We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have left had it not been for the kids...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dogwood Acres Campground
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The owner was a total nut-job, literally dual personality.
Stay away from this place.
Only wanted to make some money off us.

We would have left after the first incident (there were 5, at least) with the owners if the kids were not having such a great time.

The last night we stayed Mr.Macho blew up in front of the children (swearing included) and we left first thing in the AM.

STAY AWAY IF YOU HAVE KIDS, please!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank Campfucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

Not a kid friendly park. Not happy with our experience at Dogwood Acres. Bathroom was so small it was hard to move in them. Only two shower stalls in the whole park & only able to use for 5min. time period. Very strict rules with every activity making it hard to be enjoyable. Would make a good 55 & over campround for only motorhomes. No accessible hiking. Many things advertised as having were not available or not adequate enough to enjoy. Quite a dissapointment. I would highly recommend the owners to change there website to attract the kind of campers there looking for.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
14  Thank campcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

By far the worst camping experience our family and friends have had in the last 10 years. We like to try new campgrounds each year and this was the first time I have felt compelled to let people know how terrible our weekend was. The owner was unreasonable, short tempered and judgmental. The customer service was awful because we were made to feel as a bother merely for expecting the services we paid for. We are an experienced camping group and have never been treated so poorly or had such a stressful time. Our group was crammed into an area that was not even designated for camping and still charging per site where there was none. All that mattered was the almighty $$$$. Sad memories and sad kiddos for this weekend :(

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank happycampers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This campground rocks! My husband and I chose this campground because it was nice and FAR from all the touristy campgrounds near Gettysburg and Hershey park. We also were able to get a cabin during peak season rather easily. We notified the office that we would be arriving past check in, and the owners were very understanding and left the gate and cabin open for us! Awesome! The next day, we spoke to the owner and he was extremely nice! He even delivered ice and beer and firewood to our cabin while we were at Gettysburg for the day! Also worth noting, the bathrooms were meticulously cleaned and powerwashed every single day! They were sparkling clean! The cabin we stayed in had electric and the sites were not on top of eachother. My husband particularly loved the stocked fish pond on premise. We spent many many hours fishing there. There is also another pond exclusively for swimming. We had the time of our lives here! In fact, a year later we went to Costa Rica for 10 days and we both agreed that we had more fun camping here for 5 days! We have since used this campground again! The owners make you feel like family, and even send you Christmas cards during the holiday season! I would HIGHLY recommend Dogwood Acres Campground! It's perfectly situated in the middle of nowhere, yet close to the area attractions! Love love love this place!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lolalove24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dogwood Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogwood Acres Campground

Address: 4500 Enola Rd, Newville, PA 17241-9743
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Newville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing