We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family oriented, customer focused”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dogwood Acres Campground
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have camped at Dogwood Acres for over 20 years and find it a genuine home away from home. The owners maintain the campground in meticulous condition and work tirelessly to make the camping experience enjoyable, regardless of the visitor's desires, be it for a quiet weekend in a woodland environment, an opportunity to stretch out and relax at a spot on a well-stocked fishing pond, or a young family seeking a fun experience for their children with a well-maintained playground, planned activities and hayrides.
We believe that this campground ISP clearly the best value in RV camping in Central Pennsylvania.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Dogwood Acres Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you want a family safe place to camp with clean and friendly people this is the place for you! We come here all the time and have told many people about it. Pool is amazing and for me I love that things are clean. Store is very nice also. Game room needs some newer games but it is really nice for the kids to spend my money too. Owners are very nice and always treats us like family! Give this place a try!! you wont be disapointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dogstwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I cannot praise this campground enough! The facilities are clean and well-kept. They take pride in their cleanliness--and it shows. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They really go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant experience. There are activities every weekend--as listed on their website--and plenty of nearby attractions. The kids love the playground! Plenty for the entire family to do. We continue to return to this campground several times every year as all members of our family love it there. There is a reason they were voted "park of the year"! If you are looking for a friendly, safe, well-run/kept campground this is it. Hope you love it as much as we do!

Room Tip: They have trailer/cabin rentals on site as well. We originally stayed in a few of their trailers---a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are looking for a safe, family friendly campground with lots to do, Dogwood Acres is the right place for you. Whether you have a large rv or are simply pitching a tent, there is a perfect spot just for you. The pool is very nice and clean, the bathrooms and showers are very clean also. At the campground, you can fish in the pond. There are plenty of bass, sunfish and catfish for those who love fishing. There is a very nice playground for the kids and you can also rent pedal cars and paddle boats. Disc golf is a ton of fun for the whole family. Build a small fire at night and enjoy the fresh air. The owners, Charlie and Lucille, will make you feel right at home at Dogwood acres. I have worked at campgrounds and frequent them often because I just love camping. I highly recommend Dogwood Acres.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fourth of July weekend was our first trip to Dogwood Acres and we can't wait to go back! We tented and were thrilled with the flat, grassy campsites. We were very close to the bathhouse, which was very clean. The owners,, Charlie and Lucille were very hospitable and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. There were plenty of activities and a beautiful pool, which was refreshing during the hot weekend. We cannot wait to go back and camp again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been camping at Dogwood Acres since 2008 when we took our RV there for it's & our first outing with it. We had been "die hard" tent campers for over 20 yrs, had never camped here, but had an event we were attending in Carlisle & set out for our first adventure. We loved the campground when we first got there. It has a lot of mature trees & the sites are nice & wide. Charlie & Lucille were amazing. Charlie helped my husband set up, gave us some pointers & was there to address all the problems we encountered. Our next time out we tried another area campground - what a mistake. Next time was back to Dogwood Acres & we've been coming back every year! We camp there about 3 times a year. Usually 2 long weekends to attend car events at the fairgrounds & 1 weekend just to go there, relax & have fun. We've gone there to attend some of their fund raiser concerts (they're always doing events to benefit Ronald McDonald House, honoring veterans, cancer survivors & other causes). We were just there for the July 4th weekend & are heading back again this weekend! We've been to many other campgrounds now (local & out of state) & Dogwood Acres is by far our favorite! I like that they have rules that are actually enforced - we have stayed at many other RV parks where people are allowed to do whatever they want with no regard for fellow campers - not here! Even our friends that came to visit commented how friendly Charlie & Lucille are & how they make everyone feel welcome. Beautiful Campground, well maintained & lots of activities available...or just relax at your site!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank 78vettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Dogwood farms is a great family campground. Clean, well maintained and a lot of fun. The owners, Charlie and Lucille really make you feel welcome. We were one of the few tent campers amongst mostly RV's. There's lots to do as you can tell from their website. Outside of the standard activities, our weekend consisted of a pine derby race and live band music. They even had hot coffee waiting in the store for us each morning. No doubt we'll be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dogwood Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogwood Acres Campground

Address: 4500 Enola Rd, Newville, PA 17241-9743
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Newville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing