We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful piece of property

I had been meaning to go there for a few years, just went this week. Unfortunately it was when it... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
Larry B
Great visit with our Girl Scout Troop

As others have stated, parts of the botanic garden are still under construction. And while I also... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
shellebelle920
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
30
25
10
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
25
10
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lotus pond bird's nest peaceful walk log cabin japanese garden allegheny county enjoy nature great place to visit dogwood trees land pittsburgh pollution daffodils signage barn admission
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 72 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Our wedding was at the PBG on May 13th, 2017 and it was PHENOMANEL! The entire planning process was AMAZING and Dana is outstanding, as well as Ashley! We couldn't have chosen a more perfect venue then this. Everything was flawless from start to finish! I HIGHLY recommend the venue for a day trip AND an event of any kind!!! it was the best day ever.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank DRohal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

Trails set up well to provide a nice "rest" from the busy week. Not quite "there" yet - but moving well in developing out their plan.

A visit helps to support the project and local conservation efforts.

Great to help kids appreciate the "woods" and the outdoors.

Lake is peaceful. Enjoyed the fairy gardens and village - and came home with some great ideas for my own gardens.

Yes - needs some time. Some of the trails are not clearly marked - but it is not that wild that you are going to be lost in the woods. lol.

Take the family out. Support the project. Let the kids experience the woods!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank MaeTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello There!

Thank you very much for visiting and taking the time to share your thoughts on how we can improve the Garden. We're glad you had a positive experience with us, and hope you'll visit again!

-Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Having grown up in this area and being a "neighbor" of the Garden I can attest to the amount of work and foresight that has gone into developing this land. Yes, it is a more rustic garden at this time, but a beautiful testament to the Western Pennsylvania landscape and it's history. As a member, I appreciate the gem in our midst and would encourage others to explore it with an open mind.

The Garden also offers many educational opportunities such as gardening, beekeeping, yoga, Tai Chi and others.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank valorie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Marketing Associate at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Hello!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of the Pittsburgh Botanic Garden. We always appreciate hearing feedback from all of our visitors, especially our members! We hope you will continue to get the most out of your membership by visiting often, and taking advantage of some of our great upcoming programs.

Visit again soon!

-Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

This relatively new space in southwestern Pennsylvania is a treasure and will continue to grow into that description even more each season. Built on much land that has been reclaimed from previous strip mining, the work being done here by staff is noteworthy. In addition, the land and buildings there are beautiful and range from fields and pastures to woodlands and ponds. It should be mentioned that there are 3 miles of trails available; some of which are handicap accessible and all are dog-friendly.

The main building, which houses both the admissions area on the bottom level and an event space on the top, are all gorgeous and cozy. The event area, coupled with an outdoor patio and fireplace, are all beautiful for weddings and the likes. The chicken coup and accompanying pasture land is picturesque and is one of the things that first catches your eye when you first arrive.

The gardens are at their peak throughout the warmer months, but even in the winter, you can see the progress that the staff is making in establishing new gardens, trails, and educational spots throughout the property. This is an enchanting place that is suitable for a solitary walk, a couple's date, or an educational trip for a school group or family.

I would recommend regular visits, so you can appreciate the work and knowledge that is being put into this important space. It surely will continue to only get better as it grows through the community's support.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank lbmit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Marketing Associate at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Hi Laurel.

Thank you for your kind review and detailed description of our work out here at the Garden. We strive every day to turn this once abandoned mine land into a gorgeous site for all to visit!

-Kevin F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Visited for the first time & really enjoyed the tranquility of the trails and stopping/resting spots. I can appreciate all the work that is being done to transform this area into a wonderful attraction. Just a great place to enjoy the outdoors on a beautiful fall day. I can't wait to return in the spring!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank PeaceDove23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Hi PeaceDove23,

We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back!

- Kevin F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews