We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, good breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
767 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting some family in the Oakmont and Springdale areas. It was a good location for us. We are priority rewards members, and we were not upgraded when we arrived, which I was a tad surprised by, considering the hotel didn't seem very full.
The hotel claims to be non-smoking, but when we entered our room, it was pretty obvious that the room had been smoked in before.
Once we got past those things the hotel was perfectly adequate. They have an indoor pool which we never used. The breakfast was pretty extensive with eggs, breakfast meat, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, and juice.
Overall it was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear jrobba,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast and for finding lour location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the room smell. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
35
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times for my work. It is close to my plant and the company has a special price point at this hotel. It is also a perfferred hotel of my company. It is a nice hotel, clean, freindly, and it has some nice points about it. It does need some updating and some repairs done to bring it more up to par, where it should be. Room are OK but certainly nothing special. Worth the cost, but that is it.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side are quieter Even numbered rooms. The south is closer to the train tracks, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumrummer314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, and we are glad we could accommodate you in your most recent stay with us. We hope you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express was perfect. Great friendly staff, from the front desk, to the cleaning service, as I needed extra soap, shampoo, and breakfast staff. Room was very clean, hotel was clean, breakfast was fine with hot foods, as advertised. Our room on the 2nd floor, was by the interstate exit, no noise was heard at all. Room very quiet. Looks like the Hotel was just remodeled, as the roof was being worked on, but no issues from that. A good hotel will remodel after so many years, like maybe 5? but anyway, no issues with this hotel. Will come back. Mike M.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acadia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Pittsburgh for an event, but found the prices in the core of the city high. This was just 12 mins from the core and was priced just right. It's in a quiet area, so there was no outside noise to bother us. The sleep quality was good. Normal hotel room, nothing extravagant, but it did the job just fine. The staff was super friendly though, and that's always a big plus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you had a good stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked a non-smoking room in this hotel. However, the room had a strong smoking odd. We asked the staff at the reception who was reluctant and unhelpful, He insisted that it is a non-smoking room. We checked the signs outside of the rooms. Some rooms have a non-smoking signs, while our room didn't have such a sign. We asked him again. He said that since last year, the hotel switched all the rooms into non-smoking. However, with the old carpet and old matress, the room retained the strong smoking odd which is quite unpleasant and unhealthy. I don't think we will return with such attitude and such quality, considering we pay near $150 for one night. Total disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Lin J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear the poor experience and service issues you had during your visit. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the smell of your room and regret the dissatisfaction you had with the service provided by our staff.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. With this in mind, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel smelled, was scruffy, full of construction people, near the highway, the freight train went by in the night several times blowing its whistle and the room smelt of old socks. There were de-humidifiers in the downstairs room, indicating damp. The pillows were full of synthetic stuffing, sheets scratchy and mould in the shower. We had to stay one night and then moved out next morning. We will never go there again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Ms CathayC,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make all of our guests’ experiences enjoyable and stress free. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had encountered during your stay. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had you let us know you were unhappy or even switched you to the other side of the hotel to be away from the highway. Again, thank you for your feedback and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in a variety of hotels in the Pittsburgh area when visiting family. This is our fourth stay at this hotel and it will NOT be our last. Every employee has been helpful with suggestions, solutions, and recommendations. Often times we have received an automatic upgrade or a reduced price due to Priority Club status. Once an appliance was not working correctly and we were given a different room after a simple phone call. Further, we appreciated the fresh fruit, mints, cookies, coffee, and a variety of newspapers near the front desk. Of the six or so hotels we have stayed in the area, this hotel is the quietest, even with the freeway. We were at the hotel the same weekend as another guest who spoke about the wedding party. Apparently, there were TWO wedding parties staying at the hotel. In fact, I believe the hotel was sold out. It was a bit loud and crowded with a full hotel on Saturday evening and Sunday morning; however, the staff was professional and helpful. This is the only time we were unable to find a table for breakfast; however, they was a bounty of available food and trays for us to load to take food back to our room. The very busy cafe employee was on top of things. It appeared that the wedding parties departed on Sunday, so there were many places to sit for breakfast on Monday. Additionally, our room was clean and well ordered. In addition to the regular amenities in the bathroom, there were also make-up remover packets, mouthwash, and a small vanity packets. Our in-room wireless connection was perfect and quite easy to use. Near the hotel is a Subway, Bob Evans, Wendy's, Target, and Giant Eagle, just to name a few. Furthermore, there were several local diners which were quite good. Just a few miles and a town over were several quaint shops and a Farmer's Market. This hotel is 14 miles from our family, but we feel it is very much worth the drive as we've found the customer service very much to our liking. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Become a member of Priority Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LASH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVPA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, comments like this make our staff feel very appreciated, as we strive to make our guests' stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Address: 10 Landings Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh North Hotel is a newly renovated hotel property that is conveniently located only minutes from downtown Pittsburgh right off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel will make you feel right at home with a staff that is second to none. The hotel features the famous Express Start complimentary Continental breakfast which now includes hot items. We invite you to try what we believe to be the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The hotel is only minutes away with the Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood, PNC Park, Heinz Field, Mellon Arena, PPG, Siemens, Medrad, NEP, RIDC Park, Heartwood Acres, Fox Chapel Yacht Club, and Oakmont Country Club home of the 2010 Women's US Open. When you visit the Pittsburgh, PA area do not forget to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Blawnox
Blawnox Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing