We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lunch”

Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ohiopyle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe is a family owned business that features delicious bakery goods baked fresh daily and healthy gourmet made-to-order lunch sandwiches that are sure to impress! Schedule a visit to see us on your next trip to the Ohiopyle area. Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe can often prove to be a destination in itself. Planning a trip for your group? Meal options have been designed to keep your group fueled and on the move! Meals can also be specially packed for trips rafting on the river, hiking, or biking the GAP trail. Call for more details! DIRECTIONS.... FROM ROUTE 381 - you will find us perched atop a little hill directly across from the Main Falls parking lot. FROM BIKE TRAIL - head straight on Sherman Street after exiting bike trail, make a right at the Ohiopyle-Stewart Fire House, Ohiople Bakery is tucked back the alleyway to the left...White building with red signs! OHIOPYLE BAKERY & SANDWICH SHOPPE IS A NUT-FREE ESTABLISHMENT..Happy safe eating!
Fleetwood, PA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“excellent lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

had great sandwiches, creative, and delicious. I usually don't rave about sandwiches, but these were something special--fantastic bread and good choices of what to have on the bread. the pepperoni roll was great (so glad someone else recommended it--they sell out fast) We ate outdoors and enjoyed watching the people who strolled along on the road below us. It seemed a bit pricey for sandwiches, but the location, and the quality of food are both good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoldiegoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    49
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure in tiny Ohiopyle”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were passing through Ohiopyle and decided to check out the town, luckily we saw the Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe and stopped in for a late lunch.

As you'd expect from a bakery, the bread is their main focus and it's quite good; with a soft but flavorful moist crumb texture and enough crust to keep things interesting without overwhelming the sandwich.

We had chicken salad & provolone on roasted Italian garlic bread and turkey & Swiss on wheat. Both sandwiches were made to order and all ingredients seemed fresh and of high quality. The price was fair and the sandwiches were a reasonable size for someone with a normal appetite. Big eaters might want to order extra sides.

I'd love to have another of their sandwiches right now for lunch but I'm 4 hours away and no sandwich is worth that kind of drive. If you're anywhere near Ohiopyle you should definitely stop in and try this place out for yourself. Try the roasted Italian garlic bread, the garlic is subtle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gfc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spotted this place on our way back from kentuck knob and decided to give it a shot- we were VERY pleasantly surprised. The shop itself is very small on the inside but they do have a large eating deck area. The sandwiches were delicious and very well priced. The Italian garlic bread was INCREDIBLE.
For a quick decision stop it definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlsenkdNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,483 reviews
1,648 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,770 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were hungry for lunch and I spotted this place from the road - they have an outside area to eat and enjoy the views and lunch. We ordered sandwiches (I ordered turkey) and took them outside to enjoy and enjoy the views. Good sandwiches, tasty bread...

There was a cat from the neighborhood looking for hand-outs ....cute to watch.

Enjoyed uor lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, great service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wonderful sandwiches! We had lunch here and then did takeout for dinner. Small amount of seating inside, lots of seating outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Ohiopyle Bakery & Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing