We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4th of July stay”
Review of Yough Plaza Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ohiopyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yough Plaza Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohiopyle
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to do a last-minute rafting trip for the 4th of July weekend. Called Yough Plaza Motel and got the last room. The three of us stayed for $149, two queen (I think) beds. It's a decent price for the convenience, and the place is SPOTLESS. Staff was really friendly and helpful about suggesting places to eat, places to watch fireworks, etc.

Room Tip: Be smarter than us -- don't wait until the very last minute to make reservations on a holiday we...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisarobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Yough Plaza Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We picked this motel in this tiny town of about 50 people completely surrounded by the Ohiopyle State Park because it was a very convenient place to end a day of bicycling the GAP Trail. After reading some of the reviews, we didn’t know quite what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it is a perfectly charming place to stay and is exactly what one would expect of a motel in an outdoor recreational area. We were greeted warmly by the staff, bikes were no problem (racks were right outside our door), the room was a good size, neat, clean and had a rustic look (outdoorsy décor), beds were comfortable, tables on the deck to enjoy the warm evenings, a mini-golf course right next door, flowers growing everywhere. True, there is no coffee in the rooms, but it is a short walk to the bakery which opens very early. The staff was very accommodating with the 5 times we went to ask questions giving us information on local businesses and directions. We would not hesitate to stay there again – actually wish we had stayed an extra day to enjoy some water sports!

Room Tip: First floor end room was very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I spent two non-consecutive nights here while riding the GAP and the C&O. They let me leave my car there between stays which was very kind, convenient and a lot safer than a trailhead parking lot!
Friendly folks in the office too. It is a bit pricey for a solo traveler but the room was large and has a nice hot shower and clean towels which are the first order of business for a dirty cyclist off the trail. Well, right after hosing off your bike with the supplied hose and bike rack!
My only "complaint", and I DO understand that it simply is NOT available in the immediate area just yet so not a lack of understanding by the management, is that there is NO WIFI, which for young and old (like me) outdoor enthusiasts alike, which this place is custom made for, is a necessity these days.
Would definitely stay again and recommend highly especially if you can share the expense.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dgpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Slightly more expensive for the type of hotel but the price is what you would pay to be here and not at a motel on the side of a highway. Walking distance to everything in Ohiopyle and great for the GAP if you are doing DC -PIt or some other smaller distance. I haven't had any problem here. The staff is friendly and bikes are not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeyasuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect. We had a good size group of people coming from all over the country to experience some white water rafting... and it seemed like this the only option to stay. It was the PERFECT option. It was perfectly located, walking distance from everything we did an it was clean and comfortable. Our group was able to hang out in the lot and make it one big party. A big shout out to RUBY (staff at the motel), She was so helpful with any questions / requests, super nice and did a great job! Definitely made the stay so much better!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a nice balcony with round tables, nice to wake up to or end your night with a nig...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anaid-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We utilize the rails to trails a lot and always stay in Ohiopyle at the Yough Plaza along the way. They provide soap and towels but no hair conditioner, no coffee or refrigerator but despite the basic nature of the rooms they are always very clean with spotless bed linen and a multitude of towels. They also have coin operated washers and driers. The staff are lovely and the check in office remains open until 10pm with an emergency number posted for late comers. There's a great bar " River Falls Bar" across the railway tracks with great food (lots of veggie options) and wonderful breakfasts can be had at "Falls Market" on main street.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have an overhead awning that if it rains you can still sit outside, upstairs room d...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattLandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here two night recently, in two different rooms (once was on my own; next night was with a group). The rooms were very roomy and clean and the air conditioning certainly did its job. Although these were weekend nights, it was quiet (although I could just have been too exhausted to notice).

The only negative is that, when I was in a lower-level room, I could really hear noise from the people above walking around. But again, I had two very good nights' sleep here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohiopyle
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
564 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
13.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Uniontown
Comfort Suites Uniontown
#3 of 9 in Uniontown
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#5 of 9 in Uniontown
157 reviews
8.9 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
449 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yough Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yough Plaza Motel

Address: Sherman Street, Ohiopyle State Park, Ohiopyle, PA 15470
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Ohiopyle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohiopyle
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ohiopyle State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yough Plaza Hotel Ohiopyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing