We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doone's Inn at Oakmont
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakmont B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a beautifully decorated and golf themed Bed and Breakfast. Lorna "Doone" Irvin was a great hostess. The location is great, the rooms were ample, the fireplace in the room was a welcome amenity for a winter stay. I highly recommend this property for a stay or local meeting. The views of Oakmont Country Club across the street was super. We'll stay there again for our next visit with family in Pittsburgh. We loved the bird feeders on the grounds too.

Room Tip: You can chose a room with a porch, fireplace, or by bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay the Doone's in at Oakmont. Always a relaxing enjoyable time. The rooms are beyond comfortable, especially love the fireplace in the room and the plush towels. We enjoyed our coffe on the outdoor veranda in the morning surrounded by beautiful landscapping and a peaceful atmosphere. Lorna and her staff always makes us feel like family. We will most likely stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank djcolby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyssa D, Public Relations Manager at Doone's Inn at Oakmont, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Doone's Inn! We are always happy to see familiar faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sometimes a weekend getaway is all you need after a hectic work week. If this sounds like you then Doone's Inn at Oakmont is the place to go. From the comfortable and very clean accommodations to the very very delicious breakfast and the very helpful and friendly staff I was ready to tackle my job on Monday. I would recommend this Inn to everyone. Excellent.

Room Tip: Visit the small town of Oakmont - a lot of charm and places to shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunchlady100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this Inn on a Saturday last September. The owner was pleasant but the experience felt like we were staying with a casual acquaintance rather than at an inn where we paid $220+ for the room. Our room was comfortable and adequate, but the room door did not have a lock with a key. You could lock the door from inside, but when we went out for the evening, it could not be locked while we were out. We were the only guests so it really was not a concern, but we thought that was odd. We had said we'd be down for breakfast by 8:30. When we arrived in the dining room, we were met by her 2 dogs, albeit friendly ones, who sniffed around while we were seated. Coffee was good but breakfast was poor. Canned diced peaches in little dishes accompanied cold pancakes that evidently had been made in advance and just warmed up. But not. That was it. Meanwhile, she chatted up about how she has hosted all these golf pros who come to the nearby country club. We were not impressed and felt that it was not a good value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank OhioSilverLaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyssa D, Public Relations Manager at Doone's Inn at Oakmont, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear OhioSilverLaker,

Thank you for your review and concerns. Security of our guests is a high priority for Doone's Inn. We feel one way to add a sense of security to all guests is the door code for the guest entrance. Furthermore, keys are available upon request for each guestroom. Due to your review, we will be sure to be more vocal about this option if a guest desires it.

Thank you again for your input, and we greatly appreciate the time you took to review your stay.

Sincerely,

Doone's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Came to Oakmont to visit family. We found the Inn on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. The rooms are comfy and well decorated. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Lorna was extremely gracious and made us feel like we were home. We learned a lot about the history of the Oakmont country club from her. Will definitely stay here again next time we visit.

Donal and Kathleen
Florida

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

ive been admiring this place since it was first constructed. my husband and i stayed there for a wedding. it is beautifully decorated and rooms are lovely! however, i was not greeted by a smiling face and coffee in the am. i was greeted by a very friendly bichon and a very unhappy owner of the inn. she was not pleased the wedding party guests who stayed up late and the mess they left. the owner was ordering us around to clean up.. really? she even had my friend take garbage out for her. i was so put off that i didn't even stay for breakfast. i was home by 7am sunday morning. I can not believe how much we payed to stay there for 7 hours and was not even greeted with a smile in the am.

Room Tip: they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rooney66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna I, Guest Relations Manager at Doone's Inn at Oakmont, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

We greatly apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Our hope is to always make our guests feel comfortable and welcome in our establishment. We appreciate your honest response and, as a team, are always look for areas of improvement. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This a fantastic inn located on the edge of the hallowed grounds of oakmont country club. Lorna "Doone," who happens to be a former club champ at occ cooks a mean breakfast, and is always eager to share a strory. I'm pretty sure that she Lisa and Tina are all underwriters on the book of hospitality. I plan on making many more trips all the way from California just to visit this gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danflann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmont
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doone's Inn at Oakmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doone's Inn at Oakmont

Address: 300 Route 909, Oakmont, PA 15139
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Oakmont
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakmont
Price Range: $185 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the inn that visitors, business travelers, and golfers have made their home away from home in Oakmont. Doone’s Inn at Oakmont is renowned for comfort and hospitality, and located just a wedge shot away from one of the world’s great golf courses: Oakmont Country Club. Doone’s eight spacious rooms offer first-class accommodations with their own private bath en suite, including tub and shower. The closets are ample, and every room features a TV and wi-fi to keep guests connected. For the ultimate stay, ask about our private suite with its own living area. Start your day with our full, complimentary breakfast. Take advantage of our fully equipped exercise room. Practice on our private putting green. Or simply enjoy the abundance of outdoor spaces for quiet relaxation. The restaurants, sporting events, arts, and activities of downtown Pittsburgh are just 20 minutes away. And the village of Oakmont itself features many shops, restaurants, cafes, salons, and even its own bakery and movie theater. Plus, if you like antiquing, there’s an abundance of shops nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing