We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joseph Ambler Inn
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Montgomeryville(North Wales)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$139
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Montgomeryville)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
290
100
45
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
290
100
45
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrounds are beautifulthe pubthe barncountry breakfastspa tubfood was amazingnext morningan overnight stayromantic getawayvalentine's daywonderful weddingcharming placemy fiancechecking inscallopslobster rollthis past weekend
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 463 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went for dinner with two colleagues - excellent food! We all had excellent entrees, well cooked and presented. The shared dessert was also excellent! Have eaten here several times over a period of years, and food always excellent. Haven't stayed overnight for some time as I personally don't enjoy a cutesy olde-worlde ambience when on business! However the JAI is always welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding and had a great time. The grounds are nicely laid out and the location in relation to the area is perfect. The food is pretty decent so there are few complaints there (except for breakfast which was utterly disappointing) and the lack of coffee makers in the room meant you had to go to the front desk to queue up for what took an awfully long time for one cup of coffee. The bar was decent, although closing at 11pm on a Saturday night with a packed bar left many people unhappy and off to find other options. The staff was helpful throughout the stay and accomodating to such a large party that we took over almost the entire hotel. It does give you a boutique type feeling as it strives to a median between a bed and breakfast and a hotel, without being too commercialized or too over-the-top old-world. The rooms can really be hit or miss, in style, comfort and appearance. Ours was on one of the top floors and keeping with the style of the building it was awkwardly set-up and just rather odd in design (especially with a miniscule TV in the wall halfway across the room that couldn't be seen unless you were hanging out of the bed). The AC was a big issue in our room but nothing could be done even as we had it cranked up (an incredibly warm time of year). Otherwise the room itself was ok. Other people staying there with the wedding had nicer rooms and some had less desireable rooms, but all in all nothing was overly terrible. Its not a bad choice for the area and a nice spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landgraf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Joseph Ambler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

We at the Joseph Ambler Inn greatly appreciate that you took the time to write a review from your last stay. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience. I should your comments about breakfast to our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef so that they are aware of the issue. As for the rooms, we do have certain restrictions on design and layout since we are working with historic buildings.

Unfortunately there is nothing that we can do about the bar closing at 11pm. We have a residential hotel liquor license and the state requires that we close at 11pm. Staying open any later, even if they bar is packed, would put us in violation with the Liquor Control Board and we could lose our license as a result. Large parties should try and coordinate with our Front Desk Sales Staff; we may be able to set you up with a Whole House Agreement where you can rent out one of the buildings. Groups that contract a Whole House Agreement can use the common areas in that building from 11pm-7am for an "after party." That allows guests to continue to party after the bar is closed or their event is over. I know this won't help you as reviewer, but I hope it is helpful for guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I joined the JAI for the Wine Dinner! What a great time! Stags' Leap Winery paired a spectacular dinner with some of their best wine. The happy hour with appetizers was held outside in a beautiful setting. The amazing dinner was held in the newly expanded Ballroom. We chose to stay overnight in one of the rooms that were offered. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. The Front Desk helped with any questions we had about our room amenities. The breakfast the next morning was great. This historic site set back away from the hustle and bustle was just what we needed after a long work week. We will definitely be back! Look for the upcoming events on the website and on FB. I would love to see some of the people we met back again for the next one!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janiezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The food was delicious, staff very helpful, grounds were beautiful and atmosphere was laid back.

Would definitely eat or stay here again with the wife.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brtst11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently stayed in the Skippack Room in the barn/restaurant building. I wish i could say the room was nice, but it was a dump. The carpet was worn out, the wall and ceiling paint was bubbled and riddled with marks, and furniture was ready for Goodwill. Even the framed pictures on the walls were stained (why? Is that suppose to add character?). When you don't want to sit in the chair in your room that's a bad sign. Only 2 small shabby lamps were provided in the room, although the bathroom did have adequate lighting. Overall I've been in more luxurious dorm rooms. One point I want to make clear; this is not a housekeeping problem, this is a management problem. Previous writers about the heat and air situation are correct. You can have one or the other, but the Inn controls which you get. Save yourself the misery and stay at the Golden Plough in Lahaska.

Room Tip: Either get their best room or stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RicknAnn_1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews