We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....”
Review of Retro Eatery - CLOSED

Retro Eatery
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Great little period decor place with excellent food and service
Karthaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We (a party of six) were at The Retro on Tuesday, 7/16/13 for lunch. All of us have been there before (my wife & I at least 20 times all together). One person ordered the "dinner" Daily Special Fried Chicken. When it came, there were 3 pieces...one medium sized thigh, and 2 "cocktail-sized" pieces (drumstick and skinny wing). Also, the ice cream scoop of mashed potatoes were cold. The waiter replaced the potatoes, but basically said there was nothing he could do about the chicken, that was the "dinner." We asked again and he said he try to do what he could. Eventually he back with one more medium sized thigh.....it was cold. What REALLY bothers us is that the owner/manager was standing not 15 feet away and never came by to say a word, like we're sorry or sorry this happened or whatever an owner SHOULD say to patrons. The Retro is a great place USUALLY........NOT THIS TIME and its a shame.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

enjoyed a dinner here while passing through Philipsburg. The restaurant has an extensive menu, I had a delicious sandwich, generous portions and the desserts fabulous!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hockeymum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant from all around”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

No matter when you eat there, one always goes home with leftovers. The décor is very retro, the food is exceptional and the staff is most friendly. We live in Philipsburg and eat there regularly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for four generations dining together”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food choices and atmosphere kept four generations satisfied and entertained. The portions are big so ask how big the plate before you order as you might want to share!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Godspeed-safely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaceton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was terrible”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had pasta with garlic and olive oil. Try pasta with oil! YUCK!! My mom & My sisters orders were wrong. This was my second trip & it was just as bad as my first. Will not be back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nyce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retro Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing