We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations”
Review of Colonial Motel

Colonial Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 North East B&B and Inns
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful accommodations”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On Saturday 10/12/13 my family and I were visiting our daughter who just had a baby in Erie. We were not thinking that getting a room would be a problem. And ran into no available rooms in the immediate area. Upon calling this motel the owner had just what we needed and he held the room for us until we made the trek 30 minutes away. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We will definitely stay there again when we go and visit.

Room Tip: They actually have a cabin-like room with separate bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent three nights in Room 5 and totally enjoyed the accommodations. The owner/operators of the property were excellent in providing any needed support and are very knowledgeable about the NorthEast wine country. Highly recommended for the clean conditions and ability to take advantage of preparing your meals as if you were at home. Very close to some of Erie's best wineries and world class steelhead fish streams too! I had also spent a week at the Glass House Inn and the Colonial Motel is every bid as nice a property. I plan on returning to this property in the future.

Room Tip: "The suites are worth the extra cost"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletchers363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Four of us were riding our bicycles across Pennsylvania and I picked the Colonial Motel off of the internet because it was right on our route on Rt. 5. We arrived hot and weary from along day in the heat and were properly given our room keys and was happy to have great air conditioning great us upon opening our door. The price was right and the rooms were large, very clean with 2 double beds and full kitchen. I had a problem getting the remote for the TV to work and the woman from the office spent at least 15 minutes trying to get it to work even though i told her it wasn't a big deal. She was even going to call the owner who was at a family function and I adamantly said it wasn't necessary. The next morning the owner stopped by and offered me cash back for the remote issue and I was floored by his generosity. I naturally refused and said we loved the motel and would definitely stop by next time we rolled down Route 5 on our bikes. We met some fisherman who were staying at the motel and they also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrekingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

No problems at all, called to make the reservations about a month ago, check in and check out was simple. Clean, quiet and easy to find. This was just a stop over on our way to western New York, we would use this motel again. Close to local restaurants and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitrojazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castalia, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here when we were just passing through and we had a great stay. The location is nice, near the lake, and it seems to sit off by itself along the road. It's quiet, scrupulously clean and the proprietors are very accommodating. It was late and they made a call to the Freeport Restaurant for us so that we could get something to eat before the restaurant closed. (By the way, those folks are very accommodating a well.) The bed was very comfortable, the shower nice with nice soaps. I left my watch there and the proprietors made every effort to contact me about it. In the end, they boxed up my watch and mailed it to me! We appreciated our stay and we hope to have occasion to stay there again. A lot of value for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnB44824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Generally, accommodations that are clean, safe AND affordable are very difficult to find. If the price is decent, it's usually lacking in other areas. The Colonial Motel was everything good wrapped up into one, and then to get a kitchenette was just a huge unexpected bonus! The word "charming" was used in another review, and that's a perfect description! We stayed here as a last minute opportunity to visit some friends nearby, but we will be back soon for a weekend getaway, I feel sure!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viclyndol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed there for the 4th of July week in 2012. Decor my be dated but is in great shape and super clean! One word comes to mind. Charming. If you are looking for a quiet get away this is the place to stay. Close to the lakefront and park.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davejr200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North East
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
15.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
841 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Harborcreek
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 11329 E Lake Rd, Route 5, North East, PA 16428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North East
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated motel. We pride ourselves on being very friendly and clean. We are within walking distance to Freeport Beach and Freeport Restaurant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing