We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67)
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

My stay was only an overnight, but the room was clean and well-kept. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is a little unusual ... although it is on a major road, it sits back from the road and the sign wasn't really easy to see. You have to go down a small driveway right off the turnpike ramp.

I didn't have occasion to use the business center or fitness room but noted that they were available. The breakfast selection was standard for Holiday Inn Express ... eggs, sausage, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, etc. Not super fancy but plenty of choices to get you started on your day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brewergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    34
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

We arrived here and had to take a back road to reach the hotel. It isn't advertised and the folks on the turnpike aren't alot of help. Needless to say when we checked in, we discovered we had a room, the customer service was lacking, we felt like we were more like a bother instead of a guest. Needless to say, I spent 20 minutes trying to find an ice machine, found one on the first floor, it didn't work. Didn't even bother asking for help. The hot tub in our room didn't work, until we tinkered with the system. The bed is hard as a rock, we're thinking we're checking out tomorrow instead of our visit for 3 days. Our recommendation is for the price, stay at the Hampton Inn in nearby Greensburg

  • Liked — free wireless internet
  • Disliked — no ice machine that worked
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank quinonespm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We arrived late in the evening on our way from Iowa to Virginia. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. She tried to order a pizza from a local place, but they had already quite delivering. She was still on duty in the morning & just as pleasant. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast... especially liked the cinnamon rolls.

The room was very clean & the beds comfortable. We couldn't get our wireless laptop to work in our room, but didn't really care & didn't ask anyone about it. Our daughter used the free computer/internet on the main floor to check in with friends.

We had no problem finding the hotel when we exited the turnpike. As we paid we just asked the tollbooth operator & he pointed to a driveway just yards away. We came up the same driveway in the morning to get back on the turnpike.

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly, Convenient
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OrangeRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Was in town for a family function, and needed a "crash pad" for the night. Had to call this hotel about 9:00p on a Friday night, and considered myself fortunate to obtain a room.

This hotel is in kind of a tricky location to get to from Exit 67 on the Pennsylvania turnpike. One must go westbound, turn around at one of the shopping plazas perhaps a mile away, and enter the road to the hotel from Route 30 eastbound. Other than that, the location is ideal, and typically, this hotel is booked solid owing to the Holiday Inn Express brand.

Recent development in the immediate hotel area put the very existence of this hotel in doubt, so the ownership allowed some fair wear and tear to occur on the rooms. I'm not sure if the development issues have been settled. In any event, this hotel has the makeovers done to it under the Holiday Express initiative of new bed furnishings, and some bathroom renovations. The wallpaper and carpet show some minor signs of wear, though.

We stayed in a two double bed no-smoking room. It was scrupulously clean, but utterly average otherwise. High speed internet service was available at the room desk. Another family member, who is in the Priority Club affinity group, found his rooms upgraded to ones with jacuzzis in them. I visited them in their rooms, and found those rooms well-furnished. They seem, in my opinion, most likely worth it for the road warrior with the affinity group card. The first floor has a small room with a couple of exercise bicycles, and also a desktop computer with internet access and printer. There's also a small conference room.

The continental breakfast bar stays open until 10:00a on weekends, which was not noted on any of the literature in the rooms, or at the desk. I found it to be the typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast bar, with a variety of fresh fruit, cereals, and cinnamon rolls available. Sausage gravy and biscuits were available from a crockery cooker, and also hard-boiled eggs. Nothing here to write home about. Solid but not spectacular service.

I would stay here again. The thing which stands out in my mind about this hotel is that it was (on several visits) scrupulously clean. Obviously, this is important, and should be rewarded somehow, probably by patronage! However, do not expect particularly spectacular service from this hotel. You will obtain solid, competent service from the staff, and I would suggest one would obtain the value one pays for the room.

  • Liked — Scrupulously clean
  • Disliked — Getting on the access road may be tricky for out-of-towners
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_Damon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Huntingdon
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Huntingdon-Irwin
Hampton Inn & Suites North Hunti...
#1 of 3 in North Huntingdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greensburg
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Greensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67)
Address: 8400 Route 30, PA Tpk Exit 67, North Huntingdon, PA 15642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Huntingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Stay Smart' and be our guest at the Holiday Inn Express of Irwin.Our hotel is conveniently located right off exit 67 of the PA Turnpike.You'll get an 'express start' with our complimentary breakfast bar featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and Smart Roast coffee. Try our delicious new hot foods, too. Our business center and free wireless Internet will keep you in touch with the rest of the world. The Holiday Inn Express is located just miles from Stratigo's, Banquets Unlimited, and Lakeview Lounge. Nearby golf courses include: Carradam, Irwin Country Club, Valley Green, Norvelt Golf Club, and Mt. Odin. Enjoy nearby Idlewild Park, Kenny Wood Park, and Sandcastle Water Park. Shop at nearby Westmoreland and Monroeville Malls. Irwin offers many restaurants such as hometown favorites Teddy's and Pasqualino's. Visit historic Bushy Run Battlefield and Fort Ligonier while you're here. Local businesses include Extrude Hone, UPMC Medical Center, Mercy Jeannette Hospital, Comtrol, Delallo's, F C Meyer, New England Motor Freight , Penn Med Consultants, Snyder, Rodgers, Ott, and Shirley's Funeral Homes. The Holiday Inn Express of Irwin is located 25 miles from downtown Pittsburgh; home of PNC Park, the Carnegie Science Center, Heinz Field, University of Pittsburgh, and Seton Hill College. We look forward to having you as our guest in our family oriented hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Irwin (PA TPK EXIT 67) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Irwin (Pa Tpk Exit 67) Hotel North Huntingdon
Holiday Inn Irwin
Irwin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing