We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very solid choice and most important consistent place. Good service, and nice atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oishi Japanese Thai & Korean

Oishi Japanese Thai & Korean
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very solid choice and most important consistent place. Good service, and nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place for lunch or dinner. Nice selection for oriental food lovers. Service is efficient and accurate.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laserza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    56
    10
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Asian fusion at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

One of the best local places in Bucks for quality Asian food in a chic, modern setting. Prices are reasonable for the quality.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbenchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Tried Oishi for the first time... we opted for the sushi rolls which were better than expected... this is a BYOB which is even better, so bring your sake!! ...even though the restaurant was quite busy for a Tues night the host and waiter were both very pleasant. The menu is averagely priced, great ambiance, good food .. definitely worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weddingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Soo good! And a value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Have gotten serious sushi takeout from here several times- alway super tasty, alway easy to order, always a good value, and
Always will come back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food at Oishi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

After we did a few errands in Newtown, my wife asked where I'd liked to have dinner. Positive memories of 2 or 3 prior meals at Oishi came to me. Although Japanese is not my wife's favorite cuisine, I hopefully suggested that we eat there. To my surprise, she agreed. The place was buzzing on a weeknight. Service was friendly & efficient. I had a sushi roll appetizer & the gopdol with mushrooms. This is a Korean dish served in a stone bowl that kept my food hot (almost too hot!) to the very end. It was a large portion that I couldn't finish. My wife had a salmon dinner with veg tempura & a veg pancake. She seemed as satisfied as I was. This place is doing good business for the most basic of reasons - good food & good service in an attractive setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JUGL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oishi Japanese Thai & Korean also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Oishi Japanese Thai & Korean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing