We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate budget option with a delightful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday to visit the in-laws. The prices were very reasonable and I think this hotel is a good value for the area. Most of the other hotel options in the immediate area are not very nice, and while this Holiday Inn Express is in dire need of some updating and renovation, we found it spotlessly clean, comfortable and staffed by a very warm, friendly, customer-service oriented bunch.

Pros: The included breakfast and the coffee available throughout the day.

Cons: The small, worn-looking bathrooms.

We will absolutely stay here again for future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KellyGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express-Harmar. Your feedback is very valuable to myself and the Holiday Inn Staff.
Happy Holidays,
Leah Macura
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

I was in Pittsburgh to do data collection for a research project and we had to find a hotel sort of on the spur of the moment based on where we ended up, and of the three hotels we considered, this was by far the very best bang for the buck! Even a jacuzzi room is affordable (it was the only room type available on the night we needed a room, and most other hotels in the area were sold out).

The staff was extremely helpful, the breakfast was delicious, the jacuzzi tub was a nice bonus we got for the same price we were quoted for standard rooms at most other nearby hotels. If the beds weren't a little hard and uncomfortable, I'd very enthusiastically stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write such kind words about the Holiday Inn Express. We pride ourselves to make each guest trip as comfortable and memorable as possible.
Leah Macura
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Hey! Everyone we had a very nice time here and we got to use our points from our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Harrisbugh Pa. So again we had a very niced time here we stayed in 318 suite . It was a nice 2 day get away. We may stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acrylickitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The location of the hotel is on a hill top. The hotel show signs of wear and a renovation is much needed. Does not included complimentary breakfast. There is an exit on the 2nd floor that lead to outside is under repair and is not locked. This hotel need much improvement both on the property as well as service provided.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heheharhar13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for a family 'getaway'. On arrival, the front desk staff was very efficient and very nice. The room was a bit stuffy and had an odd odor. It was hard to tell if it was some kind of freshener or just a musty smell. It did get better with the A/C on. There were two double beds (that I so wish were queen sized), they were a little too hard for my preference, lots of pillows but not as comfy as some HI Express's I've been to. The room was large and clean. We were not on the turnpike ramp side but did hear some truck traffic. My kids enjoyed the pool. It was a bit small but was open early and closed late and the water was nice and warm. There was no hot tub. The breakfast was typical of HI Express. My kids enjoyed eating popcorn (from the vending machine and popped in their microwave) and watching the large flat screen TV in the breakfast area in the evening. Although the lobby had WiFi, in the room we had to connect to the phone line. The attendent at the breakfast, the maids and the morning/afternoon desk staff all went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The maid saw that we had four people in the room and left extra shampoo/soap/towels. All in all, it was an okay stay. If there were queen sized beds and a hot tub, I would have been happier. Pittsburgh Mills Mall is just 3 miles North on Rt. 28, lots of restaurants and stores there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We are veteran travelers and welcome a hotel that isn't afraid to tell guests with children to control them. All too often in this world, so many parents think that whatever their children do is "too cute" and the rest of us should keep our mouths shut when those kids are loud, boisterous, impudent, undisciplined brats. Yes, the beds are a tad bit firm (my better half loved that) but all in all...this is a good place to stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This hotel sits very near the PA turnpike so is easy to get to. However, if you can't take noise, request a room opposite the turnpike. The rooms are quite spacious, however they could certainly be cleaner. We had "entertainment" while using the bath facilities. Small ants were collecting debris and taking them into a hole in the tile flooring grout! And the carpeting was soiled and "sticky" in an area near the bed. The included breakfast was fine and food plentiful. There is also free WiFi and pets can come along although we did not do this. This place is fine if you are not going to spend hours in the room. We were visiting with family so didn't spend much time there except to sleep. It's 11 miles from Pittsburgh (north), and there are lots of eating places close by too. Staff was friendly and the Priority Club "goodie" bags were better than most HIE we've stayed in. Beds are also very comfortable with lots of pillows.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OHgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Airport
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Address: 10 Landings Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15238-1366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh North Hotel is a newly renovated hotel property that is conveniently located only minutes from downtown Pittsburgh right off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel will make you feel right at home with a staff that is second to none. The hotel features the famous Express Start complimentary Continental breakfast which now includes hot items. We invite you to try what we believe to be the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The hotel is only minutes away with the Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood, PNC Park, Heinz Field, Mellon Arena, PPG, Siemens, Medrad, NEP, RIDC Park, Heartwood Acres, Fox Chapel Yacht Club, and Oakmont Country Club home of the 2010 Women's US Open. When you visit the Pittsburgh, PA area do not forget to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Blawnox
Blawnox Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing