We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averrage”

Freeport Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in North East
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Averrage”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Inexpensive, average food. Not bad...not great? The service was decent. For some reason, our experience has been that Friday nights are packed, but there are plenty of tables Saturday nights.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dave o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    84
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Service and food were great. The short drive to the beach just down the road to watch the sunset added to the ambience of this evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding food and service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

recommended by the place we stayed and we are so glad they did.
the service was great and the food was just a great.
prime rib best i've had in a long time.
all the others meals we had we just a good.
i must comment on the tab some may find it tacky but i myself found it great to have the suggested gratuity listed at the bottom.
all in all it's the place to go and if by chance we get back there any time soon we will make it a point to go again and also take home some more of the smokey joes and bacon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a tasty surprise...reminds me of an old pub in an eclectic sort of way...but forget ambiance...the food is fantastic. We started off with the yummiest baked asiago/articoke dips with triangles of puffy flat breads....OMG...superb! Dinner choice was one of their specials: beer-battered haddock...light, not greasy...HUGE portion! Brought home enough for a full lunch. Great freshcut sweet potatoe fries. Staff was great...attentive but not hovering. Great deal...can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieLJ1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Solid food - contented clientele”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This certainly seems a "go to" spot for the local crowd, although the competition in the immediate area is limited. It is very solid, good cooking - with specials, when I was there, of prime rib, scrod with crabmeat stuffing and chicken breast with a stuffing that included cranberries -- I just missed having any vegetables to order. There is a choice of soup (broccoli cheese, or chicken cordon bleu were 2 of the special soups that night) or a generic iceberg salad (or coleslaw), but if you like vegetables, this is not the place for you! Potatos came with the main course.
Having said all that (and, perhaps you can tell that I really do like vegetables), I had the liver and onions with mashed potatos, which is something I rarely see on a menu, but the waitress said it was very popular, so I ordered it -- and it was perfectly cooked, not overdone and the onions were mild. So, that was a big plus!
The decor is minimal, but the crowd is pleasant and happy to be there - and the waitstaff was very good. Also - a nice selection of local wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freeport Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing