We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible location, decent room & service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible location, decent room & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I got a room for $100 a night on Priceline, so I can't really complain. The room was fine--a generic Marriott room, no character but a comfortable bed and (rare in hotel rooms) decent lighting. My interactions with the staff were all positive. But the location is terrible. You think you're downtown, but there's not much nearby and the streets in the immediate area are hard to navigate on foot. I arrived around 8:30 from the airport and was forced to eat in the hotel restaurant. The food wasn't bad but it was overpriced. On Sunday morning I needed to go to the Andy Warhol museum. The bellman recommended against walking and called a cab. But cabs are scarce and he wound up arranging for me to take a Hyatt shuttle that was in the area--a good solution but more testimony to the lousy location. I definitely would not pay full price for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    305
    105
    24
    15
See reviews for
198
168
35
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We booked this hotel online through an agent because we wanted a downtown hotel that was suitable for children and an offer of "free meals for kids" was included. When we arrived at the hotel, the reception refused to honour the free meals deal, even though we had the booking reference from the agent. The very unhelpful receptionist said that they "don't offer deals through third parties". (We have since received a discount from the agent, who says that they cannot get an answer from the hotel in respect of this issue.)

Otherwise, the rooms were large and clean, and the location was good enough (if surrounded by building work at the time). Valet parking was expensive, but the valet was pleasant and helpful (much better than reception), and gave us some very useful local information. Breakfast was satisfactory, and our mornings were saved by a Starbucks on the ground floor, although it is not in the lobby and getting to it means pushing through a couple of rather unattractive doors.

Overall, it seems like a good enough hotel - if the management could sort itself out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanikoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
I would like to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. We pride ourselves on customer service and we did not meet your travel needs on this occasion, and for this I apologize. Thank you choosing Marriott and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center this past weekend for one night (a Friday night). We were in town for a wedding and needed an affordable downtown hotel. It wasn't a 'vacation' nor was it our first time in Pittsburgh. If you fall into either of these categories, I would NOT recommend the Marriott Pittsburgh City Center. Does that mean the hotel doesn't deserve the 4-star rating? Absolutely not. What that does mean is your hotel selection should depend on and align with your travel expectations and needs. Read reviews, be realistic, and plan accordingly so that you maximize your enjoyment!

The Construction:
- There is a lot of construction outside of the hotel on several major roadways that pass directly in front. We didn't hear any construction noises and were pretty much facing that direction. It created some inconvenience getting to and from the hotel, but that is not Marriott's fault. If you are looking to be in 'walking' distance of activity, this hotel is not ideal for you - in order to walk to and from the hotel, you have to cross some major roadways and you have to walk a bit to reach anything significant. There aren't shops, cafe's, or boutiques outside the main lobby...again, if you are looking for that, this probably isn't your best choice (see suggestions below).

Parking:
- Parking is $18 for 24-hour self-parking (I believe valet is $26). The parking garage is organized quite well - the elevator goes directly to the lobby. Typical city parking garage - you must either visit a pay station WITH your ticket before leaving OR pay with credit card upon exiting. My vehicle was not robbed, nothing was missing, and there were no damages.

Checking In:
- Check-in was fast and friendly. The staff were able and willing to answer any questions and go the 'extra' mile - with a smile! When we asked about calling a cab to get to the wedding, the Front Desk immediately suggested we take the complimentary shuttle, which was close enough to our destination. Getting a cab in Pittsburgh is a pain, so this suggestion was welcomed. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly (although Pittsburgh is one of the friendliest places I have ever been to on the planet).

Cabs in Pittsburgh (non-Marriott related):
- Since I am on the subject, getting a cab in Pittsburgh is not fun. The Yellow Cab Company operates in this manner: You call for a cab...they don't give you an exact time...and you might be waiting anywhere from 5 minutes to over an hour. Classy Cab will take actual reservations. If you are near a T-stop, take the T (city train).

The Room:
Our room was tastefully decorated, spacious, and had everything we needed for our one-night stay (we didn't need a safe). The room was clean, small bathroom, but that doesn't bother me because seriously, who cares. I enjoyed the bed and pillows and although short, I had a great night's sleep.

Room Service:
- No issues with Room Service - arrived promptly (within 30 minutes), and we each got a burger with chips and a soft-drink (came out to about $20 per person after tip, tax, etc., which is not expensive if you live in the CT/NYC area).

As a native of Pittsburgh, there are a number of hotels I would suggest for first-timers and vacationers...the ever classic Omni William Penn (many famous people have stayed here over the years) is in the heart of downtown and is gorgeous...for more modern upscale flair, I recommend The Fairmont (also in the heart of it all). The Sheraton at Station Square is a great location and plenty to do near the hotel with easy access to the T (and it's on the water, and you may even be lucky enough to get a skyline view).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZingaroLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank You so much for your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you and thank you for choosing the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott for your business needs. Once again thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and have a great day.

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

To get the easy stuff out of the way:
Parking is way overpriced, plus you have to walk quite a distance from the "convenient" parking area, through completely un-secure area to get to hotel. Was warned by valet parking attendant that if one uses the paid overnight parking, don't leave anything in the car-- there are lots of robberies. Great.
The real problem was the room. Why is it that some hotels find it so difficult to have their rooms cleaned at an acceptable level, yet still find it acceptable to charge into the hundreds for one night?
This was one of the grossest hotels in this regard, partly because there was a huge, dead cockroach lying in the middle of the bathroom floor. We're talking gigantic.
Front desk was blase about it, but refused to do anything. Apparently, they'd heard about the giant dead cockroaches before, but felt it was okay, because 'we fumigate all the time, and that's why they show up like that.' Great.
Not a great location-- and the attendants tell you a little too often about the muggings and crime in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very nice hotel in a very friendly and fun city! Downtown location is good, although construction in the city has messed up some of the most direct routes. Construction noise bad on one side of hotel, but they moved us to the other side, quickly and graciously. Very clean, super nice staff, only one real complaint, NO SAFES in the ROOMS!!! Seriously, what hotel these days doesnt have a safe in the room???
First time visitors to Pittsburgh so tried to take in the highlights. Strip District awesome, Market Square really fun and the view from the top of the Inclines on Mt Washington overlooking the city are incredible, go a little before sunset and stay till the lights come on!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaca-plannerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
I would like to thank you for your stay at the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott. We appreciate your positive feedback and thank you for your kind comments. I would like to thank you once again for your stay at our hotel and we look forward to serving you again.

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here while in town for a Pirates game. Check-in was super fast. Room was very nice. Was able to take the hotel shuttle to the game but had to walk back afterward - not too bad of a walk. Went to the hotel lounge that night and ordered food and drinks. Food was good and reasonably priced but I thought the beer was expensive, though I guess we were in a city...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nittanygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robert p, Manager at Pittsburgh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience at your hotel and I would like to thank your for your business. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with the service that was offered to you. Once again I would to thank you for your kind words and thank you for choosing the Pittsburgh City Center Marriott.

Robert J. Plutto
Director of Rooms
Pittsburgh City Center Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The staff was warm and friendly, but the beds were way too soft for my taste and as such, I cannot rate this hotel more than 3. Others may appreciate the very soft bed, but when I sit on the edge of the bed and sink, I have an issue with the bed. Also, I ordered room service a number of times throughout the week and there was generally something missing each time - the butter that I requested for the bread, the lime for water. All were minor details, but as a major traveller, those details can make or break a stay. The shuttle drivers were a delight - shout outs to Justin (afternoon/evening) and Paul (morning) - great folks!

Room Tip: If you love soft beds, you will LOVE it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDebsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pittsburgh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittsburgh Marriott City Center

Property: Pittsburgh Marriott City Center
Address: 112 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pittsburgh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Pittsburgh from Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. Our Downtown Pittsburgh luxury hotel's location is perfect, and our accommodations offer the ideal blend of substance and style. We have established ourself as a premier hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, offering redesigned luxury accommodations and friendly service. We are a TripAdvisor award-winning hotel that provides guests with comfortable rooms and suites, each filled with superior services and amenities including high-speed Internet, Marriott's Plug-In Technology, and more. Our hotel is great for meetings and gatherings, as we offer versatile venue space and comprehensive event planning services. And, our location is splendid. We sit in the heart of Pittsburgh, near CONSOL Energy Center, Duquesne University, and Pittsburgh's Uptown and Strip Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Pittsburgh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pittsburgh City Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing