We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but with several cautions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Pine Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pine Grove
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed two nights as part of a trip to Hersheypark. Some aspects of the hotel are very nice (comfy beds, nice continental breakfast with waffle makers) and others not so nice (sticky rugs in room and lobby, maintenance issues in the pool area). One BIG caution for those who consider this important - this hotel runs off well water, so that means that the water has a VERY strong smell to it. We've experienced this before at a B&B in Maryland and we don't like it at all. If it's no bother to you, then don't let it hold you back.

On night 2, we arrived at 11:30 pm to find that the entire area was blacked out. So we had no electricity (the hotel does not have an emergency generator), no elevator (and the emergency lights gave out after a few hours), NO WATER (remember, well water requires an electrical pump), NO TOILETS (except for one precious flush from what was already in the tank), no AC (and it was a hot night, so, basically, sleeping was almost impossible). Obviously this was not the hotel's fault and they did their best to deal with a horrible situation (and they gave us half off for night 2) - but now I wonder how typical (or not) it is for a hotel to have a backup generator.

On departure, they overcharged us (3 $10 charges for the rollaway but we should only have been charged twice) and the ridiculous $1 per day charge for the safe (and there's an equally ridiculous sign saying that they automatically charge for the safe but you can ask for them to remove the charge - just get rid of the charge; it's an insult).

Pool was nicely warm but the physical structure of the pool area was falling apart (I tried to close a sliding door and the frame came apart). Unlike an earlier review, there were no towels at the pool and I had to wander into the laundry/housekeeping area and ask someone to get towels (which are slightly larger than a washcloth).

Next time we go to Hershey, we will spend a few extra bucks for something a bit more acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elitefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed here on a trip to Luray, VA. in June 2007. We used the coupon in the travelsavers coupon book available at most rest stops. For $50, this motel is a solid value. The pool ( pleasingly warm), the free wireless internet and deluxe continental breakfast ( cereal, some fruit-apples & oranges- , waffles, pastries, english muffins, orange juice, coffee) all make this a very good accommodation for the price.
It is right off I-81about 30 miles north of Harrisburg and 100 miles north of the Pennsylvania southern border. The rooms are clean and have a small refrigerator and a small microwave. All in all a good accommodation to stay in while traveling through.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arch53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

This Comfort Inn was our first stop on a 3000 mile road trip. We flew into Harrisburg then stayed at the Comfort Inn in Pine Grove. We had no problems with the reservation and the room was nice. We accidently left our cell phone there and they were more than willing to "jump through some hoops" to get it back to us while we were on our trip. Nice people!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank geekanddork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We were passing through this area on our way to Lancaster County and decided to stop. At first I had mixed feelings about staying at a Comfort Inn, as my experience has been rather hit or miss with this brand. Besides, the building exterior, though well maintained, appeared to not to be modern. But I figured I would check out the rate.

When I entered I was greeted promptly by the desk clerk. He was very informative and friendly on all my encounters with him. The hotel inside appeared fairly updated, with a nice breakfast area. The room was a bit small for my taste, but was comfortable none the less. Again, it seemed updated, but was decorated rather dull.

In the morning, we were greeted by the staff as we entered the breakfast area. It was a very complete continental breakfast with everything you could ask for, including 2 waffle makers.

I would recommend this hotel, especially because of the friendly and courteous service, and would stay at it again if I was passing through this area. My only complaint is that the rate of 80.99 with my AAA discount seemed excessive for a Sunday evening stay for what I would consider a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank homesteadjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

My son and I were travelling south on I-81 toward WV. This hotel is right off the exit. Mcdonalds sits right in front and you can walk for a quick bite to eat or they have a variety of ice cream, including some hard ice creams, I think Baskin and Robbins. The desk staff is very pleasant. We had a room with 2 Queens on the first floor, on the way down we had a room with a refrig and mirco. These were brand new units and worked well, not what you usually get. On the way back we stayed their one night again and didn't get the refrig and mirco, the desk clerk said soon they would be in all the rooms. So if you want these I would put in a request. Breakfast here is awesome with the waffles. The pool is outstanding, nice and warm and very well kept. Towels were stocked. Some people were using the fitness room, looked it good order as well. This was a very clean and well kept Comfort Inn, hats off the the staff and management. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brighteyes818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolipjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler67Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn Pine Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RV L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Grove
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
#1 of 4 in Pine Grove
469 reviews
10 mi away
Comfort Inn Midway
Comfort Inn Midway
#1 of 1 in Bethel
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Pine Grove
Knights Inn Pine Grove
#3 of 4 in Pine Grove
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lebanon Valley/Ft. Indiantown Gap
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Lebanon/Fort Indiantown Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Pine Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Pine Grove

Address: 433 Suedberg Rd, PO Box 168, Pine Grove, PA 17963-9274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pine Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pine Grove
Price Range: $63 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Pine Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Pine Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Grove Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing