We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This place is a dump with a big price tag. Nice location, but this hotel was a complete waste of our money. Staff were crude, the room (2nd Floor) had outdated fixtures and smelled. Don't gamble, stay elsewhere.

    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 881 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

We arrived at the hotel an hour earlier than check-in, and having just come from a terrible hotel stay in another city I expected this to continue. However the cutest, smiliest, friendliest man at the front desk let us check in early. I had to tell him how cute he was, because it was a pleasant turn of events. It's nice to feel wanted.
It was your average 3 star hotel room being clean and comfy. The 2 Marriotts we stayed in provided the Bath and Body Works line which was a nice surprise! We liked it so much I bought some in Ohio on our way back to MN.
We ordered room service and had it delivered promptly and with a smile. I've never had a salad that delicious! It's nice to be able to appreciate the simple things.
The whole city was friendly. The people going to the Penguins game, the guys in the parking ramp, the workers at the hotel and around the city....everyone!
We will definitely visit Pittsburgh again. And we will definitely stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKWMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Won this hotel on priceline ($50 a night) after unsucessfully bidding on a 4 star hotel.

As many other reviews have noted, the hotel's walls are pretty thin. Could hear the people in the next room over and doors slamming at all hours of the night.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stayed there for a night March 5, 08 and March 15, 08. Excellent location if going to the Mellon Arena for a show!!! It's across the street from the Hotel, well lit, tons of people to walk back with. Hotel room was above average, clean, beds were comfortable. Great bar, food pretty good.

Only thing missing is a mini-fridge...Other 'small' issue, after a concert there is a fairly long wait for the elevators - if you can walk a couple floors, do it! I was on the 18th floor tho,and that wasn't an option.

Great views of the city and rivers! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoviFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We recently stayed at this property for a 2nd time for a Penguins game. You absolutely cannot beat the location with the Mellon Arena being directly across the street.

Parking is expensive at $16.50 for the garage which is not part of the Marriott (cash only and no in/out privledges), or $23.00 for valet.

The rooms are average. The bathroom has the sink and mirror in with the shower so getting ready is a challenge as there is no bathroom fan.

Heating/cooling is a mystery. You do control it in the room but I couldn't tell whether it was heating or cooling. The windows do open a little which is nice for some fresh air.

Our TV was horrible. The picture was fuzzy and the volume went from non-existant to blasting. Had it not been for just one night I would have asked to move.

The beds are very fluffy but the pillows are oddly small and flat. They do have huge square pillows on the bed for sitting up.

The room was very clean.

All in all I was just underwhelmed. I wouldn't pay the full rack rate to stay here and have been lucky enough to get a reduced rate for each stay.

Given the choice, I would most likely choose the Omni over the Marriott just for the simple fact that the room layout is much more user friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelguru02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Really enjoyed our stay , the staff was awesome , the room very large , soft king bed , Starbucks right in the building , nice bar/restaurant , right across the street from the "Mellon Arena" where we were going for a concert , you WALK right there & can even (on a nice day) walk to the infamous area known as "The Strip" , had an excellent time with my wife , will stay there again if in Pittsburgh...............Plus area is safe , plenty of people around all the time.............

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thedon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed in room 1008 at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center March 7-9, 2008 while in town to visit the Andy Warhol Museum & see the Ron Mueck exhibit. We paid $70 a night through Priceline. I’ve read several reviews from people complaining about the hotel’s location but I disagree, they don’t call it “city center” for nothing. I found the hotel to be centrally located in a great area right next to the Mellon Arena (it is right across the street within walking distance if that is the purpose of your trip). To the north of the hotel, across the bridges are some great museums (Andy Warhol Museum, Mattress Factory) & other sites; to the south of the hotel is the South Side (a great shopping area with unique shops & restaurants); to the east of the hotel is The Strip (entertainment area), Shady Side (shopping & restaurants) & more. We rented a car & were able to easily get around town, hitting all of the tourist spots & hip locations - all seemed to be within a 5 to 10 minute drive from the hotel. Parking in the hotel garage is $16.50 for 24 hours which is pretty average at most hotels within a city; the garage is not owned by Marriott so you cannot add it to your room bill. (they accept cash or checks only – no credit cards). I believe the hotel does offer valet parking but we went with self parking.

It was very easy to get into the hotel from the parking garage. When the elevator doors to the main lobby opened, a lovely smell filled the air; I later inquired about it & was told by the front desk that it was an air freshener that puts out a lemongrass fragrance. The front desk staff was very professional & check-in was prompt. There is complimentary sweet tea & pink lemonade available to guests in the lobby. There is also a Starbucks connected to the hotel which is convenient. A little tip for anyone needing to use an ATM – if you go outside of Starbucks there is a Citizens Bank ATM located across the way, their fees are about $1.25 less then the ATM inside the hotel.

Our room was located on the 10th floor; it was clean, nicely decorated & very spacious! The large window provided a good view of the city & Mellon Arena. The room had a very comfortable king sized bed with a down comforter & plenty of quality pillows, an armoire with a TV, a work desk with free internet connection cables, several local magazines & guides, & a mini coffee pot with complimentary coffee & teas. There was also a big chair with an ottoman & a loveseat in the sitting area.

The bathroom was a decent size; it was clean with modern décor, a nice granite sink, plenty of extra towels, a hairdryer, & best of all, a timed heat lamp. Complimentary bath products included: Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy Orange Ginger Energizing toiletries – lotion, volumizing shampoo & conditioner; a shoe mitt, and 2 bars of Citrus Aloe soap. Across from the bathroom was a large mirrored closet which contained hangers, an iron & an ironing board.

The Marriott Pittsburgh City Center is a nice hotel in a good location; I would definitely stay there again & recommend it to others. While in Pittsburgh I would recommend visiting the Andy Warhol Museum (117 Sandusky St.) & also the unique, hip shops on Carson Ave (located in the South Side Area). There is plenty to do in Pittsburgh, especially if you enjoy art & museums. If you are an Andy Warhol fan send me a message & I’ll give you the address of a few Andy related sites in Pittsburgh. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank siouxzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $140 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing