We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Italian”
Review of Brutico's Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brutico's Bar & Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Quality Italian”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

They start you off with a small pizza appetizer. A little taste of Old Forge pizza. The bread comes with a marina dip along with olive oil and butter. Entrees are reasonably priced and well prepared. The veal picata was perfect as was the salmon with lump crab. The "salad" is just a few pieces of lettuce and a tomato--traditional. Meals come with pasta. I prefer the olive oil and garlic over the marinara and they will give you your choice of sauce and type of pasta, It was a SAturday, fairly full and service was fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is great but..”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Three different meals for our party of three were excellent! That was were the good rating ended unfortunately! We had a beautiful seat by a waterfall. So we thought until we realized that directly on the other side of a flimsy wall was a telephone or cellphone that kept ringing, and worse yet a gathering place of some sort for the waitresses. By the end of our meal we heard everything from the f-word to very disgruntled waitresses with comments on many subjects that we should not have been able to overhear! After ordering dessert martini's, the bartender came to our table telling us that she had never made them before and googled recipes and brought us 3 muddy looking drinks, that one of us wasnt even able to drink since she couldnt get past the looks! Appearance should still be a part of every meal! We did force most of the drinks down since it was obvious we would be paying for them anyway, but would stick to wine in the future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Is pizza all that's O.F. is known for?”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

1st, the pizza appetizer was delicious (which explains why so many people were going to the bar for pizza order pickups). The stuffed mushroom appetizer was also good, but it all went downhill from there.The service was dreadful...only two waitresses, who totally ignored us. They never checked on us if we liked/ disliked our meals nor refilled our water glasses. Which brings me to our meals...Angel hair pasta w/ Marinara & Gnocchi w/ Vodka blush. The pasta: it wasn't angel hair; it was spaghetti & the gnocchi was undercooked. The sauce: here's where it's REAL interesting...(I may be wrong) but I think they take one sauce...add a little "this & that" and call it something else. It seems they take their "house red" sauce...throw in a few crushed tomatoes and a large handful of oregano and...voila', you have "marinara". Take that "marinara"...pour in a 1/4 cup of cream and...voila', you have "vodka blush". The two tasted nearly identical!
The place was packed on a Wednesday...can't figure out why. Won't be back any time soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFFYG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to celebrate a b'day on "lobster night" and made reservations days ahead. Upon arrival we were seated at a table where my chair was only inches away from the booth behind me and in the middle of the only path to the front door, waitresses and patrons had to turn sideways to get around me and still bumped my chair repeatedly. There were 3 waitresses for 10 occupied tables yet after 30 minutes no waitress came to take our order. We walked out. Lobster night is not going to increase business but good service will.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibthurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to try this restaurant after receiving a gift certificate. We were pleasantly surprised! Old Forge is known for its pizza, but Brutico's presented us with a fantastic dinner, excellent service, and a very nice atmosphere. My wife had a chicken risotto dish and I had one of the night's specials - haddock covered in lump crab meat. Both were out of this world! As an appetizer, they brought us a couple small pieces of their pizza, which you can get downstairs. We will definitely be back for dinner and the pizza!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shultzy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brutico's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing