We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical for berks county” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge Inn Pleasantville

Bridge Inn Pleasantville
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Oley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dining at a relaxed comfortable pace. Our food is all cooked to order so sit back, unwind and have a nice relaxing evening. Winner of Best of Berks for Best Country Hotel Restaurant in 2013, we offer homemade American cuisine as well as a Martini Lounge w/ live music on weekends. Choose from one of over 50 martinis, or from a variety of speciality drinks or wine, while you wait. We offer a large menu with many fresh (not frozen & fried) appetizers and a nice variety of speciality flatbreads. Entrees include seafood, steak, pork, chicken and pasta dishes to choose from. We also offer some vegetarian dishes, as we have a vegetarian chef, in addition to our Features Menu with some special dishes, that change from week to week. Reservations are encouraged, as they help us know how to staff, to serve you better.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical for berks county”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went because of the vegetarian options. They could not make any of them vegan because cheese was already in the prepared food. The service was slow. The flatbread pizza had store bought crust and canned spinach and mushrooms and the martini was in the wrong type of glass. They had paper napkins and placemats. Seems like silly complaints but seriously the same options are better at a crappy chain like bucca di beppo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_D_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit here.

We offer vegetarian options here because we have a vegetarian chef. When she creates her dishes, she considers all the ingredients and how they will blend together. When ingredients are taken out to make the dish vegan, the end result may not be as good. We don’t advertise vegan dishes because we don’t have a vegan chef and we don’t want to put out food that’s not up to par or as you said “blah”. The food that was ordered, that wasn’t vegan was good according to your statement, including the veal Oscar that your sever said she was told was good too.

Because everything is fresh and cooked to order, it does take longer. The flatbreads are made, topped with fresh ingredients (is there such a thing as canned spinach?) then they go through a conveyer oven, which takes time. We have our own produce man that delivers here every other day. It costs more but we only want to put out fresh food.

Again, sorry you didn’t enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A charming and enjoyable place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We will definitely be regulars at the Bridge Inn.. A dive along lovely country roads..the Bridge Inn is an unexpected pleasure...tucked away in the tiny village of Pleasantville. The atmosphere is reminiscent of an old inn...the service and food were excellent.... The prices were quite reasonable... If there was a better and more inclusive wine list, we would have scored it a perfect 5 stars! Otherwise, it was quite a charming experience and we will return....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to serving you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
389 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“New owners, same great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped by for a light supper. Usually we do dinner...especially their "Bridge Chicken"...fantastic! We had burgers and pulled pork sandwiches with fries and onion rings all done perfectly. The new owners have continued the Bridge tradition of country hotel and good food. A bit more upscale and pricier than some country inns, but well worth the experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gwenrich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food was amazing! The menu had a lot of great choices with different options then most of the restaurants around. Service was very good, our drinks were only empty a few minutes or so before they were filled up again. Little on the pricey side but for the food it was worth it. We haven't eaten here in years and we are glad we went. I see us going back often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kietch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just OK, would not return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The service is extremely slow. When I asked our server to recommend a martini she said she could not and just handed me a menu. The food was average. There are better places to eat in the area that are a better value for the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emhgsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgeInnOley, Owner at Bridge Inn Pleasantville, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi,
We're sorry you didn't have a great experience here. Can you tell us when you were in, so we can address the issues with the people that were working at the time? We are constantly striving to improve the place and most of the time we do a good job, as you can tell from the prior reviews.
Thanks,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge Inn Pleasantville also viewed

 

Been to Bridge Inn Pleasantville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing