We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful walk in the woods!”

Pittsburgh Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Oakdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pittsburgh Botanic Garden inspires people to value plants, garden design and the natural world by cultivating plant collections of the Allegheny Plateau and temperate regions, creating display gardens, conducting educational programs and conserving the environment.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

I purchased a Groupon to visit the Pittsburgh Botanic Garden and visited in May with my 12-year-old daughter, husband, and parents. We got a map and the laminated self-guided tour packet from the visitor's center and set off on our hike. The map was imperfect - husband says they "need a better cartographer." It did help to keep us from getting lost so I guess it was good enough. We visited the Dogwood area first and I was really disappointed. The path took us through some rough looking areas infested with every kind of week I try to keep out of my own flower beds. It wasn't until we reached the Woodland Trail that we were won over by the place. It's really not a "botanic" garden, more of a nature preserve. There are multiple surprise areas of interest in the woods - a giant bird's nest, a little stone house, dwellings made from giant tree trunks, and a bunch of fairy houses. Everyone enjoyed the Lotus Pond which has a series of stepping stones at one end where you can carefully cross from one side of the water to the other. We enjoyed a moment on the floating dock and spotted a giant bull frog and a whole lot of healthy bluegill from the bridge. Everything that's been done from the visitor's center bathroom to the well maintained path is absolutely first class. I look forward to returning someday to see future improvements. This was really a fun way to spend time together with the extended family.

Thank Joey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lotus pond"
in 12 reviews
"stepping stones"
in 3 reviews
"bird's nest"
in 3 reviews
"log cabin"
in 3 reviews
"apple orchard"
in 3 reviews
"event space"
in 2 reviews
"fairy houses"
in 2 reviews
"allegheny county"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy nature"
in 2 reviews
"mother's day"
in 2 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"dogwood"
in 7 reviews
"plants"
in 9 reviews
"paths"
in 6 reviews
"pbg"
in 2 reviews
"pittsburgh"
in 14 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2017

Our wedding was at the PBG on May 13th, 2017 and it was PHENOMANEL! The entire planning process was AMAZING and Dana is outstanding, as well as Ashley! We couldn't have chosen a more perfect venue then this. Everything was flawless from start to finish! I HIGHLY recommend the venue for a day trip AND an event of any kind!!! it was the best day ever.

Thank DRohal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

Trails set up well to provide a nice "rest" from the busy week. Not quite "there" yet - but moving well in developing out their plan.

A visit helps to support the project and local conservation efforts.

Great to help kids appreciate the "woods" and the outdoors.

Lake is peaceful. Enjoyed the fairy gardens and village - and came home with some great ideas for my own gardens.

Yes - needs some time. Some of the trails are not clearly marked - but it is not that wild that you are going to be lost in the woods. lol.

Take the family out. Support the project. Let the kids experience the woods!

Thank MaeTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Public Relations Manager at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello There!

Thank you very much for visiting and taking the time to share your thoughts on how we can improve the Garden. We're glad you had a positive experience with us, and hope you'll visit again!

-Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

Having grown up in this area and being a "neighbor" of the Garden I can attest to the amount of work and foresight that has gone into developing this land. Yes, it is a more rustic garden at this time, but a beautiful testament to the Western Pennsylvania landscape and it's history. As a member, I appreciate the gem in our midst and would encourage others to explore it with an open mind.

The Garden also offers many educational opportunities such as gardening, beekeeping, yoga, Tai Chi and others.

Thank valorie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Marketing Associate at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Hello!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of the Pittsburgh Botanic Garden. We always appreciate hearing feedback from all of our visitors, especially our members! We hope you will continue to get the most out of your membership by visiting often, and taking advantage of some of our great upcoming programs.

Visit again soon!

-Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017

This relatively new space in southwestern Pennsylvania is a treasure and will continue to grow into that description even more each season. Built on much land that has been reclaimed from previous strip mining, the work being done here by staff is noteworthy. In addition, the land and buildings there are beautiful and range from fields and pastures to woodlands and ponds. It should be mentioned that there are 3 miles of trails available; some of which are handicap accessible and all are dog-friendly.

The main building, which houses both the admissions area on the bottom level and an event space on the top, are all gorgeous and cozy. The event area, coupled with an outdoor patio and fireplace, are all beautiful for weddings and the likes. The chicken coup and accompanying pasture land is picturesque and is one of the things that first catches your eye when you first arrive.

The gardens are at their peak throughout the warmer months, but even in the winter, you can see the progress that the staff is making in establishing new gardens, trails, and educational spots throughout the property. This is an enchanting place that is suitable for a solitary walk, a couple's date, or an educational trip for a school group or family.

I would recommend regular visits, so you can appreciate the work and knowledge that is being put into this important space. It surely will continue to only get better as it grows through the community's support.

Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BotanicGarden, Marketing Associate at Pittsburgh Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Hi Laurel.

Thank you for your kind review and detailed description of our work out here at the Garden. We strive every day to turn this once abandoned mine land into a gorgeous site for all to visit!

-Kevin F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pittsburgh Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Pittsburgh Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing