We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand the hype”
Review of Yellow Dog Lantern

Yellow Dog Lantern
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Oil City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't understand the hype”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has some nice reviews but we were not impressed. It’s a little off-putting out front, as there are no windows so you can’t peek inside. The interior is very dark and old fashioned in the "old" way. The staff and the clientele all seemed to look us up and down like it was a private club. The prices were high considering the area. We decided to go elsewhere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    0
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I admit. My brother has been a regular here when he visits our hometown. So I've joined him on numerous occasions. The staff is just amazing. Fun and friendly, but efficient, too. The food is very good. Beef dishes especially. Cool throwback atmosphere. Toned down. Lots of food. You really feel at home at the Yellow Dog.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Good food reasonable prices, alcaholic drinks were good and priced good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Every Course was Perfect”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Beginning with a chocolate martini, then Shrimp Cocktail boiled in Budweiser, then very fresh salads, moving to a coffee/chocolate glazed 6 oz. filet and ending with a hot fudge pecan ball. The meal was a exceptional. A small,. warm neighborhood place, it gets very busy on weekends but is worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soleiloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople, PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Small restaurant in Oil City but big menu. Lots of selections, dinners include huge rolls, salad, entree, vegies or potato or rice or pasta. I had the Fire Blue Filet w/o the "fire" and it was delicious! Reservations are needed on a Saturday night.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Dog Lantern also viewed

 

Been to Yellow Dog Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing