 1/3rd mile walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GodandCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your time as our guest here at the Marriott City Center. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will see you as our guest again very soon! Have a wonderful day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    317
    110
    24
    15
See reviews for
206
175
35
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time staying here and I must say I would recommend this hotel for anyone. Check-in was supposed to be at 3:00 pm, but I stopped by the hotel before then and was able to check-in early. The room I got was nice and large and the room/hotel overall was very clean. Staff was friendly and the bar in the lobby was very convenient. Food was priced a little high but that's ok. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am so happy to hear that while in Pittsburgh you chose the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am also happy that while staying as our guest you had a great time. Our staff works very hard to ensure that every guest has a wonderful stay and I am happy to hear that you experienced this. We hope to see you again in the near future. Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I went to Pittsburgh for a work trip. I was blown away by the service, from the doormen, to the staff in the restaurant. They have a bar area that serves food and has tvs with local sports.

The location is great. right across from the arena.

The staff should be commended, above and beyond!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrugienius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that our staff was so hospitable! I hope that when in Pittsburgh again, either for business or leisure we will have you as our guest! Have a great day and happy spring!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, and was wowed at every turn by thier staff. They were very attentive and friendly. The hotel had just undergone a renovation and everything was beautiful. Food was great as well. Had a great time at the Penguins game, too...just a short walk across the street!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikrenkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on your time here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that our staff was so kind and attentive. I am also happy that you enjoyed our food! We hope that you will be our guest again soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks on a business work assignment. Paid $117 per night.

In summary, what I paid is peanuts compared to what I get in return (for a 5 star hotel of course). I picked the hotel due to its location near to the office and also because it's within walking distance to all areas of downtown that I would have needed to go to after work. I can easily recommend this hotel.

Pros:
1. Location is quite central - plenty of places to eat nearby and next to the hockey stadium.

2. Comfortable room, bed and pillows - usual Marriott standard.

3. The gym is actually ok for a hotel gym - there are some treadmills, resistance machine, and most importantly (to me at least) the free weights area, although a little small. There is a swimming pool too.

4. There's a free shuttle service that can take you to anywhere you want to go in the city and back.

Cons:
1. Nothing on the hotel, but I think the Pittsburgh downtown area is quite 'unique' as no one actually stays downtown. You'll find that most shops close early and even 7-11 closes early (closes at 7 or 9 I think). If you want a more active evening life you probably need to go to one of the other satellite neighbourhoods - people at work told me SouthSide or Shadyside is a much better area for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment on your time as our guest here at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your extended time with us.
The information that you provided to our future guests will surely help in their decision making process! I hope that when in Pittsburgh again we will see you! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my second time in six months at this hotel and in short, the staff very successfully takes customer service to the next level. The attention to detail when dealing with the the guests are just phenomenal and I continue to be surprised by the staff. I am normally critical of small irritations as I spend a lot of my time in hotels and airports and end up getting fed up with staff who does not really care about the guests but, the staff at this particular Marriott does such an excellent job that there was no opportunity to be critical and look for imperfections, which I am sure there are. I can commend all of the staff from reception the young man at the door, I think his name is Jordi, the young lady who served me some of the best buffalo wings ever, at the bar when I came in on a late flight, down to the vale guys who put my luggage in my car when I went for a meeting before my departure.
The management of this hotel is doing a great job and they have managed to distinguish themselves and that is for sure. I can recommend this hotel to the frequent business traveller and the Marriott City Center will always be my hotel of choice in Pittsburgh, you guys have set the bar very high and I shall see you again soon.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stays here at the Marriott City Center. Your kind words are very much appreciated. I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. I will be passing this information on to our staff so they are aware of their impact on your time as our guest.
I look forward to seeing you again very soon! Have a great weekend!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel this past Saturday while in town for business and overall had a great experience. Used Priceline and got the hotel for $90 which was a steal. The room had a great view and the service was top notch. The bed was fantastic, and the room itself was very clean, but I will say the bathroom was rather small all things considered. Lobby was always busy, as the Villanova Men’s basketball team was staying there, along with the women’s basketball team from Butler. Used the shuttle provided by the hotel to check out a few parts of the city. Besides the small bathroom, I can’t think of one negative thing to say. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJJ2120, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the City Center. The information you provided on your review will surely help our future guests! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest.
We hope to see you again soon! Have a great day!

Thank You,
Amy-Jo Johnson
Rooms Division Manager
Marriott Pittsburgh City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing