We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sandwich I ever had”

The Sinkhole Saloon
Ranked #21 of 47 Restaurants in Palmyra
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
“Worst sandwich I ever had”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I ordered the Po Boy sandwich as it was starred on the menu. The roll was toasted but also stale and hard as a rock. The fried shrimp inside had a ton of rock hard coating on top, just ridiculously overcooked. Picking up the sandwich and biting into it was difficult since it was so hard and crunchy, everything just falls out every where. I asked the waitress for a soft roll instead, and that one was also dry and stale.
My husband enjoyed his mussels and wings, so order that if you go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't expect quick if you visit.”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sandwiches and other bar food are average. The servers are kind and many frustrated with the SLOW kitchen. Slow is being kind. Enjoy your drinks and free popcorn because your not going anywhere fast after you order. Ugh!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OICU8here2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very pleased with everything”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our third visit and 2 out of three times were excellent from start to finish.They make a perfect cosmo and offer a good selection of beers on tap.The atmosphere was charming even if you are not into country/Western.Smothered chicken sandwich was full of flavor and the creme brulee was delicious and $2 cheaper than a hershey resaurant sells it for.Good service and very attentive staff.We will go again-brings back a lot of memories of the old Palmyra.Lots of framed articles of their many sinkholes also.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good place, by bowling alley and often by actual sink hole in street.”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Good burgers, easy going environment. In summer they have caribbean like service on side of bowling alley which is surprisingly good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Visited on a Wednesday night. Yings & wings is there special. We got seated, hostess took our drink order. Waitress brought drinks and took our order. All was good...or so we thought. That was the last we saw of our waitress for at least 30 minutes. There were 2 other waitresses in our area waiting on other tables. Tables that arrived after us received their food before we did. After 45 minutes, we found our waitress. She was handling a "party" across the hall from the restaurant! We told her we would not wait much longer for our wings and sandwich. she said kitchen was backed up but food should be out soon. After waiting 55 minutes, we finally got our food. We do not blame the waitress, we blame management. why would you have her handling a party and trying to wait tables in the restaurant? We will not be going back for quite some time. That was ridiculous! I hope they get their act together or they will continue to lose customers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sinkhole Saloon also viewed

 

Been to The Sinkhole Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing