We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, one of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Our family (which includes my husband, our two kids, and myself) had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room had two double beds with a mini frig/microwave combo which was good for our snacks and drinks. The room was clean and spacious. The kids loved swimming in the indoor pool and we all loved the hot breakfast (with a large variety of options) included with the room price. I must mention that the hotel staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly. This was our first experience with this Holiday Inn Express, but we will definitely be back when we're in the Pittsburgh area again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickNatMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Tucked away off of Turnpike. Sound proof windows. Breakfast adequate. Room was clean but small. Greeted me as a Rewards Card customer with bag of goodies and upgraded room. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I usually request a room on a higher floor. Had a first floor room and was surprised how quiet it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mathgurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Was told at check-in that they had me in a Smoking Room for two nights. I booked a Non Smoking Room because I have chronic asthma. I even double checked my corporate reservation and it was for a Non Smoking Room. Needless to say I'm having to stay elsewhere. Bad move Holiday Inn Express..

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JDWoodard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear JDWoodard,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.


Sincerely,


Orlando A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Looks nice from the outside, and on the ground floor, but once inside you see it was refurbished at one time. As soon as you are on the elevator you get that "Old Hotel" smell, and that is in the hallway and in the room. lots of power outlets, towels nice and soft. Breakfast was standard and better cooked than most HI expresses..the tea biscuits were soft! Cookies every night at the front desk and coffee on all night

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville), responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

ksuter,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the very good! Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Thank you again for your review.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel does not control its guest. My two day stay was worst then a room full of kids high on tons of candy combined with the rest of room filled with dogs and cats fighting. Nothing was done after complaints and several walsk to the front desk. The kids had control of the hotel and there was nothing the hotel would do to stop them except say now now behave we have other guest. The breakfast was a joke cause the kids messed it up so bad it look like a garbage dump. Recommend paying a bit more or traveling a bit farther as the loading dock across from the hotel and Turnpike ramp will surely keep you awake as well.

Room Tip: Differant Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel located 2 minutes from PA Turnpike & Rt 28. Hotel is on a dead end street. Staff very nice, room clean. Heard little hall noise in the mornings. Hotel is very close to road exiting the Beltway & traffic can be heard if you aren't using AC or heat. Ask for a room on front of building. Primati Bros. rest. is a couple minute drive away & the Pittsburgh Mills shopping Center is 3 miles north on 28. Used the Fitness room & indoor pool both very nice. I stay here 3 or 4 times a year because of easy access to major roads, downtown Pittsburgh takes 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front of building, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel while attending a wedding in the area. The hotel was very clean. The Staff was very attentive and helpful - check in was quick and easy ( as a priority club member - received a snack bag on check -in - nice touch) . We had a room with two double beds. The room was clean - beds were comfortable - bathroom and common areas were clean as well. Breakfast was good - 6am to 10am - dining area was clean and the food was replinshed regularly.
In the vicinity of the hotel are a number of fast food resturants, gas stations and a Target. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f16_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
16.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Neville Island
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville)

Address: 10 Landings Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15238-1366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $119 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh North Hotel is a newly renovated hotel property that is conveniently located only minutes from downtown Pittsburgh right off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel will make you feel right at home with a staff that is second to none. The hotel features the famous Express Start complimentary Continental breakfast which now includes hot items. We invite you to try what we believe to be the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The hotel is only minutes away with the Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood, PNC Park, Heinz Field, Mellon Arena, PPG, Siemens, Medrad, NEP, RIDC Park, Heartwood Acres, Fox Chapel Yacht Club, and Oakmont Country Club home of the 2010 Women's US Open. When you visit the Pittsburgh, PA area do not forget to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express - Pittsburgh North Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-North (Harmarville) Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Blawnox
Blawnox Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing