We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
51
7
3
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
7
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catch and release travel trailer beautiful pool frisbee golf large sites wonderful weekend long weekend definitely stay here again two nights lucille campers bathhouse facilities kristin motorhome carlisle
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 69 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This campground in nestled at the foothills of the mountains. A short drive away is some good hiking. There is a pond on site with good fishing. Planned activities for children if you have them or can just enjoy the quiet setting and relax if you don't. Not a crowded, frantic atmosphere. Lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyCamper0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have a family and travel throughout the east coast. I visited Dogwood 6 times this past year. Each experience was incredible. The owners strive to make everyones stay enjoyable and safe. As we are all aware, many people do not "watch" their children however, the park ensures safetyy for their guests. With the fabulous lake, swimming pool and play ground, we need to ensure as parents we monitor our children- it would be tragic to lose a child to drowning.
There are many seasonal campers.. Their sites are impeccable, flowers planted and most important welcome visitors. The campground does many fund raisiers for the community. I had the pleasure to experience the Cancer fund raiser for a local resident which raised over 7k dollars even though we experienced a snow storm- the owner provided a huge tent with heaters, live bands, etc to ensure the success of the event.
A very friendly campground for families, children and friends. The pool is beautiful, frisbee golf, beautiful fishing pond, new playground equipment, etc. The creek running through the property is beautiful. Having 3 children of my own, I would recommend everyone visit dogwood acres!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HHMiears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family camps throughout Southcentral PA at least 6 times per year. This was the worst experience that we have ever had. It is better-suited for seasonal campers. At first the owners seemed to be genuinely concerned about our well-being. It turned out that they were watching everything we did! We don't drink, party, nor cause issues, but the owners always seemed to be in our business. They continuously yelled at our children and kept barking orders...

Don't park there!
Don't touch the fire ring! Don't move that rock!
Don't ride your bike there!
Don't get dirt on our fishing dock!
Don't talk, walk, take a breath, nor eat without letting us know!

Very disappointing!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
9  Thank Familycampingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have going to this campground for 5 years. At first, my wife and I found it very enjoyable. As time went on however, the rules and the personality of the owners made it feel like being in prison. The owner frequently berated people, using foul language, and generally treating his customers like inmates. Watch out for gossip-happy people that like to make trouble for others. As stated in other reviews, there are more rules in this campground than any I have ever seen. In short, if you want a relaxed and enjoyable time, don't camp in Dogwood Acres Campground. a.k.a. Dogwood Concentration Camp(ground)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RVingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at this campground because of the award they won for being "small campground of the year" and that we like to try new places. We came in on Sunday and left Tuesday. There were very few people at the campground. Over 50% of the sites are seasonals Our check in was fine and our site (#16) was very wide and shaded. The site was level and graveled. We had the nice pool to ourselves almost the entire time. The bathroom were clean, but there is only 1 bathhouse with 2 showers and two toilets, however there is another at the office building. I can see how that would be inadequate when many more campers are on site.
The owners were very "hands on" and were working all day around the camp. They have worked hard to bring the camp up to its current condition.
We had 1 big issue: the WiFi service. It is $10 per day..way too much. The owner doesn't make any money on it, but most places it is free or much cheaper. We weren't able to get logged on later on in the day and they service was anything but helpful. Essentially, we spent 2 hours arguing with the company without resolution. For $10 and the principle of it! The owner tried as well, and couldn't help. This is a big negative for us.
There are rules for liability sake, but not so constricting that we couldn't enjoy ourselves. (Ok..so I can't dive in the pool or need to have the kids at our site by dark or can only have 2 dogs) We find that the people who complain about the rules are the ones who violate them so much.
We would consider coming back if the WiFi isssue is resolved. They do need more bathroom facilities. But a place with over 50% seasonals, must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews