We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd return just for the sunsets and isolation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Virginia's Beach Campground
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“I'd return just for the sunsets and isolation”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The reviews for this campground are all over the place depending on what the reviewer chooses to focus on, usually revolving around what they think of the "beach".

Getting to Virginia's Beach Campground will take you through some scenic and rural parts of Pennsylvania. The gravel road completes the isolation and, if you are fortunate, you will have a campsite with a commanding view of Lake Erie. It is a short walk to the shoreline, but if you are looking for a place to set out your beach chair, this is probably not what you are looking for. OTOH, if you set out your chairs around your fire ring and get comfortable while you watch the sunset, you are going to have a nice evening.

The grounds were pretty with a small catch/release pond for your kids to fish. The store was a bit spartan.

Overall, the view of the lake and sunset alone was worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doctorbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Virginia's Beach. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our sunsets are rated #2 in the world behind Hawaii. Please allow us to show you to a spot for your beach chairs, if our beach is rocky, you can take a short walk down the shore to find a sandy area. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you want to camp on Lake Erie and want to interact with the lake, not the best. The brochures and website make it look SO much. Nicer than it is. Beaches are filled with debris. Tons and tons of dead rotted fish that smell terribly cover the shores here. No sandy beach like pics. All rocky debris. Mud pit if it rains. Not allowed to put a mat outside camper door so mud everywhere. No clotheslines so can't dry clothes. No laundry facilities and ONE buggy dirty bathroom in whole camp! The people who own and manage really don't want to be bothered with you. Take your money at check in and forget hospitality. Very very strict rules. (Not necessarily bad)
The good part is the sound of water at night, the view over the bluff and it is quiet. Fishing, well way too buggy. Not a campsite for planned activities. Have to drive at least 30 minutes to get anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Momof3rugrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Virginia’s Beach. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. You must have not seen the description of our beach on the website, we try to inform campers so that they know what to expect. Lake Erie is a natural lake and sometimes during a storm dead fish may wash up and sand may be removed or deposited. We do ask that you don’t leave grass mats down for your entire stay; they will kill the grass if not picked up occasionally. There is no rule against clothes lines. You probably stayed in our lake view camping area so you might not have realized that our bath house is located at the top of the hill in the tent camping area, we have 3 women’s showers, 3 men’s showers, 3 women’s toilets, and 3 men’s toilets, in addition to the outhouse that you are probably referring to. Actually we care very much that all of our guests have an enjoyable, relaxing, and safe camping experience. We apologize for any misunderstanding or lack of communication during your visit, and invite you to give us another chance. If you call before your visit, we will let you know what the beach is like at the time, although we can’t guarantee it won’t change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Enjoyed this quiet campground in rural PA on the shores of Lake Erie. If you are looking for a ton of amenities and activities, this is not the place for you. But it is quiet and friendly with large,flat grassy RV sites and beautiful sunsets. My older boys enjoyed the beach and its rocks, but if you have very small ones it is not an ideal swimming beach. The campground is out in the country, so we enjoyed bike riding on the roads to the local farm stand and to the candy store nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank czang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Virginia's Beach. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We always are happy to have families visit and enjoy the beach. Thank you for posting the great pictures. We look forward to your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have been returning to this campground every summer for several years and always enjoyed our stay. We have tried the rustic cabins in the wood, the more secluded campsites in the wood, our favorite campsite that overlooks the lake, and the cottages by the lake. The tent sites in the woods are far from the RVs and they are your best bet if you do not like hearing your neighbor's TV and their electronic gadgets and want a rustic campground experience surrounded by the trees. They are well spaced from one another. On the other hand, the lakeside cottages, although close to the RVs and in a ususally more crowded area of the campground, are very comfortable, well equipped and offer beautiful views of the sunsets. There is also easy access to the beach and because you are essentially on a buff, you can see your kids playing below in the water or on the rocks. In the middle of the range there are rustic cabins by the woods, that are also far from the RVs and have beds and in some cases a bath. The staff can be grumpy, particularly if you do not follow the speed limits, which are very strictly enforced, and they do not have a problem yelling at you if you go over the 5 mph speed limit. If you have small kids you actually appreciate that. They can also be very helpful. For instance, we had accidentally left grocery in a cabin and they had kept it for us so we could use it a few weeeks later when we returned, although we actually forgot to ask them to do so. They also quickly fix broken items. The bathrooms are reasonably clean. The beach is a small strip with sand on the west side and rocks on the east side, but it is charming. The kids usually find the smooth, flat and interestingly shaped rocks fun to play with. There are several amenities nearby. We particularly like the huge sandy Conneaut beach just across the State line in Ohio and 30 minutes away, the Erie Buff State Park with its beautiful bike trails and unspoiled vegetation, just 10 minutes away, and the Erie Presque Isle peninsula with the gorgeous beaches and trails. The kids love the amazing candy store strategically placed on the only access road to the campground.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If nothing else, I would recommend staying here for a weekend just to enjoy the amazing, cotton-candy-like sunsets. This campground was fun. My father, sister, and I went a few weeks ago and booked 2 sites in the woods area. We are tent people, not camper people, so I was very happy to be away from the campers. The "beach" was only yards away and an easy walk down from the camp site. We actually drove to Presque Isle each day for a cleaner more sandy beach area, however, we were sure to get back each night for the sunset. The owners are VERY strict about the 5-10mph speed limit. This seemed like a very family-friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The view is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

We camped in secluded area. It's was a perfect "secluded." We had neighbors, but they weren't very close. The sites and fire pits are very clean. In fact, the whole campground is very clean. It's nice and quiet, very relaxing. The beach was within walking distance, as were the showers.
My husband and oldest son spent plenty of time fishing off the pier. Myself and the youngest stayed on the beach. It was rocky, but Lake Erie is rocky!
The onsite store doesn't have much, but there is a small town 7 miles away. My biggest complaint is the showers. You had to push a button to get the water. You cannot control the temperature or the flow. The water shuts off quickly, and you have to hit the button again. It took forever to wash my hair and get clean.
The owners are very friendly! (so is everyone else!) They take the time to explain where everything is, and answer any questions you may have. She also has a nice map with everything listed on the back. We look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkLover98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We returned today from an enjoyable 5-night stay at Virginia's Beach Campground. We had never stayed there before and rented one of the cabins on a cliff that overlooks Lake Erie. The views of the lake were spectacular and we watched sunsets every night while sitting around our campfire. The cabin was a short walk to the beach that was accessed via a dirt road or you can go to another part of the beach by walking down stairs. The cabin is small but was clean and had room for everything we brought for the week. We made use of the full-sized refrigerator and stove-top. Our son made use of the loft area for his own living space. The screened front porch provided a great place to eat our meals and enjoy the lake views although a picnic table is also provided outside the cabin. We watched several eagles and blue heron fly along the shore throughout the week. The campground has many "permanent" sites as well as nightly campsite rentals and everyone we met was friendly. The campground is clean and quiet--the owners strive to keep it a family- oriented place. When we dropped off our key we inquired about other possible dates for a short return visit later this summer because it was one of the most enjoyable vacations we've experienced!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Springfield
20.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
20.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
17.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
19.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
16.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia's Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Beach Campground

Property: Virginia's Beach Campground
Address: 352 Holliday Rd, North Springfield, PA 16430-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Springfield
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Springfield
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing