We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all the stay at the Days Inn in Oil City Pa is...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Oil City Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    95
    57
    15
    31
See reviews for
111
61
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you've never been to Oil City, you're not missing much. If you wanted to see what a small 'city' would look like from the late 60's and early 70's, without any upkeep, rebuilding or remodeling, then this is the town for you. The hotel is right in the middle of it all, itself a remnant of a bygone era. It's extremely obvious that the place is trying to get by, pinching pennies everywhere they can. One example is the hallways. They're freezing, obviously to save from the heating costs. And although all the rooms seem to be remodeled, the hallways and most of the common areas have not been updated, reinforcing that old 70's feel. It honestly seems more like a motel than a hotel. Another money-saver? Ten bucks for every hour you stay after eleven. Yep, not twelve. Eleven. The night before I stayed at a Comfort Inn and the let me check out at one for no extra cost. And don't go by the pic on the website. It's the generic picture used by America's Best Value Inn. Absolutely nothing like the actual hotel.
I was a bit nervous there, considering some of the people I saw checking in that night, and sure enough, around midnight, I was awoken to someone screaming below us, either in a room or the parking lot. It was a guy going absolutely berserk on his girlfriend, somehow managing to squeeze the F-word at least three times into every sentence. My wife was terrified, and we jumped online to see that the Holiday Inn Express was only about five miles away, and assured ourselves that next quarter, we knew we had a better place to stay.
The continental breakfast included juice and milk in gallon jugs like you have at home in your fridge, with mini-doughnuts from the grocery store shelf, which were hard and stale.
The one positive was the restaurant attached to the hotel itself, which we ate at the night before. Although the waitress had no uniform and looked like she had just walked in off the street, she was very nice. Probably more bar than restaurant, it still had a nice atmosphere. And the food was excellent and affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka_yak_err
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in Oil City, PA, would like to extend our apologies to you for the seemingly upsetting experience you had at our hotel and that you were disappointed in our town. We try to keep our guests comfortable and satisfied. We are sorry for the disturbance in the middle of the night. We do respond immediately to guests' complaints no matter the hour, if it is reported to us. As far as the breakfast is concerned, we offer a full continental breakfast which includes various cereals, hot and cold, a variety of muffins, bagels, and doughnuts, and we also provide a Belgin waffle maker. We are sorry if you did not notice the variety of breakfast items from which to choose. As for the late charge which we do normally apply to late checkouts, you were NOT charged that fee when you checked out at noon. We do appreciate your honesty in giving our rooms 4 stars, as we've just finished our remodeling and upgrading. Again, we would like to extend our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and we would like the chance to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wife and I were looking for a clean, quiet motel with all modern conveniences in Oil City on the river. From the time we walked in, till the time we left, we were treated well and with a great restaurant and bar on premises, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room appeared fairly new and extremely clean. Memory foam mattress was a plus. Very quiet even though their was a Christmas party going on upstairs. Had prime rib for dinner that was some of the best we ever had. Waitress was great. Front desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. Walked around town during the day and night. Felt very safe. Very relaxing to sit by river also. Anything you need is very close by. Price was good also. Would definitly recommend to anyone. We'll be going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikesTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in Oil City, Pa, would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is always nice to hear that we are doing a good job. We do go out of our way to meet our guests needs and keep them satisfied. Thank you again for your appreciation of our efforts and we look forward to seeing you again.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not a bad location but not a good place to stay. I guess this town need a new Hotel. My Grandparents and parents stayed at this place. First of all they promised them adjoining rooms and they never got it. Then they came home and brought some bugs in the luggage not sure if they were bed bugs or some thing else. They had some bug bites on them too. I myself will never stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, would like to apologize for any inconvience that you experienced at our hotel. First though, we would like to address the issue of bed bugs. We will give you 100% guarentee that we do not have bed bugs in our hotel! We have an exterminator spray our rooms twice a month and he has never seen any evidence of bed bugs. If you found something in your luggage, you should have called the hotel and informed us of that. If you don't know what the bugs were, it is not proper to announce that our hotel has "bed bugs" in a review!
As far as your rooms not being adjoining, we apologize for that incovenvience, but it is not ever guarenteed that we can accommodate that request. We offer to do our best.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oil City hotels

Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our trip started with checking into our hotel...and this was a delightful surprise. Didn't know what kind of accommodations we'd find in Oil City. But the rooms were lovely, clean, the front desk management so kind and helpful. The rooms were cleaned immaculately each day, and the views.....you can't beat them. We didn't ask for, but got Allegheny River facing rooms.....just breathtaking.

The whole area is amazing, and if you are an artist considering relocating there, be sure to catch the two videos I created of my trip there. http://www.artforthesoulofit.com/videos/

Thanks again, Arlington Hotel staff.....you made our stay so comfortable.

The dinner in the hotel was 5 star too.....sooooo much more than we ever expected. Stay here!

Room Tip: Stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, would like to thank you for the wonderful review you left for us on Trip Advisor! It's always nice to know our efforts are appreciated. There will be continued updates to our rooms and property, so be sure to stop in again. We look forward to seeing you in the future! We will be sure to let the Torino's staff know you enjoyed their food also!
Thanks again for you kind words.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

To start, my mother reserved this hotel strictly because their website said that they allowed pets. Also, on the paper we received when we checked in, also stated things about pets at the bottom. Too bad their sign said no pets were allowed whatsoever. The manager let us take our 3 week old kitten anyways, because that was definitely false advertising. However, this was after we approached the woman at the counter to ask about taking off the cost of one person so that my mother could take the kitten to our grandmother's house. The woman said, "No, because on our website it clearly states that no pets are allowed." So, of course, we said, "Uhm, no, it doesn't. It actually says that pets are allowed." and we showed her the website screen on my phone. She said it should have been fixed, and called the manager, who called back later on to approve the situation. So, that's how that played out, which is okay, but was still frustrating. When we entered our room, it smelled of smoke extremely bad and there was definitely a tobacco scent coming through the vent in the bathroom. We are not smokers. We don't need to smell it in our NON-SMOKING ROOM. The room was dirty. The carpets look like they haven't been vacuumed in ages. They could have also steam cleaned the carpet to get the nasty goop off of the floor. The lamps were extremely dusty. There was a wet ring of something in the drawer of the nightstand between the beds. The granite, or imitation granite, in the bathroom shower was incredibly disgusting. It looked like it was coated in dirt. We had four people in our room and there weren't enough towels for all of us. The lighting is horrible. The coffee pot was definitely dirty. One of the comforters had at least one cigarette burn hole in it. The "leather" furniture that was supposedly brand new (and also supposedly why they no longer allow pets), was torn when we entered the room. The "clean remote" was dirty. There were no extra garbage bags in the room. Our room did not have a microwave like it was supposed to. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and there were only three pillows on each of the two beds. The pillows were only soft; none of them were firm. The air ventilation system was terrible. The temperature was fine and all of the sudden it started blowing out hot air. It felt like a sauna. We could not shut it off; it wouldn't let us. The room service moved the tip envelope out, as if we were going to tip them for pretty much doing nothing. They maybe made the beds, gave us two towels (again, not enough), and one roll of toilet paper. It was definitely not dusted or vacuumed at all in the room. She/he also left the bathroom and sink lights on. The breakfast area is small and hard to get around in when many people are in there. Overall, the experience was horrible. We will never stay here again. Maybe the employees who read these should focus on bad reviews, such as this, to help improve the stay of future clients; instead of ignoring them. If they were so worried about pets not being there, they should have checked every possible place of where "Pets Allowed" had been posted to check for the change. They didn't, it is not the responsibility of the client to look at every website to find out the rules. On their actual website, which Facebook links to (www.oilcityhotel.com), it says under 'Accommodations' that pets are, indeed, allowed. They finally changed this nearly a week after we were there. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank symphonicmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in Oil City, PA were sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding our pet policy. We were in the process of changing all websites to reflect the new "No Pet" policy. We are glad we were able to resolve that situation for you.
As for the cleaniless of the room, you never indicated there was a problem in that area. Our coffeemakers do not have pots, but are one-cup coffeemakers, with self contained trays of coffee that drip into a cup. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day, unless there is a "do not disturb" sign left on the door. Some rooms are not equipped with microwaves, but we would have been glad to provide one if you had let us know it was missing. The granite countertops and showers in the bathrooms are brand new, less than three months old.
As for the smoky smell in the room, it could very well have been coming through the vent in the bathroom. We deeply apologize for the inconvienence. Had we known it was a problem, we would have moved you to another room.
You were here for four nights and never reported any of these problems about the room to the front desk. If it was so terrible, we must wonder why you never mentioned it.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself and 5 others just stayed here for one night for a biking trip to Oil City. First off, for the price,( $77 with tax) you can't get a better room. It is an older hotel but they have done decently with remodeling. The rooms are updated with newer furniture, bathrooms, etc... My room was very clean, you could tell the linens and towels had been freshly laundered. The door to the room was a bit hard to shut, but you just had to put some muscle to it. This part of the hotel (the doors, and exterior) is a bit outdated but still nice. My room was on the back looking at the river, nice view but cold walking out of it in the morning!;-) The staff was very kind to us, suggesting they had laundry facilities to dry off our wet clothes, and also suggesting where to eat. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a good price and a nice room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinMexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We, at America's Bets Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in OIl City, PA, would like to thank you for the wonderful review you left for us on Trip Advisor. We strive to keep our rooms clean and everything in working order. It is nice to see that our efforts are appeciated. As for the bike trails, we hope that the next time you decide to experience the area again that you will spent your time here with us. We really enjoyed having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oil City
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Titusville
62 reviews
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
23.5 mi away
Monroe Heights Clarion
Monroe Heights Clarion
#7 of 9 in Clarion
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clarion
23.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clarion
23.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Clarion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Oil City Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Oil City Conference Center

Property: Days Inn Oil City Conference Center
Address: 1 Seneca St, Oil City, PA 16301-1313 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Oil City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Oil City Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, conveniently located on the banks of the Allegheny River in historic downtown Oil City, PA. Whether you are in the area for business, pleasure or scheduling an event or conference in one of our meeting rooms or ballroom, we invite you to come and experience the warmth and hospitality of our newly remodeled hotel. We offer amenities such as free continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold items, microwaves, refrigerators, and automatic free Wi-Fi in all public areas and guest rooms, to ensure you have everything you need for a convenient stay. Take advantage of our seasonal outdoor pool overlooking the Allegheny River, or blow off some steam in our on-site fitness center. Guests also have free access to the local YMCA. A variety of restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel and our staff can help you with information about local events, shopping, museums, historic buildings or the resident Artist Studios. Oil City is a recognized "Trail Town" and our hotel caters to bikers and cyclists. It is conveniently located just 2 miles from the head of the Samuel Justus Bike Trail where you can walk, bike, cross country ski or snowshoe. However you choose to spend your time, we look forward to having you at our Oil City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Oil City Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City Hotel Oil City
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Oil City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing