We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable and kind of kitschy”
Review of Yough Plaza Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ohiopyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yough Plaza Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohiopyle
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Yough Plaza is right off the Great Allegheny Passage and so very convenient for cyclists. The rooms are typical 50s motel style but clean and serviceable. There is an outside hose so that you can wash your bike and they also offer shuttle service to Fallingwater, which is worth the trip. There is a lot to do in Ohiopyle -- it is gorgeous country -- and I am sorry that I didn't stay an extra day. The office doesn't open until 2:00 p.m., but the cleaners let us in so that we could change out of our tourist clothes into our biking clothes. Very nice and accommodating. I would stay there again. You do have to pay in advance, but that was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priscilla47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here when we were riding the Allegheny Trail, and I think it is an okey place for 1-2 nights, nothing more. VERY small bathroom! But good location, and an overall good place to stay for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lene0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The employees are indifferent to mildly hostile, the price is far out of line, the room is below par, the mattress uneven and lumpy, and there is no coffee available in the mornings.
Sleep in your car instead!

Room Tip: plan better and avoid this town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

At bedtime I did my cursory bedbug check. First bed, nothing. Second bed, saw bedbugs - very, very tiny. I was with small children for a visit to Fallingwater. We had no where to go and no one at the hotel to contact. We slept in our car. It was horrible. Now worried we have them in our luggage.

Room Tip: AVOID - stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lajasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimGreenbaum, Manager at Yough Plaza Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

We, at the Yough Plaza Motel, consider cleanliness a top priority. We are well aware of the seriousness of the bedbug infestation in motels throughout the United States. We examine the rooms closely after every guest visit. After we received word of the supposed infestation, the room in question was thoroughly torn apart after guest's departure and no incidence of bedbugs was discovered. All areas of the bed and surrounding areas were examined using a magnifying glass. The speck that was turned into housekeeping, when examined under the magnifying glass, was nonliving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed at this motel while biking the Great Allegheny Passage. Our room was clean. The location is great, right in the center of town. My only complaint is that the price was a bit high based on the age of the property.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcl653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We were visiting Falling Water and driving from NY, so didn't want to add to the drive by staying at one of the larger old world hotels in this area. We chose Yough Plaza because it's five minutes from Falling Water. The town of Ohiopyle is kind of cute — on the river with a lot of kayaking rental places and little stores (most of which close at the end of October and reopen in spring). Yough Plaza is on a side street and is nothing to speak of. The staff was friendly enough, the room was clean, but it's pretty bare bones. No hair dryer, drinking glasses or bath amenities and at $95/night in this rural location, I would have expected a little more. The beds were also pretty uncomfortable and the pillows were hard and lumpy. There's a little cafe across the street, but aside from the spectacular Falling Water (worth the visit, no matter where you stay!), if you're in this area, be sure to dine at Chez Gerard about 20 minutes away. It's fabulous. Charming, welcoming and an incredible bargain with a prix fixe dinner for $50. Worth twice the price — which can make up for spending $95 at Yough Plaza!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Niia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Extended family of 15 took a raft ride on the Middle Yough and needed a place to stay. Nothing great, but nothing that bad. Walking distance to the store/guide where you take the bus ride to your drop in point on the raft ride. Restaurant right across the street, while slow at times, provides decent food. Remember, you are there to raft ride, you want a place to slepp, get a shower, and stuff some food down. This is an adequate place to call home for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dbcPittsburgh_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohiopyle
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
602 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suite - Connellsville
21.9 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Uniontown
5.2 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
16.9 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yough Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yough Plaza Motel

Address: Sherman Street, Ohiopyle State Park, Ohiopyle, PA 15470
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Ohiopyle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohiopyle
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ohiopyle State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yough Plaza Hotel Ohiopyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing