We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Perkasie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maize Restaurant

Maize Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Perkasie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in Perkasie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here for a special "date night." It was our first time at this place. The food was amazing - I had the fluke and he had the bison. Both were very good! We really appreciated the attention to detail by the waiter who did a great job explaining the menu options. We had two courses and that took 2 hours. We loved being there enjoying each others company and amazing food. I would suggest this place if you love special food and are not wanting a quick in and out meal. Thank you everyone at the Maize for a memorable meal and evening. So glad you guys are here locally in Perkasie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteamboatSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious but LOUD and s..l..o..w..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Our server was great, food was outstanding, but being over 55, none of us could hear each other. We were all hoarse by the end the evevning. Adding some sound absorption to the room would help. That being said, the bison was done to perfection, mussels were wonderful. The terrine dessert did not dissapoint. Will go back but never on a weekend. Server said they are adding a patio in the back and adding space upstairs. Let's hope that helps.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went here last night with a group of 6. We had a fabulous dinner and great time! Everything is made to order, and makes for a long meal. We were there for about 4 hrs and each had an appetizer, entree and dessert. If was no issue for us since we hadn't seen each other and were catching up. I recommend going with a group and the time will fly by. I do not feel this would be the place to go for a romantic dinner, just not the atmosphere for it. I will also say that it is very loud and hot! At one point they had to open the door, because it was very hot and smoky( from the kitchen). I will admit, I did prefer what my husband ordered. He had the mussels for an app and the bison for entree which was mouth watering. I had scallops and crab cake, which admittedly I have had better. For dessert he had creme brûlée, which he said was rich and creamy. I had a lavender pane cotta, which was mild and interesting. Overall very cute little ( about 30 seats) restaurant that uses all local ingredients from nearby farms. The best part and money saver, BYOB!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelhound0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“another fantastic meal at Maize in Perkasie Pa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last night we went back to Maize. The meal was fantastic. I had the mussles as an appetizer. Outstanding to say the least. 3 of us had the red snapper. It was done to perfection and set on a bed of beggies. ablolutely the best i ever had. Matt the chef oversees the operation and does the cooking. it is excelllent
They do not rush you the meal is served at a slow pace so you can enjoy every bit without being rushed.
The wait staff knows the product and are very helpful in answering any questions.
it is BYOB so you need to bring your own special brews.

if you go to Perkasie this is a MUST stop

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sligome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A charming small BYOB restaurant in an ex-urb of Philadelphia about 40 miles from center city. Easy parking, great service, absolutely wonderful food. But, get here early because NOTHING has been prepared before hand, not even the sauces. Everything is made when ordered. For example, I ordered a pasta appetizer and watched as the pasta was mixed and rolled and eventually cut before being cooked. Must allow at least 2 hours from when you give your order to when you are drinking your after dinner coffee or tea. But I am very glad I made the 80 mile round trip. Will do it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidSzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maize Restaurant also viewed

Sellersville, Bucks County
Perkasie, Bucks County
 
Perkasie, Bucks County
Sellersville, Bucks County
 

Been to Maize Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing