We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romano's Macaroni Grill
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I haven't been for a while but I used to enjoy going to the Macaroni Grill. Went to my first one in Chapel Hill, NC and used to go to the one in Willow Grove. Either the quality has taken a backslide or this is a poor exemplar. Service was terrible, food was bland, portions were disappointing. Trying to decide between "poor" or "terrible." Our waiter failed to serve bread until the third request. It only took two to get the silverware. Chris was so impressed with the way that he wrote his name upside down I guess he figured he would rest on his laurels. Appetizers were small and not very appetizing. Taste of the meatballs was good but they were served in a small custard cup with a wooden skewer. Five meatballs and the waiter recommended this for sharing. Caesar salad was mostly just lettuce, no grated cheese just bland. I had the make your own pasta and have never tasted a less flavorful artichoke (most flavorful was on the Amalfi Coast). The rest of our party had the same impression of their meals. A 750 ml bottle of Kendall Jackson Chardonnay was $38.00. So that was no bargain either. Disappointing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Somewhere slightly above Olive Garden but below Carrabba's”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nothing sticks out about Romano's. It is good decent Americanized Italian food.

They come out with break and an olive oil / spice mixture that is a little different and the servers write their names upside down on the paper table cover...

Other than that it is all middle of the road.

Just a half a step up from the Italian fare at Olive Garden, but Olive Garden has a leg up with price and specials (about 20 percent cheaper) and all you can eat soup / salad (watch the dressing for calories though!)

If you want average food for an average price and are in the area ....this is a sure bet. Nothing you will write home about though ...(nothing to say OMG it tasted SO good or OMG GROSS!)

Safe bet...although Olive Garden is only down the road as is Uno's and Bacco's)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always good food.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went on for Valentines day. We love to go here for something special. Our food was very good & the waitress was very nice....Although she never came back to ask if we wanted more drinks or bread. Not sure maybe it was to busy for her. We will go back again though because normally servie is great!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Poor food safety standards”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stopped in to check out what this place had to offer and the menu was promising. Our server was pleasant. Everything spiraled downhill when our entrees arrived. I ordered a shrimp and scallops in a red sauce over thin spaghetti which was good until I chomped down shrimp tail. That kinda ruined the dish for me and thats when the most horrifying situation occured. My wife had ordered a clam dish which she was enjoying for about two minutes when to our horror all the clamsexcept for about four were still closed tight, which is extremely dangerous to serve as the clams are dead. We brought this to the attention of our server who was very apologetic and quickly remedied the problem. The server brought out a replacement dish and again the clams on top were open and the ones on the bottom were closed. One time no problem but a second time is pure ignorrance and disgusting on behalf of the kitchen staff. I am grateful my wife didn't get sick and shocked the management team in this place didn't take the gravity of this matter more seriously. We will never spend money in this chain ever again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LDdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best around Montgomeryville and surrounding areas.”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Great food-the chicken parmesan is fantastic and it is only $13 and the portions are tremendous and includes spaghetti and lots of tasty Italian bread with excellent Caesar salad for $3. Waitress/bartender Shannon is great. Deserts are fantastic and so reasonable. Why isn't the restaurant and bar packed every night?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing