We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group at The Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Pine Grove
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 24 HR Classic American Diner. Breakfast served all day. Daily specials, burgers, BLTs, platters, soups, salads, sandwiches, Beer & Wine.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large group at The Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

They were able to accommodate 19 of us for breakfast/lunch at 11:30 a.m. Wait staff was very nice; however, food took almost 45 minutes to come out and a couple of orders wee missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    42
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Only if you are starving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Greasy, greasy, greasy. Wait staff is pleasant enough, but the food was pretty bad. Didn't try the pies, though I suspect they were mostly just as bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidney, ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“felt like time warp... food was so slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Atmosphere was decent, and food was typical once it finally came. The place was mostly empty but we waited at the door, waited in the booth, and then waited and waited for food to arrive. We did not wait for our check to be picked up, we paid at the register and got on with our lives.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Past time memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place reminds some of us of the weekend high school hang out restaurant. Good food, excellent servers and great atmosphere. We sat at tables right in front of the beer coolers so we could watch all the people come in and buy the many types of beer they had. Right next to the Pilot truck stop so many of the drivers eat here also. Great desserts too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Reuben nt Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped in for dinner during a road trip and the diner was packed with people. We found out why. The food was excellent for diner fare. Service was friendly and helpful. The diner is right off the Pine Grove exit on Interstate 81. We will go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andruette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing