We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Bicycle Adventure Company”

Wilderness Voyageurs
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Ohiopyle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ohiopyle based full service outfitter, whitewater rafting on 15 rivers in Pennsylvania, Maryland and West Virginia. Youghiogheny River, Cheat River and Savage river rafting trips. Learn to kayak, mountain bike or fly fish with us in Ohiopyle. Inn to Inn Bike Tours throughout the US.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Great Bicycle Adventure Company”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I recently took Wilderness Voyageurs 6 day bike trip from Pittsburgh to Washington DC. What a great trip! The route follows the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Towpath trails, allowing you to ride more than 300 miles without ever encountering a car! Traveling in early October, we were treated to an amazing display of fall colors as well as abundant wildlife including deer, muskrats, turtles, a barred owl, and even a black bear cub.

Our Wilderness Voyageurs guides, Josh and Montana, were excellent - always at the ready to fix a flat or provide a snack. The included meals were delicious and filling and though the hotel accommodations ran the gamut from rustic to funky to elegant, they were always clean and comfortable. Overall, we were quite happy with the value of the trip versus the price we paid.

My only warning to anyone considering this trip is to train accordingly. This tour packs a lot of riding into 6 days, which might be a challenge for a casual cyclist. Recognizing this, Wilderness Voyageurs provides a training program in their registration packets, which I suggest prospective riders put to good use. We were glad we had trained so that we could ride every mile and really savor the ever changing scenery of this incredible bike adventure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoWheelExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    40
    6
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Biked Pittsburgh to DC”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Rode the Greater Allegheny Passage (GAP) Trail and C&O Towpath from Pittsburgh to DC. This was a supported ride with a group of 12. Wilderness Voyageurs provided two guides and a support van. The services provided (support, meals) were very good. The hotels were comfortable. Our trip took place during the government shutdown (which made life more difficult for the guides ... no easy trail access for the van, padlocked restrooms, no water). The guides did everything they could to make sure that the group was comfortable and to minimize the inconveniences of the shutdown. I would do this trip again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaK110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent outfitters”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I rafted the Lower Yough this summer, but before booking spent quite a bit of time researching the reviews of the various outfitters here on Tripadvisor. We narrowed it down to three, one of which was Wilderness Voyageurs. Ironically, the tipping point for us was one of the few bad reviews for Wilderness, back in June 2011. Check it out. It's priceless. Some couple cried and complained about getting wet and bumped around on a whitewater rafting trip, and couldn't bear the 'sarcasm' of their guide, Colin. What impressed us, even more than the absurdity of complaining about what sounded like a splendid time, was the thoughtful and detailed response of the owner.

Well, that did it for us, and we booked a middle morning guide-assisted trip (not fully guided). It was on a weekday, which meant a smaller group (four rafts as I recall), and we had three guides: Steve, John, and the lead guide, who was none other than Colin. My wife and I just laughed and high-fived. John guided in the lead raft, Steve was in a kayak, and Colin had the extra gear and lunch in another raft, and brought up the rear. So is Colin sarcastic? If you mean, 'has a wicked sense of humor', then yes. Is he a pro? Yes. Did we feel perfectly comfortable trusting our safety to him? Yes (he single-handedly saved our raft from a pretty spooky predicament). Would we do it all again? Yes. Will we request him specifically next time we go out? Yes. This goes for all three of our guides. Absolutely no compromise on safety, taught us what we needed to know, drilled into us the importance of what we were doing, and then did their jobs with aplomb and obvious enjoyment.

The ride was great. Had a good bit of rain the previous week, so the water was a bit high and fast, and made for some impressive whitewater. All the guides gave us clear direction on where and how to hit each rapid, and we had an absolute blast. At lunch the guides were courteous and quick to answer questions.

Even the weary ride back on the bus was great. John told jokes and gave a kind of guided tour of the countryside and points of interest, all seasoned with a heaping dose of humor. This was a great finishing touch, and really uncalled-for. No one would have minded a quiet ride back, and yet the guides went above and beyond to make a bus ride back an extra treat.

Do your own homework, of course. They've been at this a long time, and have plenty of credentials even without all these reviews. But for our part, they've earned our confidence, and we are already looking forward to booking with them our next time out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedanticus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rafting experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a great rafting experience with Wilderness Voyageurs on the lower Yough (class 3 rapids). Although we signed up for a guide escorted tour, due to a small crowd and higher than usual water levels (almost 4) we had a guide in our raft. Much nicer to have someone else calling the shots. Very thrilling time, they provided excellent safety instructions and we learned a lot about the river and Ohiopyle part thanks for our informative guide. Typically this type of tour costs more but I highly recommend springing for the extra cost if you plan to book.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mego1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Middle Yough - on our own”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We opted for an unguided run in a double duck for this trip, and it worked out very well. The water level was very high, which made a huge difference as we very rarely got hung up on rocks. It was obvious that lower water would have been much more difficult to raft here, both in terms of getting stuck and paddling effort.

We strongly recommend the double duck for couples (or any pair rafting alone). It's a very manageable vessel and much easier to avoid and/or recover from hang-ups than a full raft. You do get very wet, so that is a consideration in cold water, but this particular model did allow for sitting up on the back-rests if you prefer, and that was very doable on this stretch of the river.

We were dropped off with the small guided group but once we got familiar with the river we moved ahead on our own. The flow was fast and we had time constraints so we chose the unguided option to avoid being held back while kids swam or ate lunch. This part of the river is not overly challenging for experienced adults, but with the high water the rapids were very enjoyable. Just the right combination for fun without fear.

The only thing that fell short of a perfect rating were a couple of minor quibbles with the outfitter. In most ways they were very good. The guides were friendly and professional. There was ample parking and the bathrooms were not horrible, as they often are with rafting outfitters. They hold your keys for you, which is always appreciated. They have life vests is many sizes, which is also a plus. There did seem to be a lack of guidance upon arrival, and while preparing for the trip. We weren't sure what to do so we just kind of followed along with what others were doing, but they weren't too sure, either. The bad part was after we got out of the river. We had been asked not to "drag" the raft to avoid damage, but I'm not very strong at my best, and after 5 hours of paddling in cold water I found it nearly impossible to get the duck from the river, across the take out, and up the very steep embankment. We then discovered that we had a half mile hike back to the outfitters! After 5 hours of paddling. In soaking wet clothes, and with a couple of minor injuries. It turned out to be quite an ordeal. When we got back to the shop and picked up our keys they told us to check in our helmets and vests at the shed, but there was no one there to check them in with, so we were a little worried that they would charge us for taking them or something since they never got marked off on a list or anything. I would have gone back to the desk to follow up on that but honestly, all I could think about after that long walk was how much I needed to get to a bathroom and that I still needed to find dry clothes and some band-aids before I could do that.

All in all it was a fun day, and for those with kids I've got to say that this outfitter may be perfect for you. Before we split from the group it was obvious that the guide was really relating well with the kids and giving them a great rafting experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoosierGal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Voyageurs also viewed

 

Been to Wilderness Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing