We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant lunch stop”

Front Street Station
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Catonsville, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stop for lunch at Front Street Station every year on our vacation trip. It's clearly a local favorite, convenient to Sunbury, Lewisburg and Selinsgrove. We enjoy the cheerful service, and the outdoor tables are a pleasant spot, with a view of the railroad tracks and the cliffs of Shikellamy State Park across the river. The menu has excellent luncheon choices, and don't overlook the daily specials. On our latest visit we had a delicious Hungarian mushroom soup . The building is a historic 1910 Pennsylvania Railroad passenger station. The railroad tracks are a remnant of a big classification yard used by the PRR in the heyday of coal and iron ore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“routine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

as previous reviews have indicated, this restaurant is ok but nothing to rave about. it has a busy bar and patio seating when the weather cooperates. inside the bext seating overlooks some railroad tracks.

soups have been good. seafood items are less than wonderful as is usual in north central pennsylvania. i recently had a strip steak. it was tasty although cooked a bit beyond my requested medium rare. i didnt send it back because it was still enjoyable. service can be stretched thin - not enough servers for the various seating areas but not enough customers to increase the staff.

lunch seems a better value with better service since the bar is less active and servers have more time to provide more attention.

all in all, an ok spot, just dont have too high expectations, although the food is better than it was a few years ago and they are strving to have more interesting items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 365ekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best in town, but it's a small town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an interesting building full of history. But while the food is good, it's nothing special. Sometimes the food and service are above good, but other times it's way below.
I'd recommend it, but I'd just say not to expect an awesome dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not what I expected. Somewhat let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here in the past & was usually impressed with their quality of food & portions, however after my last meal there I won't be returning any time soon. This was supposed to be a celebration with a few friends, our salad were plain nothing more than lettuce and a slice or two if onion. The fries were bad there was no backed potato available that night. The oysters said they were fresh but did not taste it and only a few on my dish, was still hungry when I left after paying a hefty price. Big dissapointment. Friends were not impressed with their meals either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stray77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food from simple materials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were just passing through and not expecting to find a quality restaurant on a road trip, but The Front Street Station managed to surprise us. The food was delicious, simply prepared, simply presented, inexpensive, good portions, excellent service. What more could you ask?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Station also viewed

 

Been to Front Street Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing