We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Grandfather's Idea of a Diner”
Review of The Metropolitan

The Metropolitan
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in North Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Metropolitan American Diner and Bar is not what it sounds if you are familiar with diners in PA or NJ. While diners have been upgrading their atmosphere fro years, the Metro is a cut above an upgrade. It is a whole new experience. The food is very nearly fine dining while the atmosphere is comfortable and upscale casual. And, of course, the food is among the best I have ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hello Carl S.

I cannot thank you enough for being such a great fan of the Metro and for the incredibly kind words!

I'm very happy to read that you've enjoyed your visits with us and I look forward to seeing again very soon.

Warm regards,

John G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 216 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our 3rd time dining here, and once again the food and service were excellent, and the portions are generous. The pricing is also very fair.

Our only issue is that the 1/2 price happy hour is only available at the bar or in the tavern. We love to dine outside, and had to keep running back inside to the bar to get our drinks, during dinner. We're not cheap, but why pay more that you have to?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Hi TDS1959,

Thank you so much for joining us a few weeks ago and my sincerest apologies for not writing to you sooner.

Thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed both the food and service.

Thanks again and I hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

John G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our groups lst encounter with the Metropolitan. We were plesantly surprised by the appearance of the building, inside and out as it looked more like an upscale restaurant rather than a diner and bar.

The service was cordial and the quality and quantity of food was above average. The only suggestion I would make is to indicate if an item is spicy on the menu or have your staff indicate so when patron is ordering.

Extensive menu in all categories and they also have smaller plate sections, sharing plates, lunch and breakfast served all day and early birds. We all agreed that we would be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi dotanHatfield_Pa,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and also for taking the time to post such a great review.

I love your reference on never leaving hungry, we believe that good food and good portion sizes provides the value that our guests appreciate!

Thank you again and I hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

John G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is good and very plentiful with attentive service. I enjoy each visit here. It has a nice bar area and pleasant dining areas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi David D.

Thank you for being such a great fan of the Metro and for taking the time to write a great review!

I am very happy that you've enjoyed your visits with us and am looking forward to your return.

Thank you again,

John G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Metropolitan will continue to be at the top of our list for a favorite hotspot. Our service is always great, the food never disappoints and the atmosphere is perfect. You have the best lounge and Happy Hour by far and the staff is great and always smiling! We never have to wait long and we always bump in to friends or meet new friends every time we visit. Don't change a thing, you keep us coming back and we love your rewards program too! Thank You!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvgetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hi Luvgetaways,

Thank you so much for being such Big fans of the Metro and for writing such an incredible review!!

We are in this business because we truly enjoy making people happy and we were so touched after reading your review and knowing that we have been able to do just that!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

John G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing