We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at a good price.”

Hometown Family Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 45 Restaurants in Palmyra
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sciota, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food at a good price.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant had really tasty food and good prices. The staff was efficient and friendly. I would stop again if I passed through town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank reb859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Family Owned Restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We eat here weekly for lunch and find it a pleasant family owned and operated restaurant. The food is hearty and plentiful. The restaurant staff is very accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing soup”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place has trhe best old fashioned vegetable soup. Plus they have great breakfast and even offer homemade sausage patties. During the week they have an all you can eat soup and salad bar and on the weekend offer and all you can eat dinner bar. Everything is always hot and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, PA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't get the Buffet!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hometown Family Restaurant is a large, beautifully decorated, local restaurant. Haven't been here to eat in years but the family decided to try it on a whim Saturday evening. We were greeted warmly and seated promptly. There was a small all-you-can-eat buffet set up at the far end of the restaurant. While we typically steer clear of buffets, it looked good, and when you compare the price of the buffet to the meals, it was a no-brainer. Were we mistaken! The odd part of the buffet was that you get two choices of side dishes from the menu in addition to the buffet. Not sure I understand why they do this when the buffet had three veggies plus filling already on it. You can't take the buffet food home, but we did take our side dishes home -- no reason to eat them when you had the rest of the buffet to eat. Buffet choices were fried fish, fried shrimp, roast beef, turkey, fried chicken, sausage, perogies, veggies, chili, chicken ala king, spinach noodles, etc. While the food was hot and looked good, it was bland, tasteless, and frankly not very good. It was the most disappointing buffet I've ever had, and frankly, the most disappointing restaurant food I think I've ever eaten! The fried chicken did taste good and the shrimp were okay (the ones that weren't overcooked), otherwise, the ONLY thing that was good was the choice of desserts (their desserts are wonderful!). Even our two children didn't like it much either. Not sure if this buffet food is indicative of their menu food, but I certainly hope not! Most disappointing meal and I would think long and hard before ever going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The4Ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Stop”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Traveling thru on Rt 422 after visiting Lebanon County Museum. Outside appearance caught our eye as very favorable and ample parking a plus. Greeting was warm, seating in a neat, clean,
bright atmosphere. Our server Thomas was there in a minute and did a great job throughout serving. The food was very good with more than enough to eat. We shared a luscious dessert.
Noticed a steady flow of diners in and out at 2PM. Would definitely recommend !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hometown Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hometown Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing