We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, under taste.”
Review of Duck Sauce

Duck Sauce
Ranked #18 of 85 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
norristown
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, under taste.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Ordered for 4 people, total bill was about $85, way overpriced. Had the melon shrimp, the shrimp tasted awful, General chows chicken, which they charges me 3 more dollars for white meat, was the worst General chows I ever had as the sauce was not done correctly and the chicken dried up and nasty tasting. Ribs were good quality, but the sauce ruined them. The soups were ok, and the lo mein was not bad. Overall, food but not very good, and between the shrimp at $19.95 and General Chows at $16.95, very very overpriced. Will never eat there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best of Chinese is Newtown”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Duck sauce is a small, modest chinese restaurant that offers fanastic food. THe one and only complaint would be the price, as the food, service, and ambiance are all very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A1PHABET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
484 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great fusion dishes”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We love this restaurant, and return again and again. Both the food and service are always impeccable. The restaurant has two menus (be sure to turn it over) and standard Chinese one and a Fusion menu. While we always order off the Fusion menu, our less adventurous daughter has the standards. Some of our favorite dishes are the sea bass with citrus soy, the shrimp and scallops with smoky chili sauce and the wok seared beef. The salad with fresh tuna is good (but a bit pricey at almost $20). For appetizers, the lettuce wraps, tempura shrimp sushi and wonton soup are wonderful. The restaurant takes reservations for larger parties, making this a family favorite for birthday celebrations.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, other negatives”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Generally I like the food at Duck Sauce. It has been one of our favorite go-out spots for my circle of friends.

The veg spring rolls are quite good, the seitan (wheat gluten faux meat product) is done very well and the eggplant is tasty and spicy when combined with the seitan and chili garlic sauce. The crispy noodles given with sit down and bagged for takeaway are the best ever. No joke.

My issues come with non-food points.

I asked for brown rice a few weeks back--sure, but that will be $2. Who charges extra for brown rice as opposed to white rice? That bugged me.

In the past the restaurant has accommodated me (being a vegetarian) and made sweet and sour tofu, even though it is not currently on the menu (if it ever was). One time it was reasonably priced at $10.95, but then the next time it would be higher, like a sit down meal price of $15.95. I appreciate the help, but the inconsistency bothers me.

That being said, the prices are a bit high for Chinese, though the restaurant bills itself as "Eurasian"and Chinese.

Bottom line--there are plenty of hole-in-the-wall takeout Chinese places around Newtown/Langhorne, but Duck Sauce is great for the environment and a sit down meal. It lags in terms of takeout.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine food, but service isn't great and priced too high for what you get.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Food was okay- good grilled salmon but didn't accommodate a request for different veggies. Lo mein is fine...not great, but not bad either.

Service is not so good. Waitress disappeared for long spells then returned smelling of smoke from hanging outside smoking.

Overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Sauce also viewed

 
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Duck Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing