We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside doesn't look like much - Food was very good”

Bridge Inn Pleasantville
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Oley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dining at a relaxed comfortable pace. Our food is all cooked to order so sit back, unwind and have a nice relaxing evening. Winner of Best of Berks for Best Country Hotel Restaurant in 2013, we offer homemade American cuisine as well as a Martini Lounge w/ live music on weekends. Choose from one of over 50 martinis, or from a variety of speciality drinks or wine, while you wait. We offer a large menu with many fresh (not frozen & fried) appetizers and a nice variety of speciality flatbreads. Entrees include seafood, steak, pork, chicken and pasta dishes to choose from. We also offer some vegetarian dishes, as we have a vegetarian chef, in addition to our Features Menu with some special dishes, that change from week to week. Reservations are encouraged, as they help us know how to staff, to serve you better.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Used to go here alot when it was The Pleasantville Hotel. It's deceiving from the outside, no character, old and dingey looking. Doesn't have the "old charm" compared to the inside. Inside is dark, cozy, lots of old character, charming. Martini menu was gigantic, a long list of choices I've never imagined! Saw many that I'd like to try! We ended up getting the red sangria...it was fabulous...served with fresh fruit chunk on the bottom which served as our dessert after the meal because we were too full for anything else. Next time I will try the white sangria. We both ordered scallops wrapped w/bacon ($8.99). Although they were good with bbq sauce, they were so teeny. I think they cut up big scallops to make the teeny ones. Although bbq sauce was good, I don't care for bbq on my scallops. Salad was very good, very fresh and tasty. Croutons were fabulous, you could tell they were made in-house. One person got the crabcakes ($22). It had two gigantic, baseball sized crabcakes filled with large chunks of crab. No filler that I could see. They were delicious. My dish was the coconut shrimp ($17.99). Portion size was very good. The shrimp were good, but I'm not sure if they were made in-house. As far as side dishes, OMG....the filling was homemade and was awesome! I was disappointed to hear the corn fritters were frozen out of a box, especially since fresh corn is in season and this restaurant is located out in the middle of farmland with fresh corn fields everywhere!! Very disappointing. So neither of us tried any of the other side dishes, we had the salad and one side of filling. We were told their desserts were made in-house, but we were both too full to try any. And as far as the service, the waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and was fast in getting our food to us. Everything was hot. So all in all, it is a great place....my only suggestion to make it better would be to make sure all their sides are made in-house....that's what sets a restaurant apart from all the rest!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Manager at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your review and suggestions. We definitely appreciate you taking the time to post them and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! We will be continually trying to improve everything, so hopefully your next time will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had a steak and cheese sandwich here and it was AWESOME. Bread was great, loaded with all the goodies, and tasted great. All you would ever want!!! The place was cool too. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shaggybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks!! Hope to see you again when you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not very good. My daughter said the hamburger was good, but I had the flatbread pizza without cheese (vegan). Store bought crust and canned spinach. Would not go back because the food is not fresh. The service was very slow.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit here.

We offer vegetarian options here because we have a vegetarian chef. When she creates her dishes, she considers all the ingredients and how they will blend together. When ingredients are taken out to make the dish vegan, the end result may not be as good. We don’t advertise vegan dishes because we don’t have a vegan chef and we don’t want to put out food that’s not up to par or as you said “blah”. The food that was ordered, that wasn’t vegan was good according to your statement, including the veal Oscar that your sever said she was told was good too.

Because everything is fresh and cooked to order, it does take longer. The flatbreads are made, topped with fresh ingredients (is there such a thing as canned spinach?) then they go through a conveyer oven, which takes time. We have our own produce man that delivers here every other day. It costs more but we only want to put out fresh food.

Again, sorry you didn’t enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went because of the vegetarian options. They could not make any of them vegan because cheese was already in the prepared food. The service was slow. The flatbread pizza had store bought crust and canned spinach and mushrooms and the martini was in the wrong type of glass. They had paper napkins and placemats. Seems like silly complaints but seriously the same options are better at a crappy chain like bucca di beppo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jim_D_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit here.

We offer vegetarian options here because we have a vegetarian chef. When she creates her dishes, she considers all the ingredients and how they will blend together. When ingredients are taken out to make the dish vegan, the end result may not be as good. We don’t advertise vegan dishes because we don’t have a vegan chef and we don’t want to put out food that’s not up to par or as you said “blah”. The food that was ordered, that wasn’t vegan was good according to your statement, including the veal Oscar that your sever said she was told was good too.

Because everything is fresh and cooked to order, it does take longer. The flatbreads are made, topped with fresh ingredients (is there such a thing as canned spinach?) then they go through a conveyer oven, which takes time. We have our own produce man that delivers here every other day. It costs more but we only want to put out fresh food.

Again, sorry you didn’t enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We will definitely be regulars at the Bridge Inn.. A dive along lovely country roads..the Bridge Inn is an unexpected pleasure...tucked away in the tiny village of Pleasantville. The atmosphere is reminiscent of an old inn...the service and food were excellent.... The prices were quite reasonable... If there was a better and more inclusive wine list, we would have scored it a perfect 5 stars! Otherwise, it was quite a charming experience and we will return....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elle248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to serving you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge Inn Pleasantville also viewed

 

Been to Bridge Inn Pleasantville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing