We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, classy, comfy... Great food and staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doone's Inn at Oakmont
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakmont B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This a fantastic inn located on the edge of the hallowed grounds of oakmont country club. Lorna "Doone," who happens to be a former club champ at occ cooks a mean breakfast, and is always eager to share a strory. I'm pretty sure that she Lisa and Tina are all underwriters on the book of hospitality. I plan on making many more trips all the way from California just to visit this gem.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danflann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Inn on three occasions during my travels to the Pittsburgh area. The place reminds me of the way things used to be. Outstanding personalized service and a true appreciation for my business.

I am not the type of person who usually reviews a business but since my last stay I felt compelled to find a way to really show my appreciation for the service I received.

Lorna (Inn Keeper) and the crew are a treat and the accommodations really provide a relaxing atmosphere.

I look forward to my next trip to Pittsburgh and returning to the Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Suprisingly we stayed on a Saturday night and I believe we were the only people there. Our room was nice and the bed was super comfortable. The fireplace was a nice addition on a cold night. Breakfast was fabulous. It is a little expensive but worth it if you want to relax.

Room Tip: Pick the room with the fireplace on the back side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemargarita59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I had a groupon to use for the Doone's Inn. Although we only live 30 miles from here, the drive to get here was a tad hectic. Once there, however, we were enveloped in peace and tranquility. The Inn is beautiful- our room was very cozy with a very comfortable bed and fireplace. We relaxed and went out to dinner in the cute town of Oakmont, then visited the famed Oakmont bakery for some excellent treats! The breakfast in the am was very good. The owner was very nice and made us feel welcome and was helpful with questions about things to do.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymooner15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This has been Doone's Inn for several years now, and we've stayed here twice while taking my son to the University of Pittsburgh. Right across the street from the famed Oakmont country club and golf course, the inn is a restful place -- but still only a 25-minute drive along the river from the Pitt campus. Owner/hostess Lorna makes a great breakfast and the rooms are good-sized. Bathrooms, like everything else, very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philadelphian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I've only been to a few bed and breakfasts in my life so it is hard for me to judge as a B&B. I am simply reviewing as a place to rest my mind and body for a night then refuel in the morning.

The innkeeper, Lorna, is super friendly and a great hostess. She has two dogs who also nicely greet you.

The room I stayed in was nice - not my taste, but to each their own. Golf-themed as this is across the street from the Oakmont Country Club.

Room basically felt clean, but there was a long hair on top of my sheets.

Room included private bathroom, electric fireplace, and flat-screen tv. Quiet and comfortable. Wi-fi internet access in sitting room on main floor worked just fine.

No afternoon/evening snack.

Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 9 am. If you have to leave for a tee time before 7:30 am, too bad - no breakfast for you. Seriously. I hear the breakfasts are fantastic, but I have no first hand knowledge. When you consider the rate (ours was over $200 a night incl. tax), you would think there would be a little more flexibility.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreatLakez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna I, Guest Relations Manager at Doone's Inn at Oakmont, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your input and have since updated some accommodations you mentioned. Since our establishment is a bed and breakfast, we primarily focus on breakfast. Though, we gladly offer small snacks and beverages located near each guestroom. Otherwise, we can always store or refrigerate any food guests may want to bring themselves. Also, the Innkeeper prefers to know a guest's schedule (playing golf, traveling, etc.) so she can best accommodate for breakfast. The hours of a sit-down breakfast are between 7:00-9:00am but she can gladly provide a quick breakfast to go if requested.

Again, we appreciate your review and we are always looking for ways to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2004

I've stayed here several times over the past few years and I always look forward to it. The rooms are well-equipped and comfortable. Some have fireplaces. The public spaces are pleasant. The management makes you feel very at-home.

  • Stayed: October 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmont
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Mills
6.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doone's Inn at Oakmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doone's Inn at Oakmont

Address: 300 Route 909, Oakmont, PA 15139
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Oakmont
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakmont
Price Range: $185 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the inn that visitors, business travelers, and golfers have made their home away from home in Oakmont. Doone’s Inn at Oakmont is renowned for comfort and hospitality, and located just a wedge shot away from one of the world’s great golf courses: Oakmont Country Club. Doone’s eight spacious rooms offer first-class accommodations with their own private bath en suite, including tub and shower. The closets are ample, and every room features a TV and wi-fi to keep guests connected. For the ultimate stay, ask about our private suite with its own living area. Start your day with our full, complimentary breakfast. Take advantage of our fully equipped exercise room. Practice on our private putting green. Or simply enjoy the abundance of outdoor spaces for quiet relaxation. The restaurants, sporting events, arts, and activities of downtown Pittsburgh are just 20 minutes away. And the village of Oakmont itself features many shops, restaurants, cafes, salons, and even its own bakery and movie theater. Plus, if you like antiquing, there’s an abundance of shops nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing