We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere.”

Hometown Family Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Palmyra
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lebanon PA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Being locals we frequent Hometown quite often. We absolutely love this place, the service is always good, and the food is better. We have tried most of the items on the menu and the buffet as well. We have never had anything that wasn't good. Good down home meals, for not a lot of money. A nice place to go after a trip to Walmart. LOL

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rest_Two_Rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hershey pa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice home cooked meal”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, good food, pretty atmosphere,
Not a place for a bargain but average price and good portions
Good PA food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kody76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple meals - not all "home" cooked...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The restaurant is very clean and the waitstaff is friendly and attentive. The food is very plain with no real seasoning. Had "grilled" chicken added to a Caesar salad and the chicken came out rubbery...am still not sure if it was "pressed" chicken meat or if the cook had microwaved it before throwing it on the grill. Either way not a very pleasant texture and no flavor to speak of. My wife had a "fresh" salmon special of the day and the flavor was very fishy. The rice pilaf which accompanied her dish was also under-seasoned.

Had opportunity to eat out again on this trip and did not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good quality down home food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My average rating is to say you get good quality at very fair prices. The menu is typical central PA family restaurant fare. Lots of roast beef, roast pork, baked chicken and the like.
We visit with family regularly in this area and locals rave about Hometown's food. I have been there quite a few times and never had a bad meal. The exceptional part of this restaurant is the very friendly and efficient servers. They create an upbeat atmosphere with plenty of smiles and thank yous. Fine for lunch or dinner and the breakfasts are hardy enough to satisfy even the biggest appetites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lititz
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very good food & same for service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On sundays, after church, mom & I decide where to eat lunch. This has been our choice several times. The have a buffet on the weekends that is really good. There are choices in Palmyra & this is what we chose.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hometown Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hometown Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing