We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Round #3 and plan on coming back for #4.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North East
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Round #3 and plan on coming back for #4.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Well, we completed our 3rd stay at Contented acres (April 5th) and, once again, we really enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and yet another great breakfast. Norma and Ted are great hosts and make you feel right at home. We've said it all before in past reviews, so we'll simply say it's a great place to stay when visiting the Erie area. It will always be our first choice. Thanks Norma and Ted. Looking forward to trip #4!!!!

L & D.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms. Upstairs is the most private and always our first choice. Downstairs is very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We saw Contented Acres had a high satisfaction rating on Trip Advisor and decided to stay there on a recent trip to Erie,PA. It was a very comfortable experience with our own separate upstairs suite: large room with a queen bed and a single bed, fridge, and TV. Breakfast was warmly catered by Ted...who made so much good food it could have lasted us all day! Equally welcoming and enthusiastic is his wife Norma. Two friendly cats were also present! Thank you for a very nice overnight experience.

Room Tip: the upstairs suite is definitely the best room of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madforsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contented_Acres, Owner at Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Just a note of appreciation for responding with a great review - Looking forward to seeing you again - Thanks again , Ted & Norma
PS - Hope all went well with your son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited this B&B this past September and had a very pleasant weekend stay. Our inlaws live nearby and the addition of a 4th child prompted us to look outside the family home for lodging during our recent stay. I found this B&B only minutes away, and it was the best rated in the area by Trip Advisor contributors. They weren't exaggerating. We felt like family as we shared breakfast (our request) with Ted & Norma, and attended church with her on Sunday morning (again at our request). She belongs to the quaintest little church in a little town in nearby New York State. If you like quiet country charm and warm, friendly hosts then this is your place!

Room Tip: There are only to rooms. The upstairs room is like a "mother-in-law" suite which virtuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contented_Acres, Owner at Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi folks
Just a note to let you know how much we appreciate your review. Norma was very pleased that you attended church with her. (first time guest wanted to go) Thanks for taking the time to submit a review -
Hope to see you another time

Ted & Norma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second stay at Contented Acres and Ted and Norma welcomed us as old friends to their place in the vineyards of North East, Pennsylvania. We made ourselves at home in their beautiful house and at their table. The breakfasts were generous and delicious, with farm fresh eggs, home baked muffins and jam (Norma's special recipe) and more. The rooms are ample and connected to a comfortable "family room" for guests. Ted and Norma are very accommodating and attentive hosts. It's a lovely setting to experience the sights and sounds of the vineyard at harvest time.

Room Tip: There are two rooms connected to a large family room. The upstairs room is a little larger, but both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contented_Acres, Owner at Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Mary & Mike
Thanks for the great review - Really enjoyed your company - Looking forward to next "Wine Fest" - Wishing you "Happy Holidays" and a great year ahead!!

oxoxoxox Norma & Ted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lyme, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second time at Contented Acres. Ted and Norma treat us like family. The breakfasts were perfect, just what we needed before a day of bike riding. We especially loved Norma's jam (a mix of raspberry, blueberry and strawberry). The rooms were quite comfortable, and the front common room gave us plenty of space to relax. You couldn't ask for a better place or more gracious hosts. We will be back!

Room Tip: Either room is a fine choice, although if traveling with children, the upstairs suite is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While I agree with all the lovely comments about the hosts, the breakfast and the property (which I didn't investigate too thoroughly, as it was a rainy day when I was there), I was interested to see that no other reviewer mentioned either the trains or the cats. One of my sons (I was solo for the trip) is very allergic and I wouldn't have thought to ask, but it is good to know that they have 2 - who are quite circumspect and certainly no bother at all, but there.
I had the downstairs bedroom and was woken up over and over by the trains. Apparently, the train track is about a mile away and the trains blow horns all night long, in their many crossings.The horns were blown at 3 junctures in the passage of each train - one series a bit softer (I was counting for a while - about 4 toots each series, each blast lasting about 5 seconds), then the loud series, then another, down the tracks a bit, and softer.
The next day, I saw that there is a local railroad museum/historical site, which boasts that it is well located as there are 60 trains a day that pass. That is a lot of trains to have going by!
While it seemed discourteous to complain of it to the hosts (they can't move, after all!) who were otherwise so gracious, it was not at all what I had in mind for a visit in the country (I also live in the country - we have noisy birds some mornings, but not much else for noise - so, I expect I am spoiled). Yet, I was surprised that no one else mentioned it. Perhaps it is less noticeable if air conditioning is on - or if one is a tad hard of hearing?
Otherwise, a great bed and generous hosts - Norma gave me a bouquet of flowers to take with me to my next stop, as well as some muffins - so, I am sad to mention the trains, but think it would be helpful to others planning a stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I were blessed to find Contented Acres B & B. A charming home in the country with vineyards, a fishing pond, beautiful flowers, and a very comfortable country bedroom on the first floor with a private bath. Breakfast was wonderful and Norma and Ted made us feel right at home. We will definitely stay there again. We look forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
11.7 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Harborcreek
11.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast

Property: Contented Acres Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4821 Williams Rd, North East, PA 16428-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North East
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your home away from home at our bed and breakfast located near Interstate 90. Contented Acres is here to provide you with a relaxing vacation where you can enjoy the scenery or relax and watch DirecTV™. We are in the center of scenic hiking trails, public golf courses, and state parks. The rooms include air conditioning, free movies, and walk-in showers. Our prices are very affordable and our country breakfast is everything you would expect a country breakfast to be. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing